We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Yorkshire Welcome”
Review of The Feathers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Feathers Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Yorkshire Welcome”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights over a weekend for a wedding we were attending in the local area. We had a room at the front of the hotel facing the square which was fine for us (like a bit of people watching!) if you want peace and quiet ask for the back.

The room was second floor, up two flights of stairs which are fairly narrow as it's a old building. Room was spacious, clean, and en-suite. No complaints.

The hotel is right in the centre of the town of Helmsley and is fairly busy during the day and evening.

The hotel is quite popular for bar meals we had a meal one evening which was quite good and served quickly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anniemo-Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    294
    79
    28
    14
See reviews for
126
410
17
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
.
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

On holiday& met up with friends who stay in the area & have eaten here before. . Very busy but shown to a table in room at back nice menu & a few specials. . Enjoyed our meals good portions well cooked& fresh friendly staff well worth a visit

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LizMaxw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Booked this hotel on line after reading reviews however what I found didn't tally. As we entered the front door the odour was food and cooking and not too appetising either. The lobby carpet needed a good vacuuming. Check-in was ok but getting to the bedroom was tight up the stairs. The stairs were doored off I presume for fire precautions. The floor boards on the landing were loose and creaking.

The room was fine and well equipped with toiletries and tea and coffee etc and biscuits. The window overlooked the town square. However there was noise coming into the room. After searching for the source I believed it came from the bars and restaurants downstairs, through the floor. I would have thought adequate fire proofing between floors would have killed the noise too. The shower room was adequate but the shower didn't drain quickly. It wasn't blocked as such but the fall in the drain was inadequate and by the time I had showered the water was over the tops of my feet.

The Hotel reported wifi but the only way to get it was in the corner of one of the bars downstairs with a smartphone. With Ipads there was no indication of wifi anywhere in the hotel. Helmsley is not blessed with a good mobile phone signal either. Two bars was the max I got. Not a fault of the hotel of course but if the hotel's wifi had been up to the job the poor signal for a smart phone or dongle would not have been an issue.

The dinner was adequate but it was only bar meal standard. There were several areas in which to eat but food had to be ordered at the bars. A table was reserved but still the food was ordered at the bar.

Breakfast was okay. The juice was warm and the scrambled eggs overcooked, dry and rubbery. The coffee was hot, maybe a little strong but ok. Breakfast was not until 8am which I found a little late for my taste. As there was no guest sitting room we had to stroll around the square until 8am. The weather was fine so no problem but if raining it would be sit in your room watching breakfast television.

Hotel car parking was ok. Last resort would be the town square in front of the hotel. Not the end of the world then.

Room Tip: You might get a room with wifi but we didn't. I would rather have wifi than a television. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thisistrigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield England
Level 6 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Had a great lunch here at the feathers. We had just the one course and both had pie. My steak pie with short crust pastry was outstanding - full of succulent beef in a rich gravy. My OH had chicken and ham pie which was also full to bursting with chicken, ham and leeks. All in all a good lunch. Just one comment - our food arrived within minutes of ordering which seemed a bit too fast. We were there early in lunchtime period though so it's likely they set up with plenty of the popular choices to serve up straight away - and there was no suggestion of food being dried up or otherwise suffering from being ready early!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank smh1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We had a really lovely one night stay at the Feathers. The staff could not have been more helpful or friendly. Our room was in an annexe and was large, clean, quiet and had everything we could have wished for. Breakfast was great - lots of choice and very fresh. For the price we couldn't have had better.

Room Tip: Room 30 was in an annexe and was large and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My wife and I are fans of the Feathers, having eaten there many times in the past (usually lunchtimes), and have never been disappointed.

On the advice of a friend who had previously stayed there, we decided on the Feathers for our two night (Sat/Sun) stay.

I booked on-line and paid by Paypal. Simple.

The one thing which worried me was the apparent lack of parking at the Feathers. It fronts the Market Square at Helmsley, seemingly having no such facility for guests.
Let me explain. Firstly, the Feathers DOES have a car park. At the rear of the building are several small car parks, each accommodating about half a dozen vehicles. One of these car parks is the ‘official’ Feathers Car Park; there is another which is the ‘overflow’ (and staff) car park; there is at least one other, but to whom it belongs I know not. So you can be lucky and ‘drop on’. However, failing that, nearby (maximum two minutes walk) there is free on street parking, again if you manage to ‘drop on’. Finally there is the Market Square itself, which is a short term pay and display, with charging hours after 9am and up to 6.30pm. Note, parking is somewhat restricted on Thursday nights there due to Friday Market Day. Longer -stay car parks are further away.

So, what about the Feathers? Well, it’s a kind of cross between a pub with rooms and a hotel. It is right on the Market Square in Helmsley, and because most of Helmsley seems to fall asleep at about 8pm, it can, apparently, get very busy/noisy. As it happened as far as we were concerned only the former applied on both Saturday and Sunday nights. On the Saturday night we were at the ‘Walled Garden’ buffet (birthday) celebrations, so our evening repast was accounted for. On the Sunday evening we booked (thankfully!) a table at the Feathers and the food was its usual very high standard, with somewhat overwhelming helpings! I am not a veggie, but chose the veggie option and am very glad I did, it was delicious! Wifey had the Roast Beef and Yorkshire, and not only was it A1, the helping was enormous! We dragged the last bit of the bottle of wine upstairs to our room!

And so to the room; our ‘standard’ twin was absolutely right for a couple or more nights stay; courtesy tray, plenty of bathroom goodies, modern TV etc etc. Exactly what was required! Finding the room initially was interesting – don’t forget the Feathers is a very old building – you know the sort of thing; turn left there, up three stairs, take a right and go down four, then up the next flight, through the door, take another left up three stairs and then…etc. etc (NB there is no lift!).

Breakfasts were individually cooked (after the usual array of Cereals, Yoghurts, Fruit etc etc), and locally sourced. Toast was via one of those ubiquitous conveyor belt contraptions.

The staff throughout the hotel were all incredibly accommodating!

Finally, in true ‘Four In A Bed’ style – Yes we would like to stay again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobbyWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Great Sunday carvery here but I would advise booking as it does get busy but this goes to show how popular it is. People were very friendly and food was hot and good selection - would definitely visit again

Room Tip: did not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 22Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helmsley
0.0 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,591 reviews
0.1 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
0.0 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
Golden Fleece Hotel
#1 of 5 in Thirsk
901 reviews
13.1 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
23.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Feathers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Feathers Hotel

Property: The Feathers Hotel
Address: 5-6 Market Place, Helmsley YO62 5BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Feathers Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Feathers hotel part of the Coaching inn Group, is situated on the market square in Helmsley on the edge of the North Yorkshire Moors. This country inn offers a delightful mix of historic charm and Yorkshire hospitality. Its 25 bedrooms are all equipped with televisions, tea trays and toiletries. The hotel has an excellent local reputation for good food and fine ales. The Pickwick Bar with its low ceilings and open fire boasts a bar which is the longest piece of work created by Robert Thompson, famous for his Mouseman furniture. Bar meals are served in the cosy Feversham Bar using the very best local produce, the restaurant serves good English food both at lunchtime and in the evening. There is limited private parking at the rear of the hotel. Rooms and food are available all year round including Christmas day its self. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Feathers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feathers Hotel Helmsley
The Feathers Hotel Helmsley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing