We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scott Fish & Chips ”
Review of Scotts of Helmsley

Scotts of Helmsley
Ranked #12 of 38 Restaurants in Helmsley
Price range: US$5 - US$23
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A fabulous family friendly, award winning fish and chip cafe. Just voted Best Fish and Chip shop 2013. Either take away or eat in. With 80 covers there is plenty of room, coach parties welcome. We aim to provide the best fish and chips available from sustainable and local sources at a value price. Gluten free and veggie chip shop chips. Served with a smile. Our premises are not your usual fish and chip cafe and are a pleasurable and inspiring place to spend some time.
Reviewed 7 September 2015 via mobile

We visited Scotts Fish & Chips Restaurant in Helmsley. I would strongly recommend visiting as the food is first class, the restaurant is very clean & quite colourful with lights on each step of the stairs to the upper floor & the staff are very friendly the only downside is that there was nowhere to put my mobility scooter if you visit wearing a wristband from the International Centre for Birds of Prey you get a discount on food. I would urge you to visit & you will not be disappointed.

1  Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts of Helmsley, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2015

Hello Jennifer,
Thanks for the recommendation and delighted you took advantage of the 20% discount with the Birds of Prey entry wristband offer.
Hope you come back soon.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (814)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

433 - 437 of 815 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2015 via mobile

A large group of my family and friends descended on SCOTTS the night before my wedding. The food was wonderful and the service was brilliant.

1  Thank MissChloeScarlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts of Helmsley, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2015

Hi and thanks for the review,
Fish n chips the night before your wedding - what a great idea.
Maybe we should start attending wedding fairs to market the idea!!!
Delighted it set you on your way for the following day.
Hope the wedding went well and see you after the honeymoon.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2015

I need Gluten-free, and fish & chips is usually a nightmare - so it was excellent to see a prominent notice - this is very important to a customer unfamiliar with the area, as we were.

The meal was really excellent - a light batter, well-cooked fish, not at all greasy, good portion size - and to cap it all Lewis, who served us with courtesy, pointed us to the Gluten-free vinegar. We bought some...

My wife had the "normal" fish and chips and was equally enthusiastic about hers.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts of Helmsley, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2015

Hi Chris,
Great comments - thank you.
Gluten free is increasingly popular and we have them available all day everyday in Helmsley and York.
Tell everyone about it and come back soon.
Well done Lewis.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2015

Meal absolutely fine quite a busy lunchtime had atmosphere.service very quick and nicely presented.staff did seem to be under pressure as they were short staffed but remained pleasant and attentive

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Dorothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts of Helmsley, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2015

Hi Dorothy,
Thanks for the great comments and delighted you enjoyed your visit.
Sometimes everyone wants to eat fish n chips at the same time, resulting in a 45 mins rush and that can sometimes catch us out on staff levels, but we are constantly monitoring that, as service is crucial to our customers.
Thanks again
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2015 via mobile

best fish and chips we have ever had. Really friendly staff (Lewis has served us a few times and is always friendly and courteous)

Would HIGHLY recommend.

1  Thank gunny72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts of Helmsley, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2015

Hi Gunny,
Thanks for the recommendation, much appreciated.
Best ever - great comments.
Well done Lewis.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scotts of Helmsley also viewed

Helmsley, North Yorkshire
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Scotts of Helmsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing