We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take away staff ignore you”
Review of Scotts of Helmsley

Scotts of Helmsley
Ranked #14 of 40 Restaurants in Helmsley
Price range: US$5 - US$23
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A fabulous family friendly, award winning fish and chip cafe. Just voted Best Fish and Chip shop 2013. Either take away or eat in. With 80 covers there is plenty of room, coach parties welcome. We aim to provide the best fish and chips available from sustainable and local sources at a value price. Gluten free and veggie chip shop chips. Served with a smile. Our premises are not your usual fish and chip cafe and are a pleasurable and inspiring place to spend some time.
Reviewed 26 October 2015

Good food but the girls serving the take away part looked at you as if you're invisible. One man in front of me, but they didn't acknowledge I was there, just continued trying to rectify a previous mistake. Golden rule, welcome your customers and even just say hello, will be with you soon.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MP1york
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts of Helmsley, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2015

Hello and thanks for the review,
I'm obviously disappointed with your comments, as that is not our usual standard.
Our philosophy is "customer first" at all times, so not sure what happened.
Please accept my apologies an hope you try us again.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (864)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

448 - 452 of 864 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2015

Always apprehensive about visiting a fish and chip restaurant as I am diary intolerant. However, walking through the door we were greeted immediately by Chris who seated us and got us drinks and advised on the menu. We deviated from the normal fish and chips, husband had their steak and ale pie which came with a gravy boat and the best chips ever, good quality on all counts. I opted for Whitby scampi and have not had scampi cooked as well as this - ever, even in Whitby. Taylors of Harrogate tea also - very nice. Molly and Sam looked after us and even after a coach trip arrived they were all super efficient and organised, not ignoring the diners they already had. We are definitely coming back again. They offer gluten free batter and all kinds of other things to help people with intolerances. Excellent.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ft2402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts of Helmsley, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2015

Hello and thanks for the great comments,
More and more people are experiencing dietary intolerance and we do try to cater for as many as possible. Gluten free batter and desserts are available everyday, as well as many other dishes beyond fish n chips. Our menu is always on our web site, so check for details at both restaurants.
Well done, Chris, Molly & Sam.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2015 via mobile

Arrived late on a Sunday night, met by Chris who took us to a table upstairs. We arrived just after a party of 40 pensioner's had left! Chris was very apologetic about having to clean up the carnage around us after they had left!! really no need to but it was a nice touch. The food arrived served by Sam, we asked for extra chips and milk which she dealt with swiftly even though she was on tidy up duty!!! Great fish, piping hot with a crisp batter, nice golden chips (hence the extra portion for dad).

Thank steven h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts of Helmsley, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2015

Hi Steven,
Thanks for the review and as you say, perfect after an Autumn walk.
Freshly cooked fish n chips, crispy batter, golden chips and friendly service.
What COD be BATTER?
Well done Chris and Sam.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2015

After ordering a 'freshly cooked' piece of haddock from the takeaway I was shocked to find that the average thickness of the whole piece was on 5mm - half a centimeter - this included the batter. shockingly bad.
the chips although good were the smallest portion I have ever seen - unlike most chip shops who use a scoop this place uses a small coffee cup to measure the portion!!

would not recommend at all especially as the price was extortionate. They are obviously charging for the location and not the food

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts of Helmsley, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2015

Hello Clare,
Thanks for the review, but disappointed with your comments.
All our fish is sold by wet weight, not size or thickness.
We buy large 16 - 32oz fillets and cut to weight, which normally ensures thick fish fillets.
The regular portion is 8oz and the Special is 5oz.
The chips are measured with a coffee cup, as we find is a very simple and easy way to ensure the correct weight of chips is served. It effectively guarantees portion size to you the customer, so depending on what you ordered you will have received the correct weight.
Of course, this is all subject to human intervention and sometimes mistakes are made.
I would encourage you and others to make the manager or staff aware on the day and they will ensure you are satisfied with your food and service.
Negative comments on here are not helpful at all. They serve only to damage the business and put staff jobs at risk.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2015

we had a warm welcome with very efficient staff.we enjoyed our pensioners meal good value and Mollie was lovely nothing was to much trouble.would not hesitate in going back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SPOONER6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts of Helmsley, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2015

Hey Spooner6,
Thanks for the review and great comments.
We know our food is good, but it is these revise that makes the real difference. Well done Mollie.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scotts of Helmsley also viewed

Helmsley, North Yorkshire
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Scotts of Helmsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing