We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scrummy”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Serendipity Cafe

Serendipity Cafe
Ranked #6 of 7 Coffee & Tea in Leyburn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Waitstaff
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Scrummy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Came in after a cold but delightful walk up 'The Shawl', just beginning to rain and were lucky enough to get the seats in the window overlooking the high street towards the square (the tearoom is on the first floor). The staff are friendly and everything immaculately clean. Had delicious hot mocha and hot chocolate (with all the trimmings) drinks along with a wonderfully warmed through chocolate nut brownie - perfect, crisp crust and gooey inside. Plenty of choice of cakes, soups, lunches etc. Not expensive either. Left warmed in heart and body.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adrian6D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    32
    9
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
160 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Best chocolate cake , bar none!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Consistently excellent food and tea/coffee etc. the sandwiches offered always come with a slice of fresh fruit , salad and crisps . Cakes ( best ever !! NO exaggeration!) arrive accompanied by fresh strawberries etc . This place is an absolute gem . Staff are excellent , just go , you won't regret it ! Shop itself is pretty smart too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CAMERON S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberford, Leeds
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Serendipitous visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Hadn't done any prior research before stopping in Leyburn for lunch so it was pot luck.
We had a nicely presented toasted sandwich and panini.
Unfortunately we were both too full to sample the cakes which were just being delivered and looked delicious.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank aberwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

I've been coming on holiday to the area over the last 7 years. A friend who owns a holiday home nearby recommended Serendipity as the place to go for tea, coffee, cakes and light snacks and I have never been disappointed. The toasties with a twist have always been really well prepared and tasty. We paid our first visit in a couple of years this week and were pleased that it was business as usual. Love it.

The cafe is on the first floor of the shop, so access for the less mobile will be a little awkward.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsSmith2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Drop in Standard”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Have eaten here many times over the last 5 years, always enjoyed it and always recommended it.
The last 2 visits have been somewhat disappointing and extremely disappointing. A very dry warmed up artificial tasting chocolate brownie was followed by probably the worst toasted teacake i've ever eaten, tiny, tasteless and rock hard. The teacake was accompanied with a pat of spreadable butter/ vegetable oil. When i asked if they had any proper butter a frosty tall blond lady said it was proper butter but eventually replaced it with a pot of Lurpack spreadable, equally as revolting as the first offering. I'm quite sure a tea room of this quality should and will know the difference between butter and a spread or i would certainly hope so. Come on Serendipity don't let the standard drop!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank theoldtownhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Serendipity Cafe also viewed

Leyburn, North Yorkshire
 
Leyburn, North Yorkshire
Leyburn, North Yorkshire
 
Leyburn, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Serendipity Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing