We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality at it's very best!”
Review of Grove House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grove House
Ranked #3 of 19 Leyburn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
cheshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hospitality at it's very best!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We have never experienced such wonderful hospitality as we did on our visit to Grove House. The guest house itself is just beautiful but the owners, Jean and Nigel, were so attentive and could not do enough for us. The breakfasts were the best we have ever had and the rooms had been decorated to a high standard. Everything had been thought of and provided, full complimentary drinks in rooms, kettle, fresh milk daily, little packs of biscuits, bottles of water and chocolates each day. Tea, coffee and cakes on arrival which was lovely. We will certainly be returning and can see why this beautiful Guest House has such wonderful reviews. Thank you once again for making our 5 day stay with you so memorable and enjoyable xxxxx

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorrieo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grove_House_Grove_Sq, Owner at Grove House, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
A big thank you for your very kind review and it was a pleasure having you all at Grove House. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated our extra special touches.
We look forward to seeing you all again.
Regards
Jean & Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
94
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stopped for 4 nights, great value, Jean and Nigel go out of their was to make sure you have everything you need, good choice of breakfast, nice rooms, even tea and cake when you check in! First class b&b spotlessly clean, would certainly return

Room Tip: We stopped in the red room at the back very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grove_House_Grove_Sq, Owner at Grove House, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Andy,
A big thank you for taking time to write this lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and weren't you lucky with the great weather.
Regards
Jean and Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Stopping in leyburn while I work at the nearby catterick garrison ,had a nice three weeks stopping here ,the rooms are done to a very high spec ,Jean and Nigel are so friendly and nothing is to much trouble ,breakfasts are superb with a great choice .if your thinking of visiting leyburn and the great North Yorkshire moors there isn't a nicer B and B to stop at

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank seanfromsheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grove_House_Grove_Sq, Owner at Grove House, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Sean,
It is a pleasure looking after you and we really appreciated your lovely comments.
Regards
Jean & Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

great place ...........friendly, faultless & good value, some really nice touches fresh fruit at breakfast and cafetiere in room. good town centre location. Luxurious room more 4* standard - this is not a B&B

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jedlowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grove_House_Grove_Sq, Owner at Grove House, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Many thanks for your great review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed our special choices at breakfast and appreciated your room condiments.
We also liked your photos.
Regards
Jean & Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely b&b with lots of character. Jean & Nigel are very friendly and make you feel at home right from the start. We received homemade cake & tea on arrival which was a lovely touch. The room was perfect, very clean. Great breakfast which set us up for the day. We are only sorry we didn't book for more than one night.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grove_House_Grove_Sq, Owner at Grove House, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated our "home from home" B&B.
Regards
Jean and Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Fabulous place to stay in Leyburn with lovely hosts Jean and Nigel. We were made most welcome throughout our stay. After been shown to our room which was beautifully decorated and immaculate waiting downstairs in the snug was a cup of tea and cake. Had a great nights sleep and then served a fabulous breakfast. Lots of choice on the menu and all the food sourced locally and perfectly cooked. We were sorry that we had not booked longer, however will be looking forward to a return trip. Great place to stay and welcomed cyclists, we had bicycles with us and Jean and Nigel have a secure bicycle store, just the job. Great area to visit and Grove House well located. Treat yourself and visit Grove House you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexR728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grove_House_Grove_Sq, Owner at Grove House, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
We really appreciate your lovely comments and hope your charity bike ride wasn't too gruelling due to the awful weather. We look forward to seeing you both again and hopefully for a longer stay next time.
Regards
Jean and Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlskoga, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2014

As "B&B hoppers" we first thought Grove House to be a bit over our budget, but soon found it worth every penny.
In this 1600 cent'y building we found ourselves cared for to an embarrasingly high extent!
When you go here, do mind all the details this couple have thought of, for your stay to be just memorable.

Room Tip: As this house is so old, spaces are somewhat limited (this is well compensated by the charm and atmo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Staffan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grove_House_Grove_Sq, Owner at Grove House, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in our 1757 Grade II listed building. It was lovely meeting you both and hope you haven't had to use the umbrella too much!!!
Regards
Jean and Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leyburn
2.0 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Middleham
409 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
3.5 mi away
The Wensleydale Heifer
The Wensleydale Heifer
#1 of 4 in West Witton
1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Temple Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Barn-Gill House
Barn-Gill House
#2 of 2 in Thirlmere
25 reviews
6.2 mi away
Stow House
Stow House
#1 of 9 in Aysgarth
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grove House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grove House

Property: Grove House
Address: 8 Grove Square, Leyburn DL8 5AE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Leyburn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Leyburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grove House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Grove House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grove House Leyburn, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing