We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming and comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wheatsheaf Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Wheatsheaf Inn
Ranked #11 of 22 Ingleton B&B and Inns
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Welcoming and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

I stayed here for three nights in March 2013 whilst hiking in the area. On arrival I received a warm welcome and was shown to my room. The room was clean and well presented. Admittedly I had concerns over how quiet the inn would be at night, but you do not hear any noise from the pub downstairs. I slept very well!

I ended up having breakfast and dinner here every day, and the food was faultless. I even tried the 'afterburner' burger, something that I would recommend but only to those with a high tolerance of spicy foods!

The location of the Wheatsheaf Inn was ideal for the places I visited. You are a 5-10 minute walk from the Ingleton to Ingleborough summit trail, and probably even closer to the start of the well known waterfalls trail. I also visited White Scar caves whilst in the area, and this can be reached by car within 10 minutes.

All in all, a pleasant stay. The staff were friendly (as were the locals in the pub), the accommodation was good and the food tasty. If I return to Ingleton I would happily stay here again.

Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CooperUK, Owner at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Hi

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. It's nice to get good feedback that i can pass onto the managment and the rest of the team

Thanks
Mat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    70
    21
    12
    13
See reviews for
27
82
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

Stayed at the Wheatsheaf with some great friends and had a wonderful time. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The Inn has a warm and friendly atmosphere and Matt, Alice and all the other staff cannot do enough for you.
Food is really good with plenty of choice.
I would recommend the Wheatsheaf Inn to anybody and look forward to our next stay.
Thanks guys and see you soon!

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tjane_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CooperUK, Owner at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Hi
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review

it is always nice to get feedback on the service we provide and even nicer to get good feedback like yours showing that all our hard work is paying off.

We look forfard to seeing you again hopefully not so long away
Thanks
mat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Big Gav, Annabel, Phil & Tracey came up to take advantage of Mats BOGOFF deal, what can I say, yet again Mat and Alice came through with yet another awesome weekend of Rugby, Grand Prix and jegermeister. Ate to many of his burgers, but they are good, we had our usual room and it had been re decorated, nice. Thanks Mat and Alice.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigGav68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CooperUK, Owner at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Hi Big Gav
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review

It is alway nice to see you both and nice to see you return each time... you more than others would have noticed the change in the service and rooms over the years.. and its good to get feedback that you give us.

I'm sure it won't be the last time we see you so see you all soon

Thanks
Mat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

This Inn was lovely and warm. Travelled with my husband and Neice. My Neice had a large doublebedded room overlooking the gardens/ It was a lovely sunny room. ours was at the front a twin room which was a smaller size. Both nice and warm and sheets towels etc spotless! This is a old inn with nice features. Good breakfast , good service by a efficent young man. Checked we had everything we needed. I am sorry to say the only thing that I didnt like was the airfreshener coming up the stairs. It was horrible! Sorry Ingleton had to say! Otherwise fab place.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aurara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CooperUK, Owner at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Hi
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review

Thanks for the feedback on the air freshner. We will certainly look into the sents avilable. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you return again to enjoy our pub and beautiful village

Thanks
Mat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

Great food at the wheatsheaf and the atmosphere there is excellent the staff were very pleasant and spent time talking to you overall a very homely and friendly place to go for a drink or something to eat great homecooked food well worth a visit

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tommy5242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CooperUK, Owner at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Hi
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review

We are so happy that you enjoyed your visit to us and had a lovely meal. We work hard to get our service and standards right and so it's alway nice to hear reviews that reflect it

We look forward to seeing you again
Thanks
Mat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DONCASTER
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

We spent a week at THE FALLS COTTAGE at new year. Each night we ate at the WHEATSHEAF INN. We were made so welcome we never thought about going any where else. The staff were brilliant,the food was great and they made our dog Cooper welcome . They had a lovely log fire which was great after getting soaked each day, and they even had ELVIS for NEW YEARS EVE. Highly recommended. jean fred and cooper the dog Doncaster

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JEANDONCASTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CooperUK, Owner at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Hi
Thanks for you review

Glad you enjoyed your stay in ingleton and your many visits to us. It is always good to hear our hard work paying off and making peoples stay memorable.
We hope to see you again soon when you visit ingleton

Thanks
Mat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire uk
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

my youngest daughter was 18 this weekend.we booked a family weekend at pinecroft near ingleton and on saturday we enjoyed a beautiful if slippy walk around ingletons waterfalls.to end our walk we called in nthe wheatsheaf.brilliant decision,it was quite busy but we were immediately made to feel at ease by the brilliant young lady behind the bar.the beer was well kept and the service was outstanding.the young lady in question coped brilliantly with a busy bar making us feel at ease and greatly enhancing our enjoyment of our day.i have to say that when this bar person went off for a well earned break {end of shift ?] the 2 peoploe who replaced her have a long way to go to offer the same standard of service..thanki you to all at the wheatsheaf for contributing to our fantastic weekend in the dales.geoff margaret and family

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geoff g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CooperUK, Owner at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review, 6 December 2012
Hi
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review

We are all so glad you enjoyed yourself whilst here and especially on such a special date.

We hope that when you return to ingleton you visit us again.
Thanks
Mat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingleton
0.8 mi away
Marton Arms Hotel
Marton Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ingleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
3.9 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seed Hill Guest House
Seed Hill Guest House
#6 of 22 in Ingleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.5 mi away
Thorngarth Country Guest House
0.1 mi away
Ingleton Hostel
Ingleton Hostel
#4 of 10 in Ingleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wheatsheaf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheatsheaf Inn

Property: The Wheatsheaf Inn
Address: 22 High Street, Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park LA6 3AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Ingleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Ingleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wheatsheaf Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wheatsheaf is steeped in history stretching as far back as the 17th century. This Coaching Inn was extended in the 1800s to include a Blacksmiths shop and stables, now being utilized as the dining room. There is a large beer garden to rear and food is served every day. Black sheep is our main beer on the bar but we do have other guest ones for you to try. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your The Wheatsheaf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wheatsheaf Hotel Ingleton
The Wheatsheaf Inn Ingleton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing