We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Wheatsheaf Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ingleton Hostel(Ingleton)
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveller rating
89
85
28
18
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
89
85
28
18
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubmusic festivalbeer gardenfour poster bedlick of paintate heretwin roomfew drinksnice roomfish and chipslovely foodan overnight stayan evening mealgreat place to staywaterfall walkfamily roomlovely weekend
Filter
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 236 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We totally enjoyed our two night stay at The Wheatsheaf from start to finish.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the young woman who checked us in made us feel very welcome indeed. Our room, which overlooked the large beer garden, was light and airy and well stocked with tea, coffee, biscuits and toiletries.

The hotel part of the pub is very homely and totally unpretentious. As keen walkers we liked the fact that muddy boots were welcomed! So although the décor isn't exactly five star, it felt very relaxing for us not to have to stand on ceremony and our room was very clean and very comfortable indeed. We both enjoyed two very restful nights' sleep!

We ate in the pub restaurant for both nights of our stay and we thought the food was wonderful on both occasions. We also had a light lunch in the pub on one of the days and this too was very good indeed. Breakfast was of an equally high standard and the service we received throughout was top notch.

In short, we had a really great time at The Wheatsheaf Inn and wouldn't hesitate to return. In fact, I'm already looking forward to it!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PollyPix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CooperUK, Owner at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Hi
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review

We are really happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us. We love the amount of walkers we get in the area and i think muddy boots is a must...

We look forward to seeing you again soon

Thanks
Mat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Only stayed for one night whilst I was doing the Three Peaks challenge and got the last room available, unfortunately it was above the bar! The place on the whole was fine, rooms were clean and the staff were very friendly but unfortunately it was quite loud until after 12 midnight......luckily the great breakfast made us feel much better.

Room Tip: Make sure you're not in the room above the bar!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank talula27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CooperUK, Owner at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Hi
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review

Through our season we are a lot busier and the downstairs does fill up till quite late. We have strict serving times to take into account our residents and the noise must have been the customers as they were drinking up.

next time you stay please ask for a room to the rear or not above the bar.

Thanks
Mat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Stayed in Ingleton last week, 24/8 2013 - 31/8/2013, visited this pub once, ordered two meals, calves liver , potatoes and onions and steak pie. when delivered was told it was lambs liver. in all fairness the steak pie was very nice, the liver was like shoe leather. The things against this pub is the poor selection of beer, the general scruffy and dirty state of the place, the prvading stink of dogs and once you are anywhere near the toilets the awefukl stench of urine. The toilets smelled like a down town urinal. Not a place I will ever visit again.
The sign outside says muddy boots and dogs welcome, that says it all to me who had a shower and dressed in decent clothes to go out for the evening, two drinks and a meal and we left, good decision I thought.

Room Tip: .Can't help I would never stay there.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff-Audrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CooperUK, Owner at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Hi
Having read your other reviews with business in the village this does sound like a bit of a suspicious one.

However thanks for taking the time to leave us your opinion.

your comment regarding the standard of our lambs liver as listed on our menu (not calves liver) has been fed back to our head chef for further investigation.
Obviously we can not cater for all tasts of beers so try to ensure that the 4 we do have on range in tasts, aroma and colour..so that way there is a little something for everyone.
I'm not sure why the toilets smelt bad and thank you for your feedback... a word to a member of staff at the time may have help us pin point any potential problem. Ingleton is a walking village and that is the pub we are.. we love it that we can welcome tourists of the hills with a nice well desserved pint and who are we to shut the door on them just because they have a dog. Sadly the smell of a dog is beyond our control.

We hope thatyou return to ingleton again as i believe you have indicated on other reviews left and maybe next time your in The Wheatsheaf you could ask for myself or Alice so we can explore your review further
Thanks
Mat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I went there for a romantic weekend with my boyfriend. The rooms are on top of the pub but they are really quite ans the pub doesn't stay open until late anyway. The room was large and had a large en suite too. I was not impressed with the toilet as it was dirty, but all the rest was fine. There was a nice choice for cooked breakfast (which was included and it was nice) and the staff was happy to help with information whenever asked. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurasuper79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CooperUK, Owner at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Hi
Thanks for leaving us a review

we have taken on your feedback and dealt with it.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon

Thanks
mat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We had a night away to celebrate my birthday, yet again Mat, Alice came out on top, food, drink and room still at the top. The presentation of the menu's had changed, looks really good, clean not to long. Burgers where still on, always a good buy, homemade. Beer always good, Hobgoblin on the best. Thanks guys.

Room Tip: Always book the four poster room loads of character.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigGav68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CooperUK, Owner at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Hi
Thanks for taking the time to leaev us a review

It is always good to see regular custoemrs returning and enjoying themselves each time..

we look forward to seeing you again soon

Thanks
Mat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews