We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yorkshire hospitality”
Review of The Feathers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Feathers Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Yorkshire hospitality”
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We stayed at the Feathers for three nights with friends and were made very welcome.
The staff were excellent and appreciative of our needs ,especially at mealtimes as one of our party was recovering from a serious illness.
The food was delicious and the menu and specials board offered great variety of choice and the full English breakfast really set us up for the day ahead.
The rooms were serviced daily and were spotless. My wife and I were on the second floor overlooking the market place and our friends were on the first floor also overlooking the market place.
The only cause for complaint was the fact that their room was directly above the bar and the customers who smoked congregated on the pavement below their room. Because of the ill fitting sash type windows the smoke from below infiltrated their room. If it were possible to fit modern double glazed sash windows to the front of the building the problem would be rectified.
Apart from that little moan the stay was brilliant and the Feathers was a perfect base from which to explore the wonderful area of North Yorkshire.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are quieter but if you really would prefer a room with a view of the market square...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 152george
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    273
    77
    26
    13
See reviews for
111
389
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We called in for Sunday lunch yesterday and found it to be a little disorganised in the restaurant. No one to greet us and left for a few minutes wondering and trying to catch someone's eye. It wasn't very busy and there seemed to be lots of staff but no direction. There seemed to be a lot of staff eating together in a side room. Tables had been used previously and table cloths not changed and empty glasses left on tables. The food was very nice, a typical Sunday roast from the carvery. The only real set back on the food and drink front was the charge of £2.20 for a pint of lime and soda. I have never paid more than 60p anywhere before. I was a little disappointed by the visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Whilst staying in a cottage in Helmsley, we dined a couple of times at the Feathers and the food was delicious. The choices were excellent with daily specials on the board too. I would certainly recommend the seabass in a creamy leek sauce with prawns and a lovely selection of fresh vegetables. Their Sunday carvery lunch is also a must! The staff are very efficient and friendly and have always made us feel most welcome. The bar is cosy and a lovely place to sit and soak up the atmosphere and the house wine was very addictive! Thank you to all the staff, I'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We have visited and stopped in Helmsley on many occasions and have always wanted to stay over at the Feathers, We always eat there when visiting Helmsley and always book a table to make sure we can. The food is an excellent standard and the staff are extremely friendly and nothing is too much for them. The room and en-suit was a very good size and clean with a good view of the market square. Our room was directly over the front door but surprisingly there was no noise. Breakfast was good with a great choice of cereal, juices etc and the full English was magnificent. We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

we called in on spec Easter Monday feeling hungry, the place was rammed packed and we wern't booked so didn't hold much hope out of being fed, the waiter asked where we wanted to sit and found us a table for two without much fuss ,we were told that because everything was cooked fresh, we should expect a wait but we ordered and were served within 20 mins!! the menu was simple with a good specials board, we ordered the starter of brown shrimp on toast to share and we both had steak pie with veg and scrummy chips, the food was really tasty and there was more than enough, the staff were very professional and the décor is lovely, it was very busy so we would recommend you book prior so not to be disappointed!! a huge thumbs up!! we will be back very soon :)

Room Tip: we didn't stay but if the food is anything to go by, im sure it will be top notch!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debs4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

When we arrived on a Sunday afternoon we could not believe how busy Helmsley was. The Feathers (being right in the market place) was easy to find and the staff were very helpful in guiding us to secure parking. The hotel was equally busy providing lunches for non-residents and the whole place was buzzing with excitement. The atmosphere was friendly and enjoyable. Despite the rush downstairs our room was quiet, clean and welcoming. Not a single noise throughout the night. The next morning it was hard to believe we were in the same town. The market place was deserted and very few people were about. The breakfast was perfect and we could not have enjoyed our stay more. Thankyou, the Feathers...

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalThirsk, marketing manager at The Feathers Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Thank you for your kind review.

From the team at The Feathers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Very nice warm hotel in the centre of this Yorkshire Moors village.Good English breakfast and friendly staff.Very nice restaurant inside the hotel with a good selection of English food and local ales.

Room Tip: Room 21 ,a big family room on the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helmsley
0.0 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,530 reviews
0.1 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
0.0 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
Golden Fleece Hotel
#2 of 5 in Thirsk
829 reviews
23.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
1,996 reviews
13.1 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Feathers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Feathers Hotel

Property: The Feathers Hotel
Address: 5-6 Market Place, Helmsley YO62 5BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Feathers Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Feathers hotel part of the Coaching inn Group, is situated on the market square in Helmsley on the edge of the North Yorkshire Moors. This country inn offers a delightful mix of historic charm and Yorkshire hospitality. Its 25 bedrooms are all equipped with televisions, tea trays and toiletries. The hotel has an excellent local reputation for good food and fine ales. The Pickwick Bar with its low ceilings and open fire boasts a bar which is the longest piece of work created by Robert Thompson, famous for his Mouseman furniture. Bar meals are served in the cosy Feversham Bar using the very best local produce, the restaurant serves good English food both at lunchtime and in the evening. There is limited private parking at the rear of the hotel. Rooms and food are available all year round including Christmas day its self. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Feathers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feathers Hotel Helmsley
The Feathers Hotel Helmsley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing