We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value, Friendly Inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wheatsheaf Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Wheatsheaf Inn
Ranked #11 of 22 Ingleton B&B and Inns
Manchester England
Level Contributor
113 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Good Value, Friendly Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

Two couples in our 60s spent five days mid week. We found the wheatsheaf extremely good value. The manager Matthew and assistant manager Alice were both friendly, helpful and had great personalities as were the rest of the staff.
This is an old building and needs upgrading but you can`t do things overnight, a start has been made and you can see a difference. The bedrooms were spotless with a good sized bathroom and very comfortable beds (a good night guaranteed). The stairs and landing carpets are showing some discoloration, this is due to the area being mainly a walkers area which means lots of muddy boots.
The food we had was of a good standard with a reasonable choice, the portions are large but if you have been on the hills all day you will clear the plate.
Ingleton is a good centre for touring the area with many small villages, country pubs and great places to eat all at a reasonable price. We are looking forward to re-visiting the area and we shall certainly stay at the Wheatsheaf again (if they will have us).

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterM3039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CooperUK, Owner at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
Hi

Thanks for your reivew and i'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We all hope that you will visit this neck of the woods again when on holiday and look forward to that potential future stay.

Thanks
Mat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    70
    21
    12
    13
See reviews for
27
82
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

tell all your friends to come here. i have never been welcomed by such amazing people. the food is excellent and well worth the 50 miles i drove to it. if it was 100 miles i would have still come.you'll be seeing me again. James G

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CooperUK, Owner at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
HI

Thanks for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again. Thanks once again for your support and custom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Recommended. Great value for money. Excellent food with massive portions.
Mat and his team go out of their way to make you feel welcome.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pkmax2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CooperUK, Owner at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Hi
Thanks for your review. We are glad you had a nice time and look forward to seeing you again soon
Thanks
mat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Just read a few negative reviews of this pub / B&B. That's a shame. We received a very warm welcome here - our first stay. We thought it provided very good value for money. We had a nice big room (for our family of 5) and great meals. The meals were enormous and we benefitted from some half price meals during happy hour. It is an old building, and it could benefit from updating but it has a lot going for it - very friendly staff, a nice bar and large dining room, beer garden, large carpark, and great setting in the village. Recommended.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Saureus_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CooperUK, Owner at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Hi
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the meals you had. Despite our hard work and level of service we provide we still can't please everyone and people would rather put it on review sites than speak to us about any issues they have so they can be resolved. This is the British Way of life i think. Anyway your review will help show people that bad reviews are a one off and the serviec and welcome they get is always friendly
Thanks
Mat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Just stayed at the Wheatsheaf in Ingleton, where we were made very welcome, had lovely room overlooking the pub garden. Food was really good, in fact the starters were so large we struggled to finish our main courses ! Anyway have booked again to stay during the Folk weekend later in October. Full marks to staff who were friendly and helpful and seemed genuinely interested in us.

Ingleton is a quaint little village with the superb Ingleton Waterfall trail to follow, only 4.5 miles but lots of steps, worth it though. Check at the start if halfway cafe is open to save disappointment.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pensionerpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CooperUK, Owner at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Hi

Thanks for your review and comments. it is nice when we get this sort of feedback as our work to provide a quality level of service is obviously paying off. We look forward to seeing you in October when you will get to experience folk weekend.
Thanks
mat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Always a warm welcome from the hosts, Mat, Alex and Alice plus the always pleasant and helpful dining staff.
My 6th visit in a couple of years with friends, wife, family or on my own.
Excellent evening meals, all cooked individually, which makes this place very relaxing to stay.
A variety of rooms available at an excellent B&B rate with some stunning countryside just down the road, the route to Hawes has got to be one of the most stunning routes any where in the UK.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3Friends28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CooperUK, Owner at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Thanks for your review once again....it is very useful to show people the work we are doing to improve standards and quality of servie every day and to win repeat custom is proof something is working.
Thanks
Mat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

A little bit late but spent the long weekend at the Wheatsheaf for the Ingleton Folk Festival 2011, it was a fantastic place to stay Mat, Alex, Alice and Dan were fantastic hosts the food was always good, the beer was even better, THE RUM WAS THE BEST. Our friends from London came up and said it was well worth the 4 hour drive up. New Year was yet again fantastic 2nd year their so that tells you something about the standard of service, friendliness of Mat and the guys, food was good again service was fantastic staff so heldful, the atmosphere all evening was brilliant, the 1 man rock band good. The room was of a very high standard as it is always. If you want a place to stay with friendly staff, good food, awesome beer and located in a beutiful place close to a lot of beutiful scenery, go THEIR. It is the place to be for Folk Festival and New Year in fact any time of the year.

Room Tip: the four poster room is large and quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigGav68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CooperUK, Owner at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Hi
Thanks for your kind review. I won't remind you how much rum you got through that weekend but the cashflow supported us through our winter trade lol. It was good to see the new year in with such nice people and certainly made for the best new years eve at the Wheatsheaf since we opened it up. Thanks for your support and see you in a few months

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingleton
3.9 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#3 of 4 in Settle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seed Hill Guest House
Seed Hill Guest House
#6 of 22 in Ingleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Thorngarth Country Guest House
9.6 mi away
The Royal Oak
The Royal Oak
#15 of 20 in Settle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Craven Heifer Inn
The Craven Heifer Inn
#15 of 22 in Ingleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wheatsheaf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheatsheaf Inn

Property: The Wheatsheaf Inn
Address: 22 High Street, Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park LA6 3AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Ingleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Ingleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wheatsheaf Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wheatsheaf is steeped in history stretching as far back as the 17th century. This Coaching Inn was extended in the 1800s to include a Blacksmiths shop and stables, now being utilized as the dining room. There is a large beer garden to rear and food is served every day. Black sheep is our main beer on the bar but we do have other guest ones for you to try. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your The Wheatsheaf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wheatsheaf Hotel Ingleton
The Wheatsheaf Inn Ingleton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing