We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous fish and Chips, Friendly Service”
Review of Scotts of Helmsley

Scotts of Helmsley
Ranked #13 of 38 Restaurants in Helmsley
Price range: US$5 - US$23
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A fabulous family friendly, award winning fish and chip cafe. Just voted Best Fish and Chip shop 2013. Either take away or eat in. With 80 covers there is plenty of room, coach parties welcome. We aim to provide the best fish and chips available from sustainable and local sources at a value price. Gluten free and veggie chip shop chips. Served with a smile. Our premises are not your usual fish and chip cafe and are a pleasurable and inspiring place to spend some time.
Reviewed 31 March 2015

My husband wasn't very keen to go to Scotts at first as he wanted to go somewhere more fancy, however I'd read the reviews on here and persuaded him he would enjoy it. Thank goodness I was right, the fish and chips was gorgeous, freshly cooked, light golden batter and thick chunky flaky cod, tasty chips and just right mushy peas (I'm salivating just writing this down) even the tartare sauce was somehow tastier than usual. Thank goodness we didn't have the giant portion as we were stuffed with just the regular size meal. Very quick and efficient service by our lovely friendly waitress Rachel. Scott's you're hot! Thank you

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sue-JohnnyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts of Helmsley, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2015

Hello and thanks for the great comments.
We're officially "hot" - love it .....
I assume you mean Scotts and NOT Chef Shane!!!!
The fish is all cooked to order to ensure freshness and crispy batter.
We buy large fish and cut to size, meaning you get a thick meaty piece of fish, nice flakes, not too much batter.
Peas are steeped over night and chips are fresh, double fried.
We aim to give value for money in portion size and serve with big smiles. Well done Rachel.
Spread the word and come back soon.
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (815)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

544 - 548 of 816 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2015

Love Scott's, take away is nice, but the restaurant is a nice place to be very nicely presented and very friendly, spotlessly clean in a lovely village.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts of Helmsley, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2015

Hi David,
Great comments - thank you. What else can I say, but we agree entirely with you, "best fish and chips" around.
Spread the word and come back soon.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2015 via mobile

We were tempted in for a fish n chip lunch after seeing what was on offer by two of the staff wandering the market place giving out taster samples! So glad we did - very good food at a reasonable price and served by friendly efficient young staff. Would definitely eat here again.

2  Thank AlanandSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts of Helmsley, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2015

Hi Alan and Sally,
Thanks for the review and delighted you were tempted by our samples.
Great food, at value for money prices, served with big smiles - thats what you get at Scotts.
Look forward to seeing you back in Helmsley.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2015

Can't recommend it highly enough, will be back whenever we are in the area. The light and crispy batter will make you want more but gladly the portions are good

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Blindbodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts of Helmsley, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2015

Hello and thanks for the great review,
Its a shame you're not closer than Canada !!! You could benefit from our loyalty card?
We are officially one of the best fish and chips, with our Quality Award accreditation. There tare only 250 shops in UK with this award, putting us in the top 2% in UK.
Hope to see you back soon.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2015

With a reciprocal agreement from the Bird of Prey Centre a 20% reduction was offered, the fish a chips were simply one of the best that I have ever had, light and crispy with perfectly cooked chips. A definite keeper for days out

Thank Blindbodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scotts of Helmsley also viewed

Helmsley, North Yorkshire
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Scotts of Helmsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;