We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go Now”
Review of The Feathers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Feathers Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Helmsley is a lovely Market Town and The Feathers is ideally located on the market square.
This is what I call a good average hotel and by that I mean it clearly isn't 4/5*. So within that context of what I call 3* then it was excellent. The bar was great with good beer, excellent and efficient service and usually busy. The food in the restaurant was just the job with good service. I had to laugh though when I was ordering 6+ bots of wine (large party) and asked to taste the house red, the barman said 'if I take the top off, you'll have to pay for it'. There would have been an interesting conversation if it had been out of condition!! By the way, for the price it was fine.

The breakfasts were excellent with very efficient service.

We had a room at the front facing west on a hot sunny day overlooking the Market Place. So the window had to be wide open but take ear plugs to cancel the noise (not too bad) from revellers and motor bikes!

Not much storage space and the bathroom was fairly tiny but fine for 2 nights. Smallest TV I've seen in a hotel room!

Room Tip: rooms at rear may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dazler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (831)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

734 - 740 of 831 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed at the Feathers hotel for one night. Rooms were nice enough, nothing special but adequate and clean all the same. Staff were friendly and had no problems with putting a cot in the rooom for our little girl at short notice. An unfortunate incident with mouldy bread at breakfast did disappoint a little, not that i'm adverse to mouldy bread but school boy stuff in a hotel. Didn't try the food as we were eating elsewhere. Would recommend for a short stopover but wouldn't fancy staying for much longer.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

we stayed at the feathers hotel for one night the staff were helpfull and nice.when we got to our bedroom it was ok nice and clean rather old fashion i thought.room on the small side bed was very uncomfortable and every time i moved it was squeaking and woke me up.the next morning we had breakfast which was nice full english and was hot aswell.when we checked out and payed our bill the member off staff was polite i dont think i would stay back at this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank smelly1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013 via mobile

Really good food which won't disappppoint. Not the cheapest and the carvery goes up every time we visit but always good quality, staff always seem to be on top form. Would recommend. Best choice in Helmsley for food.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monkeyhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

In a perfect position in this attractive market town. As always the staff were welcoming, friendly and efficient. We ate in the hotel on both nights of our stay and were not disappointed, neither were our friends who joined us on the second night. The menu is small enough to ensure high quality delivery but large enough, with the addition of the daily specials board, to be interesting and delicious.

Our Room, not in the main hotel (See Room Tip), was spacious, light and airy and very comfortable. Hardly a criticism but could I suggest a few more coathangers in Room 31 please :-)

Simon and his team consistently deliver on all levels(Food, Beverages,Housekeeping) and should be applauded xxx. I would stress again, however, that this place is not for you if you are used to the functional and sterile rather than the quirky and quaint.

Looking forward to our next visit. xxx

Room Tip: Rooms 30 and 31 across the Courtyard from the main hotel are a delight, They are on the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CinquantNeuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Enjoyed a hearty lunch here today - Roast Beef, Yorkshire Pudding.. well, when in 'Rome'...!
Food was excellent. Service was excellent. Prices were reasonable considering the establishment and their targeted clientele. Surroundings were comfortable.

Gripes ? Oh aye ! - the beers. Not the best of choices - the usual stuff, plus, Greene King IPA and Black Sheep Bitter on draught. Settled for the latter. Did not notice any other beers of 'distinction' - just a small advertisement attached to the cash register for some Ampleforth brews.

FTR, it was a Friday lunchtime, market day locally, though it was fairly quiet - hence no problems.
Recommended for food.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RobertTaggart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

Staff very friendly & helpful. Hotel is in a good central location. Room good size but needed a bit of tlc. Lacked basics like soap, shower gel etc, all that was available was shampoo! Breakfast was tasty, served quickly & very hot. Although there are positives we still don't think it was worth £130 a night. Would we return… yes would seek a cheaper price.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BerkshireSharky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helmsley
0 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,671 reviews
0.1 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
0 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
11.4 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
691 reviews
19.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Feathers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Feathers Hotel

Address: 5-6 Market Place, Helmsley YO62 5BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Price Range: £113 - £406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Feathers Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Feathers hotel part of the Coaching inn Group, is situated on the market square in Helmsley on the edge of the North Yorkshire Moors. This country inn offers a delightful mix of historic charm and Yorkshire hospitality. Its 25 bedrooms are all equipped with televisions, tea trays and toiletries. The hotel has an excellent local reputation for good food and fine ales. The Pickwick Bar with its low ceilings and open fire boasts a bar which is the longest piece of work created by Robert Thompson, famous for his Mouseman furniture. Bar meals are served in the cosy Feversham Bar using the very best local produce, the restaurant serves good English food both at lunchtime and in the evening. There is limited private parking at the rear of the hotel. Rooms and food are available all year round including Christmas day its self. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Feathers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feathers Hotel Helmsley
The Feathers Hotel Helmsley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing