We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Folk festival weekend.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Wheatsheaf Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wheatsheaf Inn
Ranked #10 of 22 Ingleton B&B and Inns
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Folk festival weekend.”
Reviewed 8 October 2012 via mobile

Well spent 3 nights for the Ingleton Folk Fedtival, well where can I start staff and welcome impeccable again, Mat, Alice & Dan awesome as ever, food good again had the man v Wheatsheaf burger, well worth it all. Our usual room again, clean tidy as usual. Fantastic selection of beer and most important Rum. Overall the usual fantastic stay. Look forward to seeing Mat, Alice and Dan at Hogmany.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigGav68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CooperUK, Owner at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review, 20 October 2012
Hi BigGav68

Glad you enjoyed your stay once again... it is always a pleasure to have you stay with us and we always look forward to it.

See you in a few months

Thanks
Mat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    70
    21
    13
    13
See reviews for
27
83
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Apparently "Burgers" are their specialty. We've had far better for less money in many places. Also a so called "African Dish" on the menue turned out to be swill. Don't try something like that in the middle of Yorkshire when you have no idea! Service was very slow and not very friendly.
We are regular visitors to Ingleton (Yorkhire born and bread) but will shall not eat there again!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annerose91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CooperUK, Owner at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review, 20 October 2012
Hi
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review

I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your experience the same way as so many others do. I have passed on your comments to the kitchen team who will certainly look into them and make changes where required. If you could drop me an email matcooper@thewheatsheaf-ingleton.co.uk as i would like to know more about when you visited us and which staff you felt were un-friendly.

We work hard to earn and keep the awards we have got for our business so it is inportant to me to know when our customers aren't getting the standards that we set and train to
Thanks
Mat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Stayed for one night and was served by the Pub's greatest asset- Alice the barmaid who was welcoming and friendly and gave us a twin room at a reasonably discounted rate. Accommodation's clean and tidy but even the staff will admit that an investment in refurbishment is overdue. My main advice would be to get a vacuum cleaner with a long attachment to save any anachrophobes having heart attacks at the spiders on the ceiling!! Didn't bother me but it will save a few bad reviews in future. Had a good steak for evening meal, well cooked but the chef let the side down at breakfast time by serving sausages and black pudding that were pretty foul (and i'm not that fussy!), the rest of the breakfast was fine,(great coffee and toast). Alice was genuinely apologetic and did offer to get us another breakfast. She was serving the breakfasts and was very attentive and helpful to all the guests in the dining room. My tips for the management, Make the most of the great staff that you have - great service and good food will more than make up for accommodation that is not as "boutique" as others. Tell the chef not to use and reheat cheap sausages, it's a false economy, it really is- a great breafast will make any visit memorable. Add that to the exceptional customer service that Alice provides and I would return for sure.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeSiberian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CooperUK, Owner at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Hi
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review.

There are quite a few points in your review which i will take away and discuss with Alice (assistant manager) and a few points i will bring up with the head chef regarding suppler of breakfast stock and method of cooking. Our team is award wining and it is good to hear that such a good job on customer serviec is still been delivered.

We hope we do see y ou again soon and you will be able to see the differences that have developed

Thanks
Mat Cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill on Sea
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Stayed here earlier in the summer with friendes for 24hrs to celebrate my 60th Birthday. Excellent Food. The Staff could not have been more helpful all of which contributed to a memorable time. Thank you Wheatsheaf

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanHWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CooperUK, Owner at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Hi
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review.

it is so nice to hear when people who have come together to meet for a special reason have had such a good time. It all adds to the memory of the occasion and glad we arre part of it.

We hope to see you again soon

Thanks
Mat Cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester u.k.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Found the wheatsheaf on a smaller accommodation website and was happy with the price that we paid for 2 nights bed and breakfast, Having read reviews was happy to stay and not disappointed with breakfast, ate at wheatsheaf at night good food and service was ok didn't wait too long for food considering pub was busy especially friday night. thought that special board could have had a bit more choice, but not a big issue. Our room/bathroom was clean but needs updating and please take carpet out of en-suite not good! agree with comments about landing/stairs carpet but again not a big issue! I work in the hotel trade and know how difficult it is to get owners etc to spend money on rooms maybe laminate bedrooms and use a couple of rugs to make room look cosy easier to keep clean especially if liquids or food is spilt. would come back as location and hotel are good can say enjoyed weekend thanks to all staff!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CooperUK, Owner at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Hi Carol
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your comments int he review. Our landlord spends no money on this building and so is left up to us. We have just completed our first bedroom refurbishment with new carpets, bathroom vinyl, curtains and freshly painted walls. As soon as the next room is free we are ready to go with that one. It is a slow process but we are getting there.

We look forward to seeing you both again soon

Thanks
Mat Cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Although we have never stayed at the Wheatsheaf, we always go in when we stop in Ingleton and find it a really nice place, lovely friendly staff and good basic food at a very reasonable price.Just the kind of food you need after a long day walking.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CooperUK, Owner at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Hi
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review

It is always nice to hear the appreciation from people. I'm glad that you enjoy visiting us and also the village cause with out return custom the village would struggle

i look forward to seeing you again

Thanks
Mat Cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Home Counties, U.K.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012 via mobile

The Wheatsheaf used to be the focal point of the village - a real local with good food & atmosphere to match. Unfortunately it hasn't been upgraded with time & now is a pale shadow of its former self.

It's not expensive but that doesn't excuse the filthy carpets leading to the bedrooms nor the shabby state of my room. The bed linen & towels were clean & the bed comfortable enough. However, the room was so poorly lit I actually took down the lampshade & cleaned off years of filth to improve things. The curtains were so old they were not even hanging properly & the carpets were in need of a proper clean.

Chains like Premier Inn have now set benchmark standards for cleanliness & appearance. As I have family in the village it gives me no pleasure to write disparaging comments but third-rate will simply not do in this day & age. The staff were friendly enough but the brewery have got to get their finger out, spend some money & get thus place into the 21st century.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tex26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CooperUK, Manager at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Hi

Thanks for your review.

I'm upset that you didn't fully enjoy your stop with us and have taken on board your comments regarding the rooms. The Wheatsheaf is a Punch Taverns outlet and i'm constantly battling for investment and help with funding for refurbishments. I have personnaly started refurbing rooms with new carpets, curtains, bathroom floors, and painting throughout. it sounds like from your description that you were in a room yet to be done. I appologise for the inconvinience cause and should you drop me an email info@thewheatsheaf-ingleton.co.uk i'm sure i can discuss the matter further with you and hopefully welcome you back in the near future

Thanks
Mat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingleton
0.8 mi away
Marton Arms Hotel
Marton Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ingleton
273 reviews
3.9 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
489 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seed Hill Guest House
Seed Hill Guest House
#6 of 22 in Ingleton
120 reviews
0.6 mi away
Thorngarth Country Guest House
0.1 mi away
Ingleton Hostel
Ingleton Hostel
#4 of 10 in Ingleton
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wheatsheaf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheatsheaf Inn

Property: The Wheatsheaf Inn
Address: 22 High Street, Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park LA6 3AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Ingleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Ingleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wheatsheaf Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wheatsheaf is steeped in history stretching as far back as the 17th century. This Coaching Inn was extended in the 1800s to include a Blacksmiths shop and stables, now being utilized as the dining room. There is a large beer garden to rear and food is served every day. Black sheep is our main beer on the bar but we do have other guest ones for you to try. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Wheatsheaf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wheatsheaf Hotel Ingleton
The Wheatsheaf Inn Ingleton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing