We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a find”

The Saddle Room Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 33 Restaurants in Leyburn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$45
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A truly unique dining experience, with sumptuous food, handpicked wine from our award winning cellar and a relaxing atmosphere. Our unique selling point is twofold. Firstly to have a unique dining experience where customers can go and choose their own wine from our amazing cellar which will have over 100 wines. Our second unique selling point is to have local produce and food that is seasonal.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a find”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We decided to try out this restaurant at short notice after reading a review in a local paper. The staff were helpful and attentive. The atmosphere was warm and welcoming, the food was reasonably priced and of an excellent standard. I had the sea bream fillet and it was cooked to perfection and absolutely delightful, one of the best fish dishes I have ever eaten in a restaurant. My wife had a lamb shank and that was delicious too. The deserts were fantastic and full of texture and powerful complimentary flavours. There were all sorts of little touches that added together to make the experience memorable and definitely repeatable. We will be back very soon.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leom76, Partner Manager at The Saddle Room Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Many many thanks for taking the time to complete a review online.

All the staff are really pleased you enjoyed the meal and I look forward to seeing you again soon.


Many Thanks

Leo & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    60
    14
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Birthday meal”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Visited Saturday night .pre booked table when entering restaurant waitress just said go to bar somebody will sort you out ! Gentleman at bar asked if we had booked asked our name and showed us to table brought over menu and took our drinks order.. Ordered food from small but well thought out menu .for mains we had cod fillet and duck breast. All three courses were excellent very well presented nice sized portions . Waiter and waitress that looked after us very good. However after getting our wine glasses topped up twice the third time I had to do it myself,reason party of 18 sat down so the focus was on looking after them.
Paid bill which was very good for what we had. disappointing that nobody showed us out or wished us good night . They just need to brush up on customer service and add a bit more more personal touch .
However thoroughly enjoyable evening and will definitely go back

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dales113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leom76, Gm/Partner at The Saddle Room Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review for The Saddle Room.

So pleased you enjoyed your meal and had good sized portions

I remember your table and yes we were caught off guard with a last-minute table We are a new business and constantly learning .... In all honesty I do remember seeing you leave as I was serving wine to the table and once I had finished I did try and make contact but you had gone.

Thanks Again


Leo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“First trip to the Saddle Room”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Spent a pleasant lunchtime here last month. Food was good but the restaurant lacked atmosphere. This could be due to it being lunchtime or it could be that it has only recently opened. The staff were friendly but perhaps needed a little more training as the menu was not fully explained and the coffee order was delivered incorrectly. However, we will return for dinner and see what happens.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank itguitar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leom76, Partner/GM at The Saddle Room Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Hi and many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Please do come back and see us... Yes we are a new business and starting to build trade today we had over 20 in for lunch always a challenge for any new restaurant. ... I imagine that as we were only in our second month at the time this was the reason.

Funny enough we did our first staff training session the other week and covered some of these aspects to which we have committed a regular training schedule for all the staff. The restaurant trade has quite a transient amount of staff and we are really trying to find the correct team to lead us forward ....


Many Thanks

Leo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedale
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

went their for my husbands birthday, what a delight, lovely place and food was amazing the place is done out lovely lots to look at and see its so clever the seating with the saddles and even the ice buckets for the wine looking like watering buckets for horses, would highly recommend a visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank carolesamberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leom76, Owner/GM at The Saddle Room Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review on TA.

Myself and the team are so happy that you enjoyed the Restaurant and the décor

We look forward in seeing you again.


Many Thanks


Leo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Exceptional......”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We dined here with friends on a Tuesday evening. There were enough people dining to make the atmosphere in the wonderfully renovated building. Every aspect of the dining room has been given a good deal of thought and the results are delightful. The staff are friendly and very efficient, the menu is well thought out making it difficult to make a final choice. The food arrived and did not disappoint it was well presented and delightful in every respect, each of the three courses special in its own way. I look forward to our next visit in the very near future!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Middleagedcouple25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leom76, Partner/GM at The Saddle Room Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thanks ever so much for coming to visit The Saddle Room Restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you again


Leo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Saddle Room Restaurant also viewed

 
Leyburn, North Yorkshire
Leyburn, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Saddle Room Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing