We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“warm friendly atmosphere Warm friendly atmosphere and good value for money”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ingleton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Pines Country House
Ranked #4 of 22 Ingleton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
york
1 review
“warm friendly atmosphere Warm friendly atmosphere and good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

We were looking for a guest house that would take dogs and children, and The Pines did both. Recently we had a bad experience staying in a guest house so we had mixed feelings to say the least. However we were more than pleasantly surprised with the welcome we received and how welcoming Tim and Gloria were towards us, our children and our dog. The rooms were clean and spacious and the guest house was close to the village. The reason for staying in Ingleton was to visit the famous Ingleton falls so the location was perfect. There were some good places to eat in close proximity and found our stay most enjoyable. Thanks to Tim and Gloria for your hospitality..

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark1York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    38
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
161
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Devizes, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2010

Tim and Gloria made us feel very welcomeand provided an excellent sevice throughout our stay. Their knowledge and advice on the area made our short stay all thw more interesting and enabled us to experience much more than we would have done by just relying on a guidebook.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheilajames2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

Excellent place to stay for short break. Park car and do not need to move it until you leave. Enjoy excellent accommodation with really good home made meals. B&B with evening meal recommended. Definitely will return again and probably again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CedDronfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

We had a very friendly welcome from Tim & Gloria when we arrived and they were very genial hosts throughout our stay.
The breakfasts were excellent and we had opted to have evening meals while we were there which were also excellent, we were given a different menu every morning to choose our meal from with a very good selection of dishes - especially the "Man Puddings" after which we were served coffee & mints in the very comfortable lounge.
Our bedroom was large and also had a large ensuite the bed was very comfortable and the room very clean and linen changed daily, we had a very good view of all the beautiful countryside around.
Overall we had a very good stay and are certain to return in the near future

Brian & Dorothy
South Yorkshire

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DotBry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2010

We spent a three day break at The Pines after it was recommended to us by a friend and we were not disappointed. The accommodation was first class and the food excellent, especially the puddings. Tim and Gloria were very friendly and had a wealth of Knowledge regarding the surrounding area.
We will certainly be recommending The Pines to all our family and friends and will be returning for a second visit.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davehwakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2010

My wife and I arrived, around mid-afternoon, after an horrendous 300 mile drive in appalling weather - the M6 was awash - so the sight of The Pines Country House so conveniently sited alongside the A65 and with ample and easily accessable free parking was a delight to behold. From the time we stepped out of the car, things just got better and better. We were made to feel especially welcome by Gloria and Tim from the moment we set foot inside the imposing entrance hall and a quick glance around before we were shown to our first floor room, told us we had made a great choice. Our double room was light and spacious; tastfully decorated, spotlessly clean (the bed linen and towels were changed every day) and there were magnificant views of the unspoilt countryside to the south and west. We had a very enjoyable home cooked dinner on the first night (it was still raining!) in the vine-festooned conservatory and our mouth watering, 'Yorkshire-sized' cooked breakfasts were just the thing to set us up for each day's activities. We were genuinely sorry to leave after three nights and would recommend, without reservation, this gem to anyone seeking good quality, friendly accommodation in Ingelton.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harvey_michael5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

If you are in the vicinity of Ingleton in the Yorkshire Dales and in need of a bed for
the night, you could do far worse than book in to Tim and Gloria Backhouse’s Pines
Guest House. Situated on the edge of the village but within a few minutes’
easy walking distance from the centre, The Pines offers high quality, comfortable and
well appointed accommodation with 7 guest rooms, spacious lounge, bar with pool
table and conservatory in which all meals are served. Tim and Gloria were for many
years head chef and head housekeeper at a prestigious country house hotel in the
North East of Yorkshire, but branched out on their own some few years ago when
they moved to The Pines, so their background gave them excellent experience for
running their own show. You can book either with or without evening meals, Tim
providing a selection of excellent menus across the week if you opt to eat in, all you
need to do is choose from the menu of the day in the morning. Alternatively, there are
a number of pubs within 10 minute’s walk of The Pines.

There is ample off road parking for around 11-12 cars, and they are definitely ‘biker
friendly’, with overnight secure storage for a good number of motorcycles available
under lock and key in their garage, which Tim keeps mostly empty for this reason.
Dogs are also welcome.

The Pines offers easy access to the surrounding limestone countryside with access to
caving or walking activities afforded by the area well within reach, so they are a good
base to start from. We have now stayed with Tim and Gloria on two occasions and
have had a very warm welcome and superb service each visit, so we’ll definitely be
back! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glowpix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingleton
0.4 mi away
Marton Arms Hotel
Marton Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ingleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Whoop Hall
The Whoop Hall
#4 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
4.3 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thorngarth Country Guest House
0.7 mi away
The Wheatsheaf Inn
The Wheatsheaf Inn
#11 of 22 in Ingleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pines Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pines Country House

Property: The Pines Country House
Address: The Pines New Road, Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park LA6 3HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Ingleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Ingleton
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pines Country House is a Victorian Guest House on the outskirts of Ingleton. Fully licensed and evening meals are available in the conservatory. The Pines is set in idyllic surroundings with superb views. Private car park. The area is well known for the Three Peaks Challenge, Ingleton waterfall walk, White Scar caves and the Ribblehead viaduct on the Settle to Carlisle. We are open all year round with special mid week breaks and winter offers available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Pines Country House Ingleton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing