We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wedding venue” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Friars Head

Friars Head
Ranked #13 of 32 Restaurants in Leyburn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$65
Cuisines: British, Pub, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, View
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wedding venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Excellent wedding venue with exceptional friendly service, quality food and beautiful surroundings. Dog friendly camping area adjoining.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lynn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    29
    21
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and brilliant service! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We had a fantastic meal here, really tasty food and an extensive menu. Really enjoyed it, we had lunch here but will definitely be coming back for an evening meal next time we are at the van :-)

Helpful?
Thank hippyonvacation20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good Menu - comfortable dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Lovely atmosphere, friendly staff. Good choice of Menu, quality food cooked well. Certainly recommend.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank HebrideanLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We had lunch in the friars head while we were staying on the holiday park. It was great for all the family and the lunch menu was very reasonable. The Staff were very attentive and polite.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JamesFox88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedale
1 review
“18th birthday meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

my 18th birthday and i had no idea what to do except a meal so my mother suggested the friars head which i was more than happy as i had never been before and had heard it was very nice. On arrival i was impressed by the modern yet rustic style of the restaurant and as we waited for everyone in our party to arrive it was a comfortable scene to be surrounded by. Because we were a large party we'd asked if we could have the private room to which they were only too happy to accommodate us with. The room we were lead into was extremely charming with a greek style vaulted ceiling and paintings. We had already pre ordered so the food came out in good time and although there were 22 of us there was not a huge gap between the first and last people getting their food. Also my grandmother had specified that she didn't want a large serving of her cheese board which they kindly reduced the size of accordingly. I had gone for the sirloin steak with pepper sauce which was cooked to precisely what i ordered and came with an assortment of freshly cooked vegetables and fried diced potatoes which were delicious, no-one had any complaints everyone stated how much they enjoyed the food. I would recommend this restaurant to everyone and would most certainly go again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank joethoughts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Friars Head also viewed

Leyburn, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Friars Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing