We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make sure you're not in the room above the bar!”
Review of The Wheatsheaf Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Wheatsheaf Inn
Ranked #10 of 22 Ingleton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Make sure you're not in the room above the bar!”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Only stayed for one night whilst I was doing the Three Peaks challenge and got the last room available, unfortunately it was above the bar! The place on the whole was fine, rooms were clean and the staff were very friendly but unfortunately it was quite loud until after 12 midnight......luckily the great breakfast made us feel much better.

Room Tip: Make sure you're not in the room above the bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank talula27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CooperUK, Owner at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Hi
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review

Through our season we are a lot busier and the downstairs does fill up till quite late. We have strict serving times to take into account our residents and the noise must have been the customers as they were drinking up.

next time you stay please ask for a room to the rear or not above the bar.

Thanks
Mat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    71
    22
    14
    13
See reviews for
27
88
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Stayed in Ingleton last week, 24/8 2013 - 31/8/2013, visited this pub once, ordered two meals, calves liver , potatoes and onions and steak pie. when delivered was told it was lambs liver. in all fairness the steak pie was very nice, the liver was like shoe leather. The things against this pub is the poor selection of beer, the general scruffy and dirty state of the place, the prvading stink of dogs and once you are anywhere near the toilets the awefukl stench of urine. The toilets smelled like a down town urinal. Not a place I will ever visit again.
The sign outside says muddy boots and dogs welcome, that says it all to me who had a shower and dressed in decent clothes to go out for the evening, two drinks and a meal and we left, good decision I thought.

Room Tip: .Can't help I would never stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff-Audrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CooperUK, Owner at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Hi
Having read your other reviews with business in the village this does sound like a bit of a suspicious one.

However thanks for taking the time to leave us your opinion.

your comment regarding the standard of our lambs liver as listed on our menu (not calves liver) has been fed back to our head chef for further investigation.
Obviously we can not cater for all tasts of beers so try to ensure that the 4 we do have on range in tasts, aroma and colour..so that way there is a little something for everyone.
I'm not sure why the toilets smelt bad and thank you for your feedback... a word to a member of staff at the time may have help us pin point any potential problem. Ingleton is a walking village and that is the pub we are.. we love it that we can welcome tourists of the hills with a nice well desserved pint and who are we to shut the door on them just because they have a dog. Sadly the smell of a dog is beyond our control.

We hope thatyou return to ingleton again as i believe you have indicated on other reviews left and maybe next time your in The Wheatsheaf you could ask for myself or Alice so we can explore your review further
Thanks
Mat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londra, Regno Unito
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I went there for a romantic weekend with my boyfriend. The rooms are on top of the pub but they are really quite ans the pub doesn't stay open until late anyway. The room was large and had a large en suite too. I was not impressed with the toilet as it was dirty, but all the rest was fine. There was a nice choice for cooked breakfast (which was included and it was nice) and the staff was happy to help with information whenever asked. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurasuper79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CooperUK, Owner at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Hi
Thanks for leaving us a review

we have taken on your feedback and dealt with it.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon

Thanks
mat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We had a night away to celebrate my birthday, yet again Mat, Alice came out on top, food, drink and room still at the top. The presentation of the menu's had changed, looks really good, clean not to long. Burgers where still on, always a good buy, homemade. Beer always good, Hobgoblin on the best. Thanks guys.

Room Tip: Always book the four poster room loads of character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigGav68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CooperUK, Owner at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Hi
Thanks for taking the time to leaev us a review

It is always good to see regular custoemrs returning and enjoying themselves each time..

we look forward to seeing you again soon

Thanks
Mat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

My husband and I travelled to Ingleton for our anniversary on the 4th of August for three nights. We stayed at the Wheatsheaf. Our room was very spacious with a four poster bed and very comfortable. I asked for extra pillows which was no problem at all and extra milk, which wasn't,t a problem either. All the staff were very nice and chatty and made you feel welcome. We ate there every night and really enjoyed the food and the breakfasts set you up for the day. It has a large beer garden, which is lovely on a summers day. We met some nice locals at the bar, who were very friendly, John and Darren who gave us lots of information on the area and tips. All in all a very nice stay.

Room Tip: Four poster room very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaz1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CooperUK, Owner at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Hi
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review

we are glad you enjoyed your stay and i will pass on your kind words to the team

We hope to see you again in the near future

Thanks
Mat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed just one night enroute to the Lake District. A lovely place, charming staff and great food. Our room was basic but spacious and clean and with a four poster bed which made it just that bit different. Worth a visit to the waterfall, a good walk but take your boots as it can be a bit tricky in parts! Lovely area.

Room Tip: just ask the staff they will help
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CooperUK, Owner at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Hi
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review

We are glad you enjoyed your visit to us and ingleton and hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future

Thanks
Mat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

My new husband and I travelled to Ingleton on the 23rd July for 2 nights at The Wheatsheaf.

We were greeted by a girl named Alice who couldn't have been any more friendly and helpful.
We dined at the Wheatsheaf for our first night and the food was brought out to us very promptly and was lovely. The beer garden is massive and has plenty of seats in it.

We stayed in the four poster room which was very clean and spacious although we thought it could do with a little bit of updating. The noise from outside in the street was pretty loud at times in the morning but it was no problem really as we were up early to do the Waterfall Walk.

The staff were relatively friendly, it was a little difficult to get a smile and a conversation out of some of them except for Alice. That girl couldn't for enough for us, didn't have to ask at the bar, she knew straight away what we would want. She also let us watch the footy before the pub opened which made my husband's day!

The Waterfall Walk was amazing, very pretty and not too busy either so we could go at our own pace. The ice-cream van halfway round was a God send. Very hot day and he was a sight for sore eyes!

There is a pub just around the corner from The Wheatsheaf called the Three Horseshoes which has a lovely beer garden at the back and a greater variety of lagers than the Wheatsheaf.

I would most definately recommend the steak from La Tavernetta just down the street from The Wheatsheaf. I have never had steak like it, beautiful!

Would definately return!

Room Tip: Four poster room is massive
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krank85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CooperUK, Owner at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Hi
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review

We are glad you enjoyed your visit and we thank you for your constructive feedback.. We hope that you return to us and experience all the joys of the wheatsheaf and ingleton

Thanks
mat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingleton
0.8 mi away
Marton Arms Hotel
Marton Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ingleton
280 reviews
3.9 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
525 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seed Hill Guest House
Seed Hill Guest House
#6 of 22 in Ingleton
124 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Craven Heifer Inn
The Craven Heifer Inn
#19 of 22 in Ingleton
52 reviews
0.5 mi away
Masons Freehouse
Masons Freehouse
#16 of 22 in Ingleton
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wheatsheaf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheatsheaf Inn

Property: The Wheatsheaf Inn
Address: 22 High Street, Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park LA6 3AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Ingleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Ingleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wheatsheaf Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wheatsheaf is steeped in history stretching as far back as the 17th century. This Coaching Inn was extended in the 1800s to include a Blacksmiths shop and stables, now being utilized as the dining room. There is a large beer garden to rear and food is served every day. Black sheep is our main beer on the bar but we do have other guest ones for you to try. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Wheatsheaf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wheatsheaf Hotel Ingleton
The Wheatsheaf Inn Ingleton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing