We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely B&B.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grove House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grove House
Ranked #4 of 20 Leyburn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Jean very friendly. We have been to Leyburn many times and this is one of the nicest places we've stayed. We stayed in room 8, Swaledale. Lovely room, though shower a bit small.
Would also recommend Saffron Restaurant. Big portions though. Could have shared main meal!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliHannaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grove_House_Grove_Sq, Manager at Grove House, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear Ali,
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and agree that The Saffron Restaurant Leyburn is well worth eating out at.
Just to inform you we are about to complete a total refurbishment of Swaledales en-suite.

Regards
Jean & Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
90
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Very disappointing. Had to wait an hour to check in. Went down for breakfast at the allotted time to be told I had to come back in half an hour. I would not be going back. They are friendly enough but let's face it many B and B's are around the country.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyGil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grove_House_Grove_Sq, Owner at Grove House, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Andy.

We are so sorry you didn’t enjoy your short stay at Grove House. Over the past month we have dealt with many changes regarding cast and crew guests and we had no knowledge of your arrival time. Also in our defence the negotiated price for your stay did not include breakfast which unfortunately you were not made aware of by “Bill” films. We tried to rectify this problem by saying breakfast could be ready in 30 minutes but this wasn’t convenient for your-self.
Please accept our apologies again.

Regards,

Jean & Nigel Mould
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otterburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

We have just spent a night at the Grove House Leyburn many thanks to Jean for her lovely welcome the room was lovely and breakfast very filling ,she has everything you wish to have in a B& B. We arrived about 5.00 pm Jean showed us to our room then produced a most welcome cup of tea and cake .
A lovely lady I would say to anybody call there for a real Yorkshire welcome this was our second visit

Room Tip: We had room Wensleydale it is on front but quiet still
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

This place is by far the best B&B my wife and I have stayed. We were visiting from America and looking for a quiet and comfortable English town to explore. The Nigel and Jean greeted us at the door and helped show us to our room. The room was beautiful, clean and newly remodeled. English Breakfast in the morning was delicious! The little town has a great selection for pubs, places to eat, and amazing countryside to explore. The owners directed us to all the local places to visit. The town is also within driving distance of York. We will definitely use this B&B again the next time we visit the UK!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

I stayed with my wife and 4 small children for one night in December. We were made completely welcome and enjoyed our brief stay immensely. The location is excellent for enjoying Leyburn and surrounds. Recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

my husband and i have just returned home having spent a few days at this bed and breakfast and i must say we had a marvellous time we were made very welcome from our hosts jean and nigel who made us tea and scones -our room was lovely too and the breakfasts were moorish -i can highly recomend this bed and breakfast -

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire Cyclist
Level Contributor
100 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

I was on a cycle tour and was immediately greeted upon arrival with a massive pot of tea & cakes !! What a great start !! The secure cycle storage was very handy, & the location was superb. The room was a double; it had so many nice features that it put the hotel from the previous night to shame. Spotlessly clean, WI FI, heaps of towels, lovely soaps, vast choice of hot drinks to make in the room, and then there was the breakfast........ basically everything was local & there was a huge amount of choice. Nothing was too much trouble for Jean & Nigel. They are also listed on the CTC website & Nigel is a cyclist too !!

Room Tip: I had Room #4, but I also saw a Ground Floor room as well, & that looked just as nice !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ubhank3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leyburn
6.4 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
2.0 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Middleham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clyde House
Clyde House
#2 of 20 in Leyburn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Oak Lodge Bed & Breakfast
3.3 mi away
The Old Vicarage
The Old Vicarage
#2 of 5 in West Witton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Wensleydale Heifer
The Wensleydale Heifer
#1 of 5 in West Witton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grove House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grove House

Property: Grove House
Address: 8 Grove Square, Leyburn DL8 5AE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Leyburn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Leyburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grove House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Grove House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grove House Leyburn, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing