We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bitterly disappointed...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Saddle Room Restaurant

The Saddle Room Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 32 Restaurants in Leyburn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$44
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A truly unique dining experience, with sumptuous food, handpicked wine from our award winning cellar and a relaxing atmosphere. Our unique selling point is twofold. Firstly to have a unique dining experience where customers can go and choose their own wine from our amazing cellar which will have over 100 wines. Our second unique selling point is to have local produce and food that is seasonal.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bitterly disappointed...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

After weeks of hearing good reviews, we decided to finally give it a go. We were both very much looking forward to having a really lovely night out.
Last night we were dropped off by our taxi and told which door to enter - walked in and nobody was there… we went to the bar and stood there for a good 10 minutes, the staff could see we were stood waiting for drinks however nobody came across. I then spotted a reception area and went and stood there until someone finally came over, I explained we had booked a table for 8:30 (we arrived a bit earlier (7:50) so we could have a drink at the bar before our meal). I was then told that the gas had gone off (fair enough) however then they said they were not serving any more food and that basically we were going to have to go elsewhere… Considering there was no signal also made it difficult to call up the taxi to come and get us, and to be fair at this point I noticed a missed call from the Saddle Rooms at 8pm however it was a bit too late…
After trying to get signal, I walked back in and we were then offered a free meal, we then thought we might as well stay as we couldn't go anywhere else as it was late and especially on a saturday night it would be hard to get a taxi, let alone get a meal anywhere else. We didn't really have any other options..
The lady who took us to our table (which was massive, a table which would normally sit about 6/8…) and gave us the menus was very pleasant, and got a chef out to explain the menu to us and what we could have and what we couldn't due to the gas going off…
We then waited…and waited…and it was 8:30 by now, hadn't been offered any drinks let alone a drinks menu. We constantly had to ask for things such as the wine menu (twice) before it finally arrived, after our starters… I even had to ask again for the bottle of wine we ordered…and if I'm honest it wasn't even that busy…
The food was good, I understand it wasn't their fault that the gas had gone off and they did very well with what they had. The main course of Belly Pork was very nice, would defiantly recommend it.
After our meal, we sat and finished our wine whilst waiting for our taxi - I then uncrossed my legs to realise there was chewing gum stuck to my tights…this was disgusting. Obviously somebody had stuck it to the underside of the table… it was almost a fitting end to a very disappointing evening.
All in all, the food was fine, it was a shame the gas was off, but the service was just terrible. We appreciated the kind gesture of the free meal, but even so the whole experience was a nightmare. Last night was meant to be a treat, not something we do on a regular basis, so we were just thoroughly disappointed.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HFJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leom76, Partner Manager at The Saddle Room Restaurant, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Mrs F

Many thanks.. Rather than putting a large response on here I feel that following our conversation we have managed to respond to you directly as a business on this matter and resolved this issue.

Our offer still stands for you and your partner.

I was more disgusted that a customer to our establishment actually put the gum there in the first place ALL tables were overturned immediately and some was found on one of the tables hidden in a corner.

A situation beyond our control caused the failure on Saturday night we responded as best we could under immense pressure and most were really happy ... Unfortunately chance dealt us a card with your table and your arrival was in the middle of this.

Our apologies you didn't enjoy your meal and we hope to see you again.


Leo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    54
    13
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“A Little Gem.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

On Saturday night, my husband and myself, had another fantastic meal at The Saddle Rooms.
This makes six times that we have visited. We have had breakfast, lunch, a mid week quite dinner for two, a Saturday dinner for two, a Saturday dinner with friends, and the top of the bill , 'The Chefs Table' with all our family.
The staff are very polite, friendly and professional. Tom and his staff in the 'chefs office', make the look and the taste of the food unbelievable. Nothing seems too much trouble. The look of the place is unique and 'The Cellar' is a must to see, especially with Leo as your guide.
We visit The Dales every weekend, and there are some really great places to eat in the whole area, but you will find it hard to better this place.
WHAT A LITTLE GEM !!!!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leom76, Partner/GM at The Saddle Room Restaurant, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Amazing review and thanks so much for taking the time .... We look forward to seeing you soon...

Leo and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Super Lunch spot for local walks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

We called into this pub/restaurant while walking in the area to be very pleasantly surprised to find superb quality throughout the property and facilities, as well as fine drinks and nibbles.
The barman (manager)? was very courteous and helpful which will bring us here for a return visit when we return to Middleham.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leom76, manager/Partner at The Saddle Room Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 March 2015
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review and yes great place for walkers and people exploring the area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We had read rave reviews so were excited to try this new restaurant. We arrived for a late Sunday lunch, 10 of us, but unfortuantely from the moment we sat down we felt like we were invisible. We had to ask for some drinks after waiting a while, then for some menus, then for some bread and for someone to take our order....we had kids with us and they were becoming v impatient. When it arrived the food was good, although they had run out of pork which was a shame when there were only 2 roasts on the menu. When we needed our drinks replenishing, again, we waited and in the end went to the bar ourselves. I know we were the last shift on a Sunday, but surely all customers deserve the same experience!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Polly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leom76, GM/Partner at The Saddle Room Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Many thanks for your comments really appreciate them

We have launched an investigation into this as you are right every customer deserves consistency.

Leo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Evening menu better than Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Evening menu and food excellent. Wonderfully furnished, excellent for horse racing lovers. Went one evening last week and even though quiet, because of the way the seating is done you don't realise the place was empty (we went late and mid week).
Lunch on a Sunday - main course was too big, beef was fatty and chewy, rest was ok ish.
Lots of different things to see whilst sat waiting to be served. Took a while to get drinks and meal ordered but when did arrived quickly. Very, very clean and immaculate.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pamela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leom76, Partner/Manager at The Saddle Room Restaurant, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Many thanks for your comments and taking the time to do a review.

Generally since we have been open we have been busy most evenings so not sure when you came .

Having a complaint that the main course was too big really is a good complaint following other comments when we first opened..

We have not change the Sunday roast since we had a top food critique from the Yorkshire post publish " Sunday roast dinner was textbook".

Once again thanks for taking the time.


Leo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Saddle Room Restaurant also viewed

 
Leyburn, North Yorkshire
Leyburn, North Yorkshire
 
Leyburn, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Saddle Room Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing