We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't even hesitate - just book it!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ingleton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Pines Country House
Ranked #4 of 22 Ingleton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesbrough
1 review
“Don't even hesitate - just book it!”
Reviewed 20 July 2010

If you are in the vicinity of Ingleton in the Yorkshire Dales and in need of a bed for
the night, you could do far worse than book in to Tim and Gloria Backhouse’s Pines
Guest House. Situated on the edge of the village but within a few minutes’
easy walking distance from the centre, The Pines offers high quality, comfortable and
well appointed accommodation with 7 guest rooms, spacious lounge, bar with pool
table and conservatory in which all meals are served. Tim and Gloria were for many
years head chef and head housekeeper at a prestigious country house hotel in the
North East of Yorkshire, but branched out on their own some few years ago when
they moved to The Pines, so their background gave them excellent experience for
running their own show. You can book either with or without evening meals, Tim
providing a selection of excellent menus across the week if you opt to eat in, all you
need to do is choose from the menu of the day in the morning. Alternatively, there are
a number of pubs within 10 minute’s walk of The Pines.

There is ample off road parking for around 11-12 cars, and they are definitely ‘biker
friendly’, with overnight secure storage for a good number of motorcycles available
under lock and key in their garage, which Tim keeps mostly empty for this reason.
Dogs are also welcome.

The Pines offers easy access to the surrounding limestone countryside with access to
caving or walking activities afforded by the area well within reach, so they are a good
base to start from. We have now stayed with Tim and Gloria on two occasions and
have had a very warm welcome and superb service each visit, so we’ll definitely be
back! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glowpix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    38
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
162
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Very rarely have I been to a hotel and I have been to many, am I able to comment that everything about The Pines is so praiseworthy from the warm greeting you receive as soon as you arrive to the tour of the rooms to aquaint yourself with the "Honesty Bar", the Dining and breakfast room, the beautiful lounge, then the regal stairway up to your rooms. Nothing was too much trouble for Tim or Gloria. The food was wonderful and a good choice of menu offered, the warm chocolate pudding is to die for. We felt very much as though we were part of the family. We were part of a group of people visiting the area on motorbikes and the garage was offered to us without a second thought. You will not be disappointed if you have a mind to visit.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AudreyNorthLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraardsbergen, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2010

Tim and Gloria are very kind and very helpfull . The breakfast, , the diner , the rooms are excellent. They are making your trip complete!
I return to them , thats shure !!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dannyboy021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoddesdon
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2010

Very clean with excellent views from the room. Games room with honesty bar and a good selection of drinks. Comfortable lounge. Conservatory breakfast room.
Very clean twin bedded room with en-suite. Good strong shower. Sofa for relaxing before bed with flat screen TV.
Very good breakfast. Cereals, porridge and full English served with courtesy and warmth.
The hosts are very friendly and helpful with eating out ideas and any other information required.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maccarHoddesdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2010

We have just had a short break at the above guest house and would recommend it to anyone. Our room was very comfortable and clean and the proprietors, Tim and Gloria, could not have been more helpful. The breakfasts ware excellent. We will be returning later in the year.
Ingleton itself is a lovely little village and is an ideal spot to use as a base, especially for walkers.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulScarborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2010

Suprisingly big b and b, with a large lounge area, a pool table/ games room AND a unique conservatory with a very established grape vine snaking through! Fantastic!
Two very hospitable and knowledgable owners provide an exceptional service. We went for the Superior room which was spacious and great value for money.

Great location, five/ten min walk to Waterfall walk and the foot of Ingleborough, would definately stay again! Just wish we'd had time to enjoy more of the owners brilliant cooking!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weth20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2010

Not our first stay and not our last . From the 1st time we stoped, tim and gloria were warm and friendly .T the rooms are clean and tidy with good facilities. The walking is great around ingleton , with hundreds of walks to choose from . Also there is plenty of towns near by. We found most pubs in the area good for food and welcoming. We would recommend the pines for a great relaxing stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dougzinis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingleton
4.3 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
525 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marton Arms Hotel
Marton Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ingleton
280 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Thorngarth Country Guest House
0.6 mi away
Seed Hill Guest House
Seed Hill Guest House
#6 of 22 in Ingleton
124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holly Grange Guest House
Holly Grange Guest House
#3 of 22 in Ingleton
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pines Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pines Country House

Property: The Pines Country House
Address: The Pines New Road, Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park LA6 3HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Ingleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Ingleton
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pines Country House is a Victorian Guest House on the outskirts of Ingleton. Fully licensed and evening meals are available in the conservatory. The Pines is set in idyllic surroundings with superb views. Private car park. The area is well known for the Three Peaks Challenge, Ingleton waterfall walk, White Scar caves and the Ribblehead viaduct on the Settle to Carlisle. We are open all year round with special mid week breaks and winter offers available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Pines Country House Ingleton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing