We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A treat for sweet lovers”

Helmsley Tradititional Sweet Shop
Ranked #8 of 18 things to do in Helmsley
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a family owned traditional sweet shop stocking all the old favourites as well as cordials and speciality chocolate bars. We create individual gift bags, jars and hampers as well as providing sweets for weddings and events
Saltburn
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A treat for sweet lovers”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Popped in on a recent trip to Helmsley. A mix of modern layout but with old fashioned jars of sweets. Had a seasonal assortment of Halloween & Bonfire Night sweets to tempt visitors (young and old alike). Very polite and helpful service, with attention to detail and cleanliness. Individual lollipops placed in fresh cellphane bags. Will return.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank QEGSgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelmsleySweeties, Owner at Helmsley Tradititional Sweet Shop, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
We look forward to seeing you again. Thank you the nice review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    10
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

A perfect traditional sweetshop with very helpful staff who are more than willing to help in anyway they can. Excellent value and proper sweets not the haribo imitations. Its nice to see all the jars full of sweets without the labels blocking the visual display,all the information about the sweets is displayed on the back of each jar which was useful as my friend has some allergies.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jimdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelmsleySweeties, Owner at Helmsley Tradititional Sweet Shop, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for the nice comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What is it?”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Lots of lovely old fashioned jars of sweets which stated the price per 100gms but nothing to say what was actually in the jars. The familiar ones were obvious such as liquorice allsorts, mint imperials etc but there was such a wide assortment that it would have been nice to experiment with something different. Rather than ask the assistant, "what are these, and what are those" etc, I left the shop. Pity.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sheila7181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelmsleySweeties, Owner at Helmsley Tradititional Sweet Shop, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
I'm sorry you found the shop confusing. All the labels for the sweets are on the back of the jars to comply with labelling regulations. We have had comments on numerous occasions about not labelling the fronts as it is felt by many customers this would take away the wow factor from the many colours and textures of the sweets.We love talking to customers and explaining all the different types of sweets to them, but it is a comment we will monitor and take on board. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The most awesome little shop...ever!”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

What a fantastic little sweet shop! My daughter and I visit often and its packed with old favourites and real quality stuff, not the rubbish you get at the cinema but well thought out and expertly presented sweets, fudge, chocolate, turkish delight....everything!!! The staff are superbly friendly, passionate and truly expert in their field.
You would expect to pay a fortune but the price per 100gm is a quid and you know exactly where you are with personal service to boot! No unexpected shocks when you reach the till.
We love the place and wish it the very best in its new beginnings. Well done!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ShaneChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Helmsley Tradititional Sweet Shop also viewed

Helmsley, North Yorkshire
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Helmsley Tradititional Sweet Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing