We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent fish and chips, good atmosphere and service”
Review of Scotts of Helmsley

Scotts of Helmsley
Ranked #13 of 38 Restaurants in Helmsley
Price range: US$5 - US$23
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A fabulous family friendly, award winning fish and chip cafe. Just voted Best Fish and Chip shop 2013. Either take away or eat in. With 80 covers there is plenty of room, coach parties welcome. We aim to provide the best fish and chips available from sustainable and local sources at a value price. Gluten free and veggie chip shop chips. Served with a smile. Our premises are not your usual fish and chip cafe and are a pleasurable and inspiring place to spend some time.
Reviewed 6 October 2015

We dropped in on spec on our way back from Skipton heading for Wiltshire. We had never been there before but were most pleasantly surprised at the high standard of food and service from your colleague Chris.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank edgertj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts of Helmsley, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2015

Hi and thanks for the review,
What great comments - much appreciated.
This is or standard, so delighted you were surprised. We like to exceed customers expectations.
Well done Chris, who is in his first month with us.
Spread the word and come back soon.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (815)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

414 - 418 of 816 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2015

Myself, my husband, two friends and six kids turned up unannounced after spontaneously deciding to celebrate my four year olds birthday with fish and chips. I had't booked at table, ten of us just turned up! The staff at Scotts kept smiling and being uber helpful, even when the kids got a bit rowdy. The service was very quick and the food was delicious, we all had clean plates. I am so impressed with how well they dealt with us turning up and with how good they were with the kids. 10/10.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bebeCrosby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts of Helmsley, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2015

Hi and thanks for the review,
One very happy mummy, but more importantly very happy kids.
We love families, even when the kids get a bit lively, it adds a bit of atmosphere to the place.
Can't get better than 10/10.
Maybe you need to book a Christmas meal out for the kids?
Thanks again.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2015

We have been several times at quiet and busy times and always had quick friendly service and fish and chips are always top notch .If you can find a 2 for 1 coupon in one of the yorkshire tourist books better still.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ianbee2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts of Helmsley, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2015

Hello and thanks for the review,
Excellent all round and delighted you are a regular taking advantage of promotional offers.
Spread the word and see you soon.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2015

We stopped off in Helmsley on our way home to York and as we had a 2 for 1 voucher for Scott's headed there for fish and chips.

Ther is a good range of menu options, I chose the cod and chips, my wife chose the fish cake. The cod was nice enough but smaller than you get in most other similar restaurants and the price higher than average. The fish cake was quite large and a good proportion of fish in it. The chips were frozen and the garden peas from a tin.

With the voucher it was worth going, not sure we will be back though.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Yorkie137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts of Helmsley, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2015

Hello and thanks for the review,
I do have to disagree with you on some points.
The fish is 8oz, which is larger than most other fish n chips shops.
Prices are certainly mid price range, as we regularly check competitors.
The chips are definately NOT frozen, chipped very other day to ensure freshness.
Garden peas are garden peas - ours are frozen, as is normal.
We have no record of you complaining on the day and it seems even at half price & whatever we could do, it maybe wouldn't be enough?
Negative reviews on here, serve only to harm the business and jeopardise jobs.
If you are not content on the day, please speak up on the day.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2015 via mobile

Visited on a busy Sunday lunch time had great fish and chips with excellent friendly service. Definitelyvisvisit again.

Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts of Helmsley, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2015

Hi Kate,
Thanks for the review and delighted you enjoyed your lunch.
Hope to see you back soon and maybe we can get 5 stars?
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scotts of Helmsley also viewed

Helmsley, North Yorkshire
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Scotts of Helmsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing