We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic accommodation, perfectly satisfactory”
Review of The Feathers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Feathers Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2009

We were greeted at reception by a woman who kept calling me: "Sweetheart," slipping the word into every sentence. I've reached the age at which I prefer basic courtesy to instant familiarity, so that wasn't a good start.

The room (number 6), we were told in advance, was small, so we expected nothing more, but it was fine. I've stayed in smaller rooms in a Holiday Inn.

This is an old building, and the room had been partitioned in a very amateurish way. No attempt had been made to secure the bottom edge of the sliding door to the toilet/shower room, so it tended to swing out alarmingly at times.

The furniture was cheap but functional, and the bottom 20cm of the curtains were piled on the floor because no one could be bothered to turn them up. The radiator was in a recess behind the curtain, so we had to pile up the curtain behind it to allow us to heat the room.

The detailed criticisms above are not intended to be a deterrent - we paid £50 for bed and breakfast, and we had a functional, comfortable room.

We went out for a meal and took a local supermarket's bargain bottle of wine back to the room to enjoy drinks and chocolate in bed in front of the television.

On our return, we saw a member of the kitchen staff leaving the hotel's front door while wearing badly stained whites. I thought the whole point of whites was that their use was confined to the kitchen, so that dirt and pollution from outside was not brought in on top clothes.

Full English breakfast was excellent, including back bacon, a good quality sausage (pretty rare nowadays) and generous scarmbled egg, but was let down by cheap and nasty catering baked beans.

The buffet offered tinned grapefruit segments and a good selection of cereals. The coffee was either supermarket instant or such a poor grind that it wasn't worth the effort.

Our breakfast server was very pleasant and polite.

Very good value and we'd be happy to return.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarryLTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (833)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

819 - 825 of 833 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2009

Went with 2 friends plus my hubby to North York for a 3 day weekend. Arrived at the Feathers to discover the Hotel is a lot bigger than meets the eye, with nice touches like real open log fire.Checked into our economy room whilst friends opted for the slightly more expensive deluxe. Comparring the rooms was pleasing-both rooms clean and more than suitable, and would even say value for money. Food-good, and very busy. Menu had plenty of choices and catered for friends vegetarian needs whilst plenty of meat choices for the men!!Staff friendly, helpful and seem to work well together. Helmsley is a busy little town over the weekend then Monday quite quiet,but plenty to do if into walking,sightseeing etc. Will definetly visit again and am now on the mailing list for future "Feathers Deals".

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chesterjacob123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2009

My partner and I went to Helmsley for Valentine's night and wanted a good value for money bnb in the market square so we picked The Feathers. We had a lovely stay in room 21 which was huge, big hallway, huge bathroom and bedroom, and a twin bedroom off it which we didnt even use but would be great if you had kids. This isn't a swanky molton brown toiletries with a dvd library etc bnb (and it doesn't claim to be one) but there were some nice touches in the warm and cosy room, the staff are wonderfully friendly, professional and helpful, the breakfast in the morning was fab (but real freshly squeezed OJ next time please), and the location right in the centre of the market square is perfect. Very good value for £100 we thought - and most rooms are cheaper - I just asked for one of the largest rooms. Apparently the resto downstairs is good food tho we ate out, the two pubs downstairs are nice tho, and we were served till about 1am. Great inexpensive super friendly bnb base for exploring the very lovely helmsley.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NATALIECheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2008

Only had a long weekend for our mini-moon and chose the Feathers. Very nice hotel, accommodation and food lovely. Only thing that spoiled our stay was the noise - they had 2 functions on over the weekend. We were woken at 5am by an amorous couple in the room opposite (post their office Xmas party), and by another function which went on until the early hours on the Sunday - oh, and add to that the yapping dogs in the room underneath - don't ask for Room 31 !! Apart from that, we had a lovely stay and Helmsley and the surrounding area were wonderful - even in November. As someone else suggested, check whether there are any functions on during your stay.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolsRUsScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2008

Had a three night stay which included dinner. Hotel is perfectly located on the market square with parking at the rear. Room had all we needed and was clean. The breakfast was very hearty, however the evening meal was a little disappointing , it was good but we were expecting better.
Staff were very friendly and helpful. Helmsley is a beautiful base for most activities. A must is a trip on the NYM railway at Pickering, we went through to Whitby which was well worth the effort.
All in all The Feathers is well worth a visit as is Helmsley.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank VikingYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2008

Our large group of friends have been staying in Helmsley for over 16 years and 2 years ago returned to The Feathers after a 3 year defection.We are delighted with the changes and the welcome , staff ,food and general ambience are to be highly recommended .The rooms were immaculate and beds very comfortable . It's position in the Market Place make it an ideal location to sample the delightful shops and as a good starting base for walks to explore the area without resorting to the car ! We have already booked again for next year which in itself is a good recommendation !

Stayed: May 2008
Thank thornhillyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2007

Have just spent the night at the Feathers Pocklington ,17th feb 2007 .We stayed in one of the chalets lovley and clean and spacious lots of hot water .
the food and bar service was excellent and efficient and we found all the staff and the landlord genuine and friendly ,have booked to stay again ,
pocklington itself is a very pretty market town,approx 15 miles from york

2  Thank whittakerchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helmsley
0 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,672 reviews
0.1 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
0 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
11.4 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
692 reviews
19.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Feathers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Feathers Hotel

Address: 5-6 Market Place, Helmsley YO62 5BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Price Range: £113 - £407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Feathers Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Feathers hotel part of the Coaching inn Group, is situated on the market square in Helmsley on the edge of the North Yorkshire Moors. This country inn offers a delightful mix of historic charm and Yorkshire hospitality. Its 25 bedrooms are all equipped with televisions, tea trays and toiletries. The hotel has an excellent local reputation for good food and fine ales. The Pickwick Bar with its low ceilings and open fire boasts a bar which is the longest piece of work created by Robert Thompson, famous for his Mouseman furniture. Bar meals are served in the cosy Feversham Bar using the very best local produce, the restaurant serves good English food both at lunchtime and in the evening. There is limited private parking at the rear of the hotel. Rooms and food are available all year round including Christmas day its self. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Feathers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feathers Hotel Helmsley
The Feathers Hotel Helmsley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing