We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay at The Feathers”
Review of The Feathers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Feathers Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed in room 23 (a superior) this sunday gone and got a very good rate as advertyised on their website. Its a superb hotel with quality and clean rooms. The hotel restuarant and bar are superb with a great array of food and drinks... the breakfast was great too.
would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a stay in beautiful Helmsley.

Room Tip: room 23 - huge and superior room (on a sunday discount rate)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GMarchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (866)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

745 - 751 of 866 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night having visited helmsley previously.

Perfect place to stay.

Room was beautifully decorated, very clean and the service of all staff was impeccable.

Breakfast was scrummy too!

Thank you to all at the feathers. We'll be back and will recommend to others.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tont007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Stayed for three nights at this hotel in Helmsley. Handy car park behind the hotel
and our rooms - 11 and 12 overlooked the lovely Square. Room 12 was nicely
decorated but Room 11 was all pink and roses and needed refurbishing. No lift
and lots of stairs to climb. There was a musty smell on the staircase but having said
that the rooms were very clean and the beds very comfortable.

The food was delicious and although the menu was the same every evening, there
was always a great choice on the Specials Board. The breakfasts were also very
good, and products were sourced locally.

Helmsley is lovely, and so nice to see such classy shops as Pennita and Miller Tate
such a change from the usual chain shops which are in most towns.

Helmsley is an ideal location for visiting Scarborough, York, Harrogate etc. I would
highly recommend The Feathers and their staff - a great three day break.

Room Tip: Ask to overlook the Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Golfingmags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed for a two night break at The Feathers and had a very good time , The room was clean and comfortable and the food hot and exellent. We shall be going there again It is also a very good situation for exploring the Noth York Moors

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johncooper28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We like to get away for one night breaks and chose to go to the lovely town of Helmsley over the summer, especially as my husband is motorbike mad and wanted to go when there was a gathering in the square! We chose The Feathers because it looks nice from the outside. We had not booked but were able to get a room which was nice and affordable. It was very slow food service, however they were busy so they can be forgiven for that. The food was really nice and the staff very friendly. We will go back

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I booked a single room fro one night via Booking.com - for £55 including breakfast. The room was described as "cosy" - which was true - it was actually the smallest room I have ever seen, something akin to a cabin on a boat! And it's Room 19, if you're wondering. The room is equipped with a single bed which is unfortunately squeezed between a wall and a chest of drawers, this means that if you lie down (which I think is the point), and are more than about 170 cms tall, you're going to end up curled up all night, because you cannot stretch out. The mattress also had some strange hard things poking through which added to the discomfort.
Put another way, if you are booking here and are even close to 6 feet tall, tell them you do not want room 19!
On the other hand - the room comes with tea and coffee facilities and a nice bathroom - although this suffered from a very unreliable hot water supply (other reviewers have said the same) and a shower head that needed de-scaling (Reception informed). And of course that great British plumbing phenomenon - no water pressure.....the shower is a half-hearted trickle....but that seems to be true in most places in England.
That being said, the staff are friendly, welcoming and helpful and the bar and restaurant are very atmospheric and comfortable. I ordered the vegetarian option which was pretty awful - the description was of mediterranean vegetables and risotto - what arrived was half a kilo of very dry rice covering some tiny bits of vegetable (carrots mainly). But there again this is a meat-eating part of the world so that's maybe my own fault. Washing it down with a pint of Black Sheep helped.
My neighbours at the next table had a superb lamb-based meal, desserts, wine and coffee and were treated very courteously.
Breakfast is served from 08.00 in the ballroom at the back of the hotel. There are two options, the inevitable "full english" and a lighter version with smoked salmon and scrambled eggs or kippers. Plus the usual assortment of cereals and juice. The coffee was abysmal, try the tea instead.
Couple of tips - parking - the hotel has a car park at the back but it fills quickly, you can park on the market square overnight (free), but have to move before 9.00 or you'll get a ticket. The alternative is to park on one of the side streets...try that. If you can, give yourself some time, Helmsley is gorgeous and invites a slow stroll around the centre, up to Duncombe Park and round the church. On a blue September morning when the market stalls are being set up, it is a lovely place with all kinds of rewarding views - just enjoy the atmosphere.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed here on the weekend of 13th Sept for a couple of nights. I am not sure if its because we have a dog but we always get a rubbish room! We paid £240 for 2 nights b&b which I thought was a bit pricey for what we got. The over sheets on the bed - not the actual bed sheets which were clean - were dirty. I suspect this was due to us having a dog but not acceptable. Water was Luke warm on first night we queried it and was told to run it a while but we did that anyway- somehow the next day it was hot. No hooks in the room. Room old fashioned. It was a twin room with both beds pushed together but one was lower down than the other! You could tell they were very old beds too. Breakfast ok ish but can't cook poached eggs and some of staff are a bit unfriendly- witnessed a nice argument with a swearing chef in the kitchen! Bar is great but did not eat. Overall ok but for us not worth the money but that may be because we had a dog.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Zoe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helmsley
0 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,684 reviews
0.1 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
0 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
19.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
23.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 19 in Whitby
2,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Feathers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Feathers Hotel

Address: 5-6 Market Place, Helmsley YO62 5BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Price Range: £72 - £396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Feathers Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Feathers hotel part of the Coaching inn Group, is situated on the market square in Helmsley on the edge of the North Yorkshire Moors. This country inn offers a delightful mix of historic charm and Yorkshire hospitality. Its 25 bedrooms are all equipped with televisions, tea trays and toiletries. The hotel has an excellent local reputation for good food and fine ales. The Pickwick Bar with its low ceilings and open fire boasts a bar which is the longest piece of work created by Robert Thompson, famous for his Mouseman furniture. Bar meals are served in the cosy Feversham Bar using the very best local produce, the restaurant serves good English food both at lunchtime and in the evening. There is limited private parking at the rear of the hotel. Rooms and food are available all year round including Christmas day its self. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Feathers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feathers Hotel Helmsley
The Feathers Hotel Helmsley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing