We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful house, where the hosts have thougt of...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Wensleydale House

Family bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Family bedroom
Double Bedroom Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Family bedroom
Double Bedroom
Living Room
Kitchen
Wensleydale House
Family Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Leyburn, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TrailBlaz...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful house, where the hosts have thougt of everything”
Reviewed 4 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful town house with sunny, secure, private garden. Stylish decoration, four bedrooms, three bathrooms, downstairs loo. Fully equipped kitchen, wonderful child's bedroom with toys and den, big DVD and video collection. Friendly, helpful hosts. Amazing views of Wensleydale and Middleham Castle. A three minute walk into Leyburn market town centre, with it's wonderful range of shops, Friday market, tasty cafes and good size Co-op, 15 minutes drive from Forbidden Corner.

Our party consisted of my parents who are in their 80s (so the down stairs loo and extra handrails on the stairs made a huge difference), four other adults and four children aged 12-2 years and the house was perfect for us all. We'd love to stay at Wenlseydale House again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ElBee512
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great property in good location”
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Well equipped property with lots of character. Helpful owner. Good location for walking. Lovely shops in Leyburn. Plenty of places to visit nearby.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1479neil
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mr”
Reviewed 11 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a wonderful place Wensleydale House is. It has a warm homely feel & loads of space for families with kids. We travelled with two couples & two 1 year olds who thoroughly enjoyed the playpen on the top floor! Location is superb with the market square just a couple of minutes up the road. The owners live next door & were helpful & friendly. We'll def be back, highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kay T
Knighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful, Ideal house for our family”
Reviewed 4 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This house was perfect for our needs and the welcome we received was great. Leyburn itself is a lovely town and we would thoroughly recommend this property to anyone. The childrens room is wonderful and our 21 month old granddaughter loved all the toys and the feel of the room. Everything we needed was at hand with a great range of DVD and videos

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2016
Thanks, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Wensleydale House
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzi V
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't be better. ”
Reviewed 17 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We enjoyed a fantastic weekend at Wensleydale House. Amazing house, so much space and character. Felt very much at home there. Very well equipped with everything you need to hand. Recommending to anyone who will listen! We will be returning ASAP.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoopPeter...
Peterborough
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Superb Halloween Holiday”
Reviewed 6 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Wensleydale House is a beautiful property full of lovely furnishings however it feels really homely. There is plenty of room for 10 with an enormous dining table, plenty of comfy sofas and enough room for a Halloween disco. The bedrooms are very pretty with carefully chosen and restored furniture. The beds are comfortable and the bed linen is of a very high standard indeed. The bathrooms are pristine with enviably spotless grouting and sealant and with 3 showers all 10 of us were soon ready in the mornings. The house is undeniably smart but what really sets it apart is the great location (5 minutes walk into the lovely town) and the super hosts/owners. They have the knack of being available but not intrusive. They were amazingly accommodating and so friendly, nothing was too much trouble. A couple of extra stair gates were whipped up in the blink of an eye. I received my jacket back through the post today which I had foolishly left on the back of a door. This was sent without fuss and, they insisted, at their expense. The welcome gifts alone were worth the trip! This property gets very booked up so don't delay - you won't be disappointed. For a property that sleeps 10 it is a bargain. I actually can't think of one criticism. Perfect. Looking forward to returning.
.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Owners, furnishings and location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing