We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay or just drop in”

The Station Inn - The Pub
Ranked #14 of 21 Restaurants in Ingleton
Cuisines: British, Bar, Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
323 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great place to stay or just drop in”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Frequented by all types, from those passing through by car or bike, to walkers along the Dales and Pennine Ways, or those travelling by train from as far away as Leeds just for a night out, it offers a warm welcome and excellent choice of beers, complimented by a wide choice of food. I've stayed here several times and enjoyed each visit. It's perfectly placed for the Yorkshire Three Peaks, at the foot of both Whernside and Ingleborough and only a short train ride from Horton-in-Ribblesdale for Penyghent. It's also fairly central if you're touring the Dales. The only down side I've found is the proximity of both the main road from Hawes to Ingleton, though having said that it's not exactly the M1 and the railway line which often has freight trains running at odd times during the early hours and frankly if you drink enough you'll sleep soundly.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    45
    34
    11
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good honest food and great beer”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We were only going to have a drink and use the toilets after completing a great walk around Ribbleshead - but I saw the hot pork pie and mushy peas - I just had to try them.

What a delight and wonderful ale as well - worth the visit.

The seating in the garden needs updating as some of the stools are broken - be careful of the nails and screws.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jtga6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Yes, I think I remember the film”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Readers who have seen the film 'An American Werewolf in London' will recognise the atmosphere in the Station Inn as the same one that descends on the Slaughtered Lamb pub immediately after the hapless American student asks about the hexagon on the wall.

The Station is a fairly run-down, grubby place, serving well below average, fully priced food (though, to be fair, the very remote location will always add to costs).

Tattooed, monosyllabic bar-staff give the general impression that they feel their work would be fine were it not for the customers. And they call you 'mate', which is nice - NOT!

There is always a silver lining to every cloud, however. The beer is very, very good: well-kept and well-pulled.

Oh, and the views are stunning - which is, presumably, how this pub survives.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank QualitymanYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Had a great stay at this pub”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Having previously stopped here while walking for drinks I was looking forward to staying here. However when I looked on trip advisor there were quite a few negative reviews. We arrived at tea time after a gruelling walk. The man behind the bar was a bit intense but made us welcome. After a hard earned pint we were shown to our room. The room was lovely, it looked newly decorated and very tastefully done. I liked the traditional fire place. Room was spacious. Bathroom was en suite and clean with toiletries provided. Plenty of hot water. Went back downstairs for dinner and had a very nice meal. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good and it was pleasing to have a "proper" vegetarian breakfast which set us up for the days walking. Staff in the morning were also very friendly and helpful. Dog was also made very welcome. Would happily stay here again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ruth186411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“avoid at all costs”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

If this is the pub at the Ribblehead Viaduct then it is really awful
The interior is dirty and depressing and the coffee tasted like dishwater
Service definitely did not come with a smile

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Kathleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Station Inn - The Pub also viewed

Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 

Been to The Station Inn - The Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing