We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and very quick service”
Review of Scotts of Helmsley

Scotts of Helmsley
Ranked #12 of 38 Restaurants in Helmsley
Price range: US$5 - US$23
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A fabulous family friendly, award winning fish and chip cafe. Just voted Best Fish and Chip shop 2013. Either take away or eat in. With 80 covers there is plenty of room, coach parties welcome. We aim to provide the best fish and chips available from sustainable and local sources at a value price. Gluten free and veggie chip shop chips. Served with a smile. Our premises are not your usual fish and chip cafe and are a pleasurable and inspiring place to spend some time.
Reviewed 2 November 2015

We have used Scotts of Helmsley many times and always had excellent service and food, the staff in the restaurant that day(Lewis and Becky) were as usual quick and courteous.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Colin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts of Helmsley, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2015

Hi Colin,
Thanks for the review.
Quality, value and service are our key values with a customer first priority.
Delighted you experience that each time you come in.
Well done Lewis and Becky.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (814)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

392 - 396 of 815 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2015

We used the take away while staying in Helmsley. The chips were great but the fish cake(homemade) was the BEST fish cake I have ever tasted. The rest of the family had fish and sausages and they were enjoyed as well.

    • Food
1  Thank nigel_anthea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts of Helmsley, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2015

Hello and thanks for the review,
the fish cake is Chef Shane's special recipe using the prime cod & haddock we sell, plus some secret ingredients of course. A great alternative to fish n chips.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2015

We visited today and had wonderful service from Lewis and Becky. We were quickly seated, orders taken and meals served. The sweet potato chips were a great alternative to normal potato chips.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 06sarah69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts of Helmsley, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2015

Hi and thanks for the review,
Sweet potato chips - a great addition to our menu and increasingly popular.
We put the 'customer first' as you are the most important thing to us.
Well done Lewis and Becky.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2015

Superb meal. Thanks to Lewis and Becky’s excellent service.
Gluten free batter perfect.
Wouldn’t hesitate to recommend

1  Thank 770amjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts of Helmsley, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2015

Hi,
thanks for the review.
Gluten free proper battered fish n chips are becoming an increasingly popular option.
Available all day everyday at both restaurants, along with GF desserts to follow.
Tell your friends and come back soon.
Well done Lewis and Becky.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2015 via mobile

We visited today, four adults, two children, we were served by Lewis and Becky, the food was excellent and service impeccable. The children had a meal each which was excellent value and included a mini milk ice lolly. Lewis took our order and was extremely helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Would highly recommend

1  Thank jstothard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts of Helmsley, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2015

Hello and thanks for the review,
We aim to deliver quality, value and service all day everyday and I'm pleased you and your family experienced that.
Spread the word and come back soon.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scotts of Helmsley also viewed

Helmsley, North Yorkshire
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Scotts of Helmsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;