We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best cakes in Helmsley with plenty of room for prams” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ryeburn of Helmsley

Ryeburn of Helmsley
Ranked #2 of 3 Dessert in Helmsley
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Ice cream parlour
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best cakes in Helmsley with plenty of room for prams”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Popped in here on way out of castle as it's just down the lane. The cakes were yummy and they had a large selection. Different types of coffee and teas on offer. Great if you have a pram as loads of room. No toilets but no problem as some just round the corner in the car park with baby changer too. Will be back!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chillaxingliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    10
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,418 reviews
580 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 679 helpful votes
“Nothing particularly inspiring as a tea room.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Clearly the main draw of this cafe is the ice cream, which certainly looked fantastic, but as we didn't sample any my review is restricted solely to the food and drink side of the enterprise. One of the great joys of days out is the opportunity to sample various tea rooms and cafes, and Helmsley is certainly not short of choice as there is a plethora of such establishments to choose from.

This being the case, I would have thought that it would be considered important for any business to stand out from the crowd, and in the case of a tearoom you could do that by giving exta-special service and top quality fare - unfortunately the Ryeburn does neither. Don't get me wrong - as cafes go it is perfectly acceptable; it's just nothing special. All we had was tea and a couple of toasted sandwiches and both could be described as pretty bog-standard. The teas were served in mugs that were rather too much on the small side to provide a satisfying cuppa, and I really can't understand why they don't serve it in pots, with some extra hot water on the side - surely a pre-requisite of any good tearoom?

The toasted sandwiches were similarly unsatisfying, being made with thin-sliced, bog-standard bread and no hint of garnish. Surely it wouldn't take too much effort to use decent bread and put a slice of cucumber and tomato on the plate? The owners clearly take pride in putting together their ice cream creations and it's a shame that they can't put the same thought and effort into the "bread and butter" part of the business.

There are far better tea rooms in Helmsley and I would only come back to this one if the others were full - or for the ice cream of course.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank johnhouston2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“A Magnificent Range of Cakes and Ice-creams”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Ryeburns is located in Cleveland Street in Helmsley - near the main car parking area. It is very conveniently located both for motorists and for people who are walking the Cleveland Way Long-Distance Footpath - which passes right in front of the tea-room. We called into this delightful establishment after finishing a 15-mile trek on the North York Moors - it is always nice to finish a hard walk with a refreshing cup-of-tea! We were certainly not disappointed with our visit as the range of beverages, cakes and ice-creams on display was really magnificent - and the items that we tried tasted as good as they looked! We were given a warm and hearty welcome by the staff and the service was fast and efficient. Thank you for your wonderful hospitality.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wow wow wow! Ice cream to die for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

On a recent trip to Helmsley in the baking sunshine we visited Ryeburns on the way back to the car (the parlour is right near the main car park) and we were not disappointed. We were so pleased that we hadn't had desserts with our lunch because we got to sample some wonderful ice creams and took home some lovely handmade chocolates from the counter. I would visit this place on a cold, dark miserable day as well as in the sunshine as it was THAT good. Cannot wait to be in Helmsley again for a return visit!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dillo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
327 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Whisky flavoured ice cream”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

I went here specifically after reading all the positive reviews here on Trip Advisor.
I had a delicious whisky flavoured ice cream. They also sell home-made chocolates, which looked divine and some scrummy looking cakes.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ryeburn of Helmsley also viewed

Helmsley, North Yorkshire
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Ryeburn of Helmsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing