We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two disadvantages, at least, of staying at Ribblehead” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Station Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ingleton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Station Inn
Ranked #10 of 22 Ingleton B&B and Inns
Haywards Heath, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Two disadvantages, at least, of staying at Ribblehead”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

You don't have to be a train buff to stay at the Station Inn and take the opportunity to see close up the magnificent feat of Victorian engineering that is Ribblehead Viaduct, but if you are walking the Dales Way there are certainly two disadvantages, at least, of a decision to stay here - the first being the extra mile to get here from the path, and the second being the need to walk the same mile back to the path the next morning. For the non-purists, however, there is the potential option of cutting off the corner climb over a boggy moor and the road walk to Dent by catching the 10.07 train from Ribblehead (directly opposite the pub) to Dent Station (not Dent!!) and rejoining the path alongside the River Dee at Lea Yeat.

The Station Inn itself is not the most sophisticated hostelry, the staff not overly customer friendly, the decor certainly more shabby than chic, and is best generously described as a walkers' and bikers' pub with a boisterous atmosphere, particularly around the pool table. Having said all that, my comfortable en suite room offered a queen size double and shower, and my bacon and brie ciabatta was very tasty.

On balance and being a train buff, I would recommend staying here. The Station Inn provides a lively, even convivial atmosphere that is a good antidote to lone walking, and the viaduct itself presents an early, welcoming target that comes into view as soon as you attain the Pennine Way ridge from Cam Houses.

In addition to the small number of rooms in the inn itself, there is also a bunk barn next to the pub, but in whichever accommodation you stay, if you are sleeping in the front rooms you are likely to be disturbed fairly regularly throughout the night by the noise of vehicles going over the cattle grid on the busy road directly outside your window.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank merrellj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    82
    49
    28
    45
See reviews for
33
95
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

I am seasoned walker. After a hardy day walk on the hills I decided to head way to the station inn where I had booked a room.

Upon arrival I was greeted by the two headed dragon who snarled at me with very few black teeth. I decided to make my way up the stairs to get rid of my bags. Half way up I noticed my feet felt heavy, as they stuck to the carpet. Further along the landings i found my room. As I threw my bag on the bed it would have flew out the window if they had not ceased closed as the queen bed booked was in fact a water bed. I went back to the 2 headed dragon to request a room change which I got. Upon arrival to my new queen room it was apparent that the queen bed was the only thing able to fit into the room.

After showering and heading down stairs to the bistro I noticed out e corner of my eye in the kitchen a black dog scratching its nuts and a fat greasy looking chef sweating like a pan of chips over the salad.

The noise of the trucks going over the cattle grid thru the night was like being woken by a machine gun at regular intervals during the night.

The positives about the station inn was seeing the smoke of my wheels in the rear view mirror as i sped off .

Room Tip: Loo with a view
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
14 Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ingleton hotels

Troon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Night stopped here recently on the Dalesway Walk The room was dark green, not very inviting ,made worse by two of the five light bulbs missing. No chairs, bedside table or lamp although the en-suite looked recent and the shower good. Wardrobe had a few very flimsy child sized coat hangers
Orders were taken, twice, for the following days' pack lunch. Mine was supposed to be ham, salad and a dressing on ciabatta What I got was a dry, empty baguette neatly wrapped in cling film
The evening meal, hunters chicken, was good
Directions given the next day to cut the corner over Blea Moor were inaccurate , fortunately there was the line of the railway tunnel vent shafts to navigate by

Room Tip: This hotel is out in the sticks, there isn't much choice. Try the bunk house
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

The food and beer at the Station are excellent. However, what used to be a large room for drinkers with views to the moors on three sides has been ruined.

The room is jammed with dining tables and huge, highbacked black chairs with soggy upholstery covered in plastic.

This is a country pub frequented by walker, cavers, bikers and trainspotters, not a place for fine dining.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TFEcclescake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

I've been a regular visitor at The Station Inn for a number of years, usually a pit stop for a well earned feed and a bit of chill time after a good day on the hills.
This weekend was the first visit of this year - what a change! The reception was warm, the staff couldn't be more helpful. After a very wet day out we were welcomed in, mud included. Even the dog was hosed down with warm water & given a towel! Despite going all out to look after the sodden visitors of the day, the seated area remained immaculately clean.
The food was delicious and served quickly. A member of our party is wheat intolerant and for the first time through all of our many days out, she was able to order a hearty meal with very little effort and no quibble, she was simply catered for.
The Station has now become not just the place we'll go to because it's there, but the place we look forward to ending up after a hard day. We'll definitely orchestrate future trips to end here!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank JosieMalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

My first experience of a bunk house. I was told in Kettlewell YHA the bunk house here was a disaster by fellow travellers, I even tried to upgrade my booking from bunk house to BB after our little chat. Glad I didn't in the end. I got bunk house 4 to myself and it was heated and had a basic kitchen so you could make yourself a cup of tea with the stuff they left out for you. The bathroom had a shower so strong it kept flying off the holder. I paid £10 for the bed, £8 for the cooked breakfast (yes it was the best one on the Dalesway) and £10 for the ultimate burger for my tea (and yes it was bloody huge). £28 DBB I a nice warm room. Would love to hire this out with a few friends and do some walking. Only problem was the cattle grid outside on the road, everytime a wagon went over it you could here it. Would recommend if your on a tight budget, you can blow the change on the ale.

Room Tip: Bunk house 4 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave66672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Called for lunch after visiting the viaduct! We ordered fish n chips, Whitby scampi n chips. Food was excellent! Good quality, well presented and quick service. Real chips! Not the usual frozen stuff. Good choice on menu. Dogs and walkers made welcome, looked clean and well kept. Beers were good. Snack and sandwich choice available.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingleton
6.0 mi away
Marton Arms Hotel
Marton Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ingleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
10.5 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
10.3 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Wheatsheaf Inn
The Wheatsheaf Inn
#11 of 22 in Ingleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#6 of 6 in Horton-in-Ribblesdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Station Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Station Inn

Property: The Station Inn
Address: Ribblehead Viaduct, Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park LA6 3AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Ingleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Ingleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Station Hotel Ingleton
The Station Inn Ingleton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing