We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Shop!”
Review of Scotts of Helmsley

Scotts of Helmsley
Ranked #12 of 38 Restaurants in Helmsley
Price range: US$5 - US$23
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A fabulous family friendly, award winning fish and chip cafe. Just voted Best Fish and Chip shop 2013. Either take away or eat in. With 80 covers there is plenty of room, coach parties welcome. We aim to provide the best fish and chips available from sustainable and local sources at a value price. Gluten free and veggie chip shop chips. Served with a smile. Our premises are not your usual fish and chip cafe and are a pleasurable and inspiring place to spend some time.
Reviewed 9 June 2015

Truly fantastic, good value and well worth a visit. A real must and your eating pure heaven food, wholesome and tasty!

1  Thank TheOuchPoucher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts of Helmsley, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2015

Hello and thanks for the 'fantastic' review,
Sounds like you rely enjoyed your visit. What COD be BATTER???
Hope to see you back in Helmsley soon.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (815)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

497 - 501 of 815 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2015

Excellent meals at very reasonable prices with very good service in a clean and comfortable restaurant , what more could a traveller want

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bsg1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2015

We had driven 15 miles through 4 villages and missed closing time by 5 or ten minutes each time. And every inn had told us 'sorry, the kitchen's just closed' and declined to muster the old-fashioned decency to offer us something to eat. But not Scotts. Just when we were about to give up, they took us in (also after closing), sat us down to a nice table with sparkling cutlery and soft red napkins, and brought us ample portions of rarely-so-welcome roast chicken and chips. (For the travellers among you, this brought back memories of coming down out of the Andes after a trek with aching feet and finding a place on the square serving 'pollo y papas' - heaven.)They followed this with some tasty caramelised cheesecake, all washed down with ice-cold cokes. We'll remember this night and the extra-mile, no-bother, here's-what-you-were-waiting-for proprietors, for a long time.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Christoph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts of Helmsley, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2015

Hello Christoph,
Thanks for the review and sounds like we were live savers!!
Like the description, 'pollo y papas' - maybe we need to change the menu, sounds so much better than chicken and chips.
Delighted we were able to assist, even after closing.
Well done to the team, all customer focused.
Opening hours are on our web site and any queries on opening hours, please call us for confirmation. Also call us if you are arriving close to closing time and we will do our best to accommodate you. Takeaway open half hour after restaurant closes.
Thanks again
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2015

Nice fish and chips ,not a hint of any grease ,crispy batter on fish


Fish and chips supper not a hint of grease to be found fish batter nice and crispy{glutton free)a good portion of chips , cooked to order hence the long wait.



Thank philip w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2015

One of our pleasures is to find good fish & chips either take away or to sit down, our list is now quite long, however Scotts will not be added to the list. Since when did haddock become an oval shape with no tail. Fried in yellow batter with a layer of oil between the fish and batter. Ugh! Thank goodness we didn't waste paying £13.20 (expensive) to eat in the restaurant. Needs to improve to reach the standard of Harpers @ Wetwang.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sherbert_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts of Helmsley, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2015

Hello and thanks for your review,
Not sure we can agree on this one? Each to their own.......
All I can say is we buy large fillets, 16 - 32oz and cut to size, so that is how the haddock does not have a tail.
We could buy smaller 6 - 8oz fillets, which are generally small and thin, but with a tail. However, we do not feel this offers the best quality and our customers agree.
The smaller fillets would also result in thicker batter covering.
We will stick with what we do.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scotts of Helmsley also viewed

Helmsley, North Yorkshire
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Scotts of Helmsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing