We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel, good food but...”
Review of The Feathers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Feathers Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Certificate of Excellence
Jedburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel, good food but...”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Definitely value for money, bedrooms lovely, large and clean, food was excellent and again value for money. Beautiful village and the atmosphere there is fab.

The majority of the staff were excellent but one or two were a bit sharp.....no one asked us if our meal was ok or if we enjoyed our stay on checking out. We would of said 'yes' beacause it was but no one asked! Pillows were awful.

Will definitely go back though.

Room Tip: Think we had room 21 (or 22!) it backed on to the function suite, and there was a function on so it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarenLynn36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    267
    75
    26
    13
See reviews for
109
382
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lincs
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We booked the two night DBB offer direct from The Feathers website and have to say had the most amazing stay. We wanted a large room and this was worth every penny. We stayed in room 23 with a huge super kingsize bed and was at the back of the hotel which was quiet and peaceful. The bathroom was modern with a rainwater shower with plenty of power and constant hot water. Both rooms were spotlessly clean.

The breakfast was plentiful and first class. The dinner in the restaurant was totally awesome with enormous portions.

The staff are super friendly and attentive without being overbearing. A special mention for the Tetley's Cask Bitter which, I am told, is kept very well indeed. The cosy bar is packed with locals which says a lot.

Definitely hope to return to this very special place indeed.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling4Toffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Spent Friday in Helmsley, had lunch at The Feathers. Very good food, not overlay priced.
Nice choice of hand pull cask beers. Very busy due to being market day, would definitely return to sample dinner menu in the near future.

Quirky and stylish pub.

Room Tip: try and get table near window, gives you plenty of opportunity to people watch
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We have stayed at the Feathers before and really enjoyed it. However, we are here for 2 nights and I am writing this after night 1. Room lovely, as was the lady on reception. Dinner though....both had a very tasteless and bland prawn cocktail with a bit of iceberg lettuce underneath. My husband then had steak which was ok. I had gammon. I have eaten thicker bacon. I asked for no pineapple as I detest the stuff and it came with pineapple plonked on top of the two slices of 'bacon'. I asked for a side order of onion rings and I got a bowl full of 15 of them?! Just so disappointing. No, they were not busy. In the room we ate there were a total of 4 tables dining. Plus, I so dislike being called 'love' all the time by someone behind the bar old enough to be my son. Will see what breakfast brings...........

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TraceyM25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We went last night for my husbands works christmas party and thought we would stay over so we could both have a drink and enjoy the evening better. First impressions were this is lovely friendly and cosy, went to the room and oh yes this is lovely nice and warm and comfortable just what we wanted. Made a cup of tea which was very nice and sat and had a chat.
Then we decided it was time for a shower well this was when we where let down, not a bit of hot or warm water to be had it was freezing cold not good at all, ok the place was busy but even so still not good enough. So we both showered in cold water. Great christmas party lovely food and brill disco. Went to bed at 1am still not a drop of warm water and again when we got up for breakfast not a drop to be had, so this is why I've only given a very good and not excellent. Breakfast was lovely, cooked well and hot.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LANCASTER
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

What a lovely setting, sat on the square with Christmas lights up. Lovely decor and atmosphere. Food was great, plenty of it and good service. Drinks were reasonable price. Staff were all very pleasant. The only minor criticism would be that our bedroom sash window banged all night and there was no hot water in the morning for a shower. Overall a lovely stay.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank katej150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benicasim, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

While visiting Helmsley my husband and I decided to have a bar lunch at the Feathers. It was busy but on our way in a couple leaving told us that they had just vacated a table near the window. As I am on crutches my husband told me to wait outside the room while he went and made sure that the table was still vacant. He got there, found that it was but was immediately told by a member of staff to get out of her way so that she could clear the table. Had she politely asked him all would have been well but as she was so rude we left the hotel, went elsewhere and will never visit the Feathers again. Rosalind Sutton

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosalind S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helmsley
0.0 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,508 reviews
0.1 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
0.0 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
Golden Fleece Hotel
#2 of 5 in Thirsk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Worsley Arms Hotel
The Worsley Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hovingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
5.4 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirkbymoorside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Feathers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Feathers Hotel

Property: The Feathers Hotel
Address: 5-6 Market Place, Helmsley YO62 5BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Feathers Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Feathers hotel part of the Coaching inn Group, is situated on the market square in Helmsley on the edge of the North Yorkshire Moors. This country inn offers a delightful mix of historic charm and Yorkshire hospitality. Its 25 bedrooms are all equipped with televisions, tea trays and toiletries. The hotel has an excellent local reputation for good food and fine ales. The Pickwick Bar with its low ceilings and open fire boasts a bar which is the longest piece of work created by Robert Thompson, famous for his Mouseman furniture. Bar meals are served in the cosy Feversham Bar using the very best local produce, the restaurant serves good English food both at lunchtime and in the evening. There is limited private parking at the rear of the hotel. Rooms and food are available all year round including Christmas day its self. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Feathers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feathers Hotel Helmsley
The Feathers Hotel Helmsley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing