We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much Improved with a But”
Review of The Feathers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Feathers Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We have recently visited the Feathers restaurant and I have to say what an improvement to the last time in Jan 2011. The food as before was very tasty and arrived piping hot. The staff were much more effecient and friendly, and the toilets had been refurbished to a high standard, BUT, I do wish they would sort out the dirty, sticky tables in the bar they are disgusting and the cleaner could do with chasing up the dust on the skirting boards in the toilets and bars is a bit off putting, such a shame because they are obviously trying to get the place in order.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank susancrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (814)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

769 - 775 of 814 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at the Feathers overnight. Our room was across the carpark and it was very quiet . It was a lovely room, very warm and clean with plenty of room to move around. We ate in the bar which was busy but the service was excellent and we both enjoyed the food. The other bar had a lovely big open fire which on a cold January evening was very welcoming. We will certainly stay her again if we come to this area.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biker012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

This is a lovely hotel in a very good location over looking the market square. We stayed for one night. Our room was lovely it had a very large four poster bed and everything was very clean and homely with good facilities.

Breakfast was fantastic- all fresh food and the staff were very lovely.

Generally our stay was very good and we will go back again.

Room Tip: our room was at the back and had a poor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jadesummers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Only had a brief stayover, and our impression was that that it was expensive for what it was. There is not much to choose from in the town, so maybe they don't have to work too hard to get custom. Our food took a while to arrive and when it did it was dry and overcooked and there was not as much of it as we expected. The bar area is noisey and there were 3 or 4 tv's constantly showing sport with the volume up - not really what we wanted for a quiet break Disappointing as the location is good in the middle of the town and a lot more could be made of it.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ukaway_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

I stayed at the Feathers for one night as my usual guest house was full.
I booked a single on suite which turned out to be a double on suite & at £45 was not bad.
Staff friendly & welcoming. The atmosphere is pleasant.
The room was clean, & I think it had recently been decorated as there was a faint smell of paint still lingering. I slept well. The TV has good signal strength. The shower room was clean.
The breakfast is very nice & quite large, order a small one unless you can tuck into a large breakfast first thing in the morning. (It would be better for many if they started serving breakfasts at 7.15 or 7.30 instead of 8am)
There are a few minor things wrong, the dividing walls are very thin & have obviously not been insulated so you can hear everything, & I mean everything from the next room.
The cold tap on the sink is on the left, when it should be on the right, not a problem for me but could be for a blind person, also the door knob to the bathroom would prove difficult for anyone with arthritis to open, suggest it's changed for a lever handle.
When this hotel has made improvements, it appears obvious that the "trades persons" carrying out the works have been semi skilled at best, & it would pay dividends for the hotel if they ensured that they were fully qualified trades persons, which would achieve a higher standard of workmanship, & improve the hotel appearance generally. The old adage still applies, pay peanuts, get monkeys. Invest a little more & reap the rewards.

Room Tip: I was in room 9, so I don't know what the other rooms are like. I think their web site is quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yakamatutsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We stayed in a Market Square double just under the hotel entrance where all the smokers hung out so had to close the window until closing time (room 4). Suggest smokers are moved to the back of the building. We were worried about the negative reviews but we found our market square view double very adequate. It had obviously been decorated recently but has a fewminor snags to sort out. They are obviously decorating other rooms as we speak there was a strong smell of paint. We had an early morning wake up call from the workman who started their drills at 8.30am just opposite our room. This room wasnt noisy but it was Sunday and Monday night and we found the bar was empty by closing time. We had a good nights sleep and a large bath with piping hot water in a room that was clean throughout. The waiting staff were friendly, lots of choice for breakfast and very hearty. The car park was inadequate for the amount of rooms they have however, it was possible to park the car free of charge in the public car park overnight from early evening. The staff were very accommodating and allowed us to leave our mountain bikes in an unused room overnight. Would stay there again as the location was great for our needs and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

I stayed here for one night before a wedding and was very disappointed. Spent £70 for a twin and got some thing more like a £30 twin from Blackpool. I had friends who were staying also who had paid the same as me and there rooms were soo much better compared to mine, was like they were staying in a different hotel. I feel the rooms should all be of the same standard, if not then the price should reflect this. The bathroom door was faulty and you had kick it open. The bathroom itself was like steeping back in time to the 60s

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helmsley
0.0 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,663 reviews
0.1 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
0.0 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
13.3 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#3 of 4 in Malton
538 reviews
11.4 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Feathers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Feathers Hotel

Address: 5-6 Market Place, Helmsley YO62 5BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Price Range: £72 - £455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Feathers Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Feathers hotel part of the Coaching inn Group, is situated on the market square in Helmsley on the edge of the North Yorkshire Moors. This country inn offers a delightful mix of historic charm and Yorkshire hospitality. Its 25 bedrooms are all equipped with televisions, tea trays and toiletries. The hotel has an excellent local reputation for good food and fine ales. The Pickwick Bar with its low ceilings and open fire boasts a bar which is the longest piece of work created by Robert Thompson, famous for his Mouseman furniture. Bar meals are served in the cosy Feversham Bar using the very best local produce, the restaurant serves good English food both at lunchtime and in the evening. There is limited private parking at the rear of the hotel. Rooms and food are available all year round including Christmas day its self. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Feathers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feathers Hotel Helmsley
The Feathers Hotel Helmsley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing