We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,140)
Filter reviews
1,140 results
Traveller rating
583
406
94
39
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
583
406
94
39
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews market square function room coaching inn friendly hotel the pub large room superior room short break salmon lovely food cleveland way lovely town evening meal a lovely stay lovely room breakfast was excellent full english
Filter
Updating list...
1,038 - 1,043 of 1,140 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We had a superior double which was just perfect for us & our baby son. The staff were exceptionally friendly & entertained our son. The room was immaculate, comfy & very tastefully decorated. Parking is tight, but to be expected in such a small village. We stayed here for a wedding at Duncombe Park & so only experienced the breakfast, which was tasty & large. We wished we'd booked for an extra night but sadly they were fully booked. Quite pricey but so are the other hotels in the area.

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Watamoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Lovely hotel with great atmosphere. Large well furnished room and great breakfast. Friendly staff nothing too much trouble. Situated in the square in Helmsley right in the middle of things !! Arrived in the middle of a biker festival in Duncombe Hall which was great fun. The market town and surrounding countryside is well worth a vist, so pretty.

Room tip: Great family room with bunk beds.
Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawbren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We stayed here for two nights this week and I would definitely recommend it. The room was excellent - light and airy - and the beds were so comfortable!. The breakfast was lovely - served to your table - not buffet style and the evening meal in the bar was delicious. The staff were excellent and the service very efficient. There was a personal feel about the hotel but the staff were very professional. Although the hotel is on the market square in the middle of the town there was no noise. I will definitley be returning!!

Room tip: Rooms at the back are probably quieter.
Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Stayed here again whilst touring around North Yorkshire and visiting old favourite places such as Whitby and Scarborough.
Easily found and ideally situated in the Market Place,great for people watching and sitting outside having a pint of Black Sheep.
The rooms are adequate but the food and welcome make up for the lack of luxurious accommodation,that said very clean and warm with modern bathrooms and good hot shower.
The bar or restaurant both offer great food with lots of good local specials.The staff are all great and service is very good.
Breakfast is cooked to order and plentiful.
Try the Black Sheep bitter it's local and arguably one of the best pints in Yorkshire in great surroundings.

Room tip: Get a room overlooking the Market Place to people watch
Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard1242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stayed here June 8th and June 15th, leaving our car there whilst walking the 96 miles around the North York Moors as part of the "InnWay" series. Friendly welcome, lots of helpful staff, good rooms (and dog friendly) a decent meal and some good real ales. The Feathers is situated right opposite the main square where, in good weather, many sit laughing, shouting and taking loudly, the first night we had a room overlooking the square so the noise which went on till 1.30am was disruptive, the second visit we had a room at the back which was much quieter. This is an average hotel, but pleasant and welcoming, perhaps at £100 a night for a double room a bit expensive for what you get, but it's in a great location for the start of the Cleveland Way, the InnWay circular and many other walks. Helmsley is a wonderful old market town with castle, steeped in history with lovely old buildings, pubs, restaurants and shops. Definitely worth a visit.

Room tip: The rooms at the back are much quieter ( 15-19)
Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews