We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as good the second time”
Review of Scotts of Helmsley

Scotts of Helmsley
Ranked #14 of 39 Restaurants in Helmsley
Price range: US$5 - US$23
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A fabulous family friendly, award winning fish and chip cafe. Just voted Best Fish and Chip shop 2013. Either take away or eat in. With 80 covers there is plenty of room, coach parties welcome. We aim to provide the best fish and chips available from sustainable and local sources at a value price. Gluten free and veggie chip shop chips. Served with a smile. Our premises are not your usual fish and chip cafe and are a pleasurable and inspiring place to spend some time.
Reviewed 17 July 2015

We returned to Helmsley for another event at the Arts Centre, accompanied this time by our daughter, and having extolled the virtues of this fine chippy, we felt obliged to drop in again for a meal before the performance. Delighted to report that it was every bit as good, with crisply battered, succulent and flavoursome haddock, crisp chips and mushy peas. Service was brisk and cheerful, and the servers took note of our need to depart in time for the performance. In fact we had time for a stroll round the centre of this delightful market town. Strongly recommended yet again. And for what it's worth, my cousin, who's been a Whitby resident all her adult life, also thinks that your food is better than Whitby's two national award winners!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank robertlouis50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts of Helmsley, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2015

Hi robertlouis,
Thank you for the great comments and better than Whitby, wow, really appreciate that.
Who needs the coast when you have Helmsley?
We do hold the National QAward for quality which puts us in the top 250 shops across UK.
Excellent pre-theatre choice and see you for the third time? .
Spread the word and come back soon.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (845)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

500 - 504 of 845 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2015

Visited the restaurant with my wife while shopping in Helmsley . Heard so much about it but found it very POOR today . Went at noon but all tables taken , no problem we said , so walked around and went back at 1-30 pm , a bad move . We had table 5 near the door , we found it tacky not been cleaned correctly . Our meal came quickly and it was GORGEOUS fish but chips were cool and peas were cold . But the main problem was the FLIES we counted ten around our table , we ate all the lovely fish but left most of the rest that the flies had been on . Told girl when she came to clear the table , about the flies and were told that it's SUMMER and we cannot keep them out !!! . We had a voucher so only paid half price , but that's not the point , we have heard so much about THIS RESTURANT , perhaps we just hit a bad time of the day .

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank anneandchibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts of Helmsley, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2015

Hello and thanks for the review,
Although it does sound a little harsh.
You obviously really enjoyed the food, but we let you down on the table cleanliness.
We have discussed the matter internally and it was a very busy day. In fact table 5 had literally just been vacated as you sat down and hadn't been properly cleaned.
It was also a particularly how day in the recent 'heat wave' and flies area problem. We do have a contracted pest control contract n place, with regular visits. This does include fly killers that are checked regularly.
I can apologies for not meeting your expectations and hope you do try us agin.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2015

My husband had fish and chips here, and I had the quiche. The food was tasty, and very well presented. A cozy cafe in Helmsley looking out on the street. The service was great, and the restaurant clean and tidy in every way. So thumbs up, Scott's.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Annbjørg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts of Helmsley, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2015

Hi and thanks for the review,
All the way from Norway. Really appreciate the comments. We do have more than fish n chips on offer, so pop in next time you're in town.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2015

Ate here today after hearing about it on a coeliac fb site. My two celiac kids had gf fish and chips and my son had crayfish starter as well ..have to say both were delighted with their meals and my son couldn't finish his. We also had three non gluten free meals which were fantastic... Hats off to a fantastic place xxxx

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lfarmer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts of Helmsley, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2015

Hello and thanks for the review,
Gluten free and Coeliac sufferers are an important part of our customer base and we have options available at both Helmsley and York all day everyday.
Spread the word and come back soon.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2015

We called in on Satuirday luch time and were served by a very helpful friendly witress. The Light bite meals were very generous and with tea and bread and butter along with fish, chips and mushy peas were excellent value for money.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stickypaws2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scotts of Helmsley also viewed

Helmsley, North Yorkshire
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Scotts of Helmsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing