We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yorkshire Anniversary Trip 2014”
Review of Sandpiper Inn

Sandpiper Inn
Ranked #7 of 34 Restaurants in Leyburn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$59
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
344 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
“Yorkshire Anniversary Trip 2014”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Our fourth visit to this establishment which has become a favorite of ours over the last couple of years, although not one of the cheapest places to eat the standard of cooking here is well worth the the extra you pay. We decided to have a two course lunch of Pressed dales lamb with dauphinoise potato, summer vegetables with redcurrant and mint sauce. My wife finished sticky toffee pudding with butterscotch sauce and apple ice cream, while I chose summer pudding with clotted cream. The flavour of all the dishes were second to none and cooked to perfection and will be coming again when we are North Yorkshire.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    119
    37
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Service and food need work”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Arrived on a busy Friday night and waited an age to be served at the bar... When she did come she didn't apologies and had a scowl on her face .... Not as it should have been with a welcoming smile. The wine I had was corked and the lady did change it but there seemed to be a issue with this. We went thru for the dinner and we had soufflé for starter which was 10/10 but then the main course came and I had ordered steak which I specifically asked for it to be RARE well it was well done so they took it back ... There was no real apology just a swift "we will sort it" when it came back again they had used the same plate but put another steak on there that was Medium.... By this point I just kept quiet as It could have been seen that I was a moaner and also the restaurant was cramped and people were listening so felt a little embarresed.

Paid and left

With a little more customer care and a little more attention to detail it would have been a really good evening as the building itself is lovely.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Calmriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyburn
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Great menu, no problem choosing something even for me on a low fat diet. Went with family and everyone enjoyed their meal, four very clean plates vouched for that!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Look before you leap”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Based on Trip Advisor we booked for Sunday Lunch having driven some 280 miles the previous day for a holiday in "good value Yorkshire". How disappointing to learn that because they had been busy a week ago they were not offering a set Sunday Lunch. The menu offered nothing out of the ordinary and seemed over-priced so we had a snack to go with our already ordered drinks and left. The staff were apologetic and I got the impression that we were not the first folk to be disappointed. Won't go back. Not when they are plenty of places up the road that offer good vibes to go with a good value yorkshire deal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank walkerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
364 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Decent Lunch on a busy day”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Visited Leyburn on a busy Saturday and really liked the look of this place. It was busy but staff were friendly and we found a seat outside. Just ordered a few drinks and light lunch of Sausage and Mash, as well as a Haddock Omelette.

There was nothing wrong with the food but for the price it was distinctly average.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aniceglassofred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sandpiper Inn also viewed

Leyburn, North Yorkshire
 
Leyburn, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Sandpiper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing