We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clearly strove for, and achieved, excellence”
Review of The Feathers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Feathers Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Clearly strove for, and achieved, excellence”
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Really care, hardwork and flair was very much engrained into the ethos of everyone working at this establishment. The rooms were superbly decorated and in great condition. A real lovely place for a getaway weekend.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HenryPercy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    273
    77
    26
    13
See reviews for
111
389
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Hotel is in a prominent position right on the Market Square. The staff were all genuinely friendly and the food in the restaurant was good and very reasonably priced. Breakfast was excellent, all cooked to order.
The room was small but we knew that when we booked it so it didn't come as a surprise. It faced inwards so there was no traffic noise to disturb our sleep.
All in all it was good value for money and I wouldn't hesitate to come back here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afaj27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2010

We stayed in Helmsley for a couple of nights in late September at the Feversham Arms (a fabulous treat with wonderful staff but definitely on the pricey side) - but popped into the Feathers one evening for a drink. We'd enjoyed a lovely afternoon tea earlier at the Feversham Arms, but I found myself slightly hungry by 8:30pm and just fancied something light.

My husband ordered a beer - a local ale - and I ordered the chunky vegetable soup. It was absolutely delicious, piping hot and served with a warm roll and butter. I couldn't have asked for a nicer supper - and the ambience in the restaurant/bar was lovely - very relaxed with friendly and helpful staff. The night before we ate at the Star at Harome (just outside Helmsley) which was lovely but this was just as nice at a fraction of the price, and the rest of the menu looked good too.

Next time we're in Helmsley we'll definitely return to the Feathers! :)

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicola_a_wood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2010

Well, where to start really !! The staff are very polite with an abundance of local information, from the shops to walking and driving. The bar staff are a real good hoot and the locals easy to talk to. The room we stayed in was excellent, spacious, clean and very welcoming, with no noise from the dining or bar areas. The bed was amazing in size/comfort and even the wife was happy to sleep another 2 feet away from me lol. The food is locally produced and this is obvious when tasted, the breakfast is yummy and the sunday dinner mouth watering. The Feathers is superbly situated for that stop off over night and to explore the moors and local abbey's/castles. For any doubters out there, im a yorkshireman and tell it how it is, so if i had a complaint i would let you know. WELL DONE all the staff at the Feathers for making us feel welcome, Thanks to all !!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBearLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2010

me and my partner have stayed here before in 2009 and decided to stay again a month ago for our anniversary..... our expectations were met yet again, when we arrived it was the same staff that greeted us a year back..this time it was very busy but the staff still had a smile on there face and was laughing and joking with us as we checked in. Once settled in we went for some dinner, the food was just as good as i remembered...still as lovely and filling as ever, which i would love to say it put us off having a few drinks but we went into the other bar with the open fire....nice touch! the staff were great on the bar which we sat with for a good few hours! Infact i dont know what time we went to bed..the breakfast has being improved...would of loved it if we could of confronted food but the night before took its toll, yogurt and fruit did us. Overall we had an lovely night stay, the staff seem to get along so well, even though they seemed to be extremely busy they still had time to talk to us! saying that we got to know a few of them after they had finished work in the bar....really good visit definetely comiing back next year!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellielamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2010

Arrived friday evening, was given free upgrade to superior rooms, food was fantastic with a lovely friendly atmosphere, breakfast was just as good, plenty to start the day off, the feathers is a lovely family run hotel, in a beautifull part of the world, very recomenable to any body looking for a quiet weekend away.

Shaun & Amy.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doriscleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2010

I booked two rooms at this hotel for Saturday night 6th March for my daughter and myself. We were traveling to Yorkshire to visit my husband's grave in Farndale.
When I arrived late on Saturday afternoon from Edinburgh I was told that we could not have the rooms as they had not finished decorating them [ this turned out to be a lie as people were in them] My daughter was on her way from Kent and was due in another hour or so. We were told that a message had been left on my phone. Obviously I wasn't there. We were offered two rooms in a local B&B which were totally unsuitable for that time of year. I knew none of the other hotels in Helmsley had rooms. I was then told that there were two rooms in another hotel but we would have to pay for them. I asked to speak to the manager and the junior receptionist who was trying to cope with this and cover for them went to get him and returned back without him to say that she thought it would be alright if we went to the other hotel and they would pay the difference. I felt sorry for her as she was fronting a situation where she was clearly out of her depth. By the time we got to the other hotel it was too late to get something to eat in Helmsley. So after us both having a very long journey we were left to manage for ourselves thanks to the incompetence of The Feathers. It was bad enough they had overbooked but for the manager not to even come and apologise and for us to have been told lies about the rooms was despicable.
I have previously stayed at The Feathers as well as other hotels in Helmsley but I most certainly won't risk booking it ever again.

Stayed March 2010
Helpful?
4 Thank enadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiremanYork, Director at The Feathers Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2010
Thank you for submitting a review. It is obviously disappointing for us that it is so unfavourable.

Addressing your points:
1) On the night in question we were decorating a bedroom and it was unavailable for guests. You and your daughter were the only guests staying one night (all the other guests were staying two nights or more). We booked you and your daughter into a well regarded B&B nearby. When you arrived you informed us that you did not wish to be in a B&B so, at your request, we moved you into another hotel.

2) You arrived at 5pm. We had no way of knowing what time you would arrive. The General manager was not in the hotel at this time and did not come on duty until 6pm, by which time you had left. He was therefore unable to see you. The receptionist has worked here for many years.

3) I note you were unable to get a meal: The hotel you moved to is less than 100 metres from The Feathers. You left the Feathers before 6pm. We served food until 9pm that night.

We are sincerely sorry that we had to move you and your daughter out of the hotel. It is something we do very rarely and is always regretable. It is sad when this causes so much upset, however we genuinely believe that we did the best we could in the curcumstances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helmsley
0.0 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,530 reviews
0.1 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
0.0 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
Golden Fleece Hotel
#2 of 5 in Thirsk
829 reviews
23.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
1,996 reviews
13.1 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Feathers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Feathers Hotel

Property: The Feathers Hotel
Address: 5-6 Market Place, Helmsley YO62 5BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Feathers Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Feathers hotel part of the Coaching inn Group, is situated on the market square in Helmsley on the edge of the North Yorkshire Moors. This country inn offers a delightful mix of historic charm and Yorkshire hospitality. Its 25 bedrooms are all equipped with televisions, tea trays and toiletries. The hotel has an excellent local reputation for good food and fine ales. The Pickwick Bar with its low ceilings and open fire boasts a bar which is the longest piece of work created by Robert Thompson, famous for his Mouseman furniture. Bar meals are served in the cosy Feversham Bar using the very best local produce, the restaurant serves good English food both at lunchtime and in the evening. There is limited private parking at the rear of the hotel. Rooms and food are available all year round including Christmas day its self. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Feathers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feathers Hotel Helmsley
The Feathers Hotel Helmsley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing