We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B”
Review of Gale Green Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ingleton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gale Green Cottage
Ranked #13 of 22 Ingleton B&B and Inns
Chorley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely B&B”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Really friendly welcome, we were made a cup of tea as soon as we walked through the door. The owners had two very placid dogs that our 11 month old found very entertaining. The room and en suite were spacious and comfortable, clean and tidy. The garden was lovely, with chickens and ducks wandering around. All in all, a lovely place.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank laura c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Gale Green Cottage is advertised as 'motorcyclist friendly', it is, but it's also much much more.
Perfectly situated for exploring both the lake District and Yorkshire Dales, the cottage is in a beautiful quiet location yet close to the A65. The welcome from Jill and Glen was warm and clearly genuine, from the moment we arrived we felt like friends rather that paying guests.
Our room was large and comfortable and there is a cosy lounge downstairs for guest use.
Two more things I must mention, the breakfast is fantastic, and the dogs, even if you weren't a dog lover, you couldn't help but make freinds with Bo & Jaffa.
We would recommend Gale Green to anyone, we'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KwaZulu-Natal
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Gale Green Cottage was one of the best B&B's we stayed in during our UK holiday. We were a party of 5 and Jill spoiled us with her hospitality and friendliness. The accommodation was first class and the breakfast was awsome - fresh fruit to boot! Loved the dogs and the labradoodle (Bo's friend). Would highly recommend a visit here.

Room Tip: All rooms very spacious and well appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zini6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Cornwall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We really had such a lovely few days at Gale Green. Jill's warmth and welcoming personality made our stay in this beautiful cottage outstanding in every way. Our room was lovely and the breakfasts were to die for.

We would have liked to have stayed much longer as we were made to feel so at home. We like to take our dogs with us whenever possible, and at Gale Green they are just as important as we were. Rarely do you find somewhere that really does welcome the dogs as Jill does. However, 'Doggie House Rules' ensures that all Guests have a relaxing, comfortable stay whether dog lovers or not.

Gale Green looks very nice on the website, however it does not really do it justice. Its atmosphere, comfort, cleanliness and cuisine are all outstanding. It is perfectly located with easy access to both The Dales and The Lakes. Nestled in its pretty cottage gardens, with gorgeous views over the Yorkshire countryside and quiet lanes, this is the perfect place to stay.

This is not your average Bed & Breakfast establishment!

We will be recommending Gale Green to everyone!

Pauline & Brian Martin

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We have just come back from the best 4 days of our overseas holiday at Gale Green Cottage. We did not know what to expect as we booked over the net from Australia and just hoped for the best when we got there and found it was fabulous. Jill and Glen and the doggies are the best hosts we have ever had. We felt like old friends, even the neighbours came in and treated us like old friends. The breakfast was also wonderful - all home made with free range eggs laid by Jill's chooks (she calls them 'hens'!). Gale Green is set in beautiful countryside but not too far from the closest town with lots of pubs and resturants for evening meals. It is also in a central position for drives to interesting places in the area. Jill and Glen were very helpful in giving us ideas about where to go each day and we had a wonderful time discovering things we never knew existed. All in all a great place. Thanks Jill and Glen.
Alison and Dan McLachlan

Room Tip: all the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Stayed twice this year<the first time in february,again in april, it is so good.we will be going again next year,Jill+Glen are the best people you could meet,not overpowering just like old friends,and the love of animals,they so kind. MIck + Sue + and Alex.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are just great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michael p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

It has taken me nearly a year to getting round to writing my reviews, but here goes! I cycled from Lands End to John O'Groats in the summer of last year, and this was my halfway point. I had just been caught in a massive storm in the fells, and was in need of some comfort and a long shower after my days hard work. Fortunately I was well looked after by Jill and co, and found my room to be large and very comfortable, with one of the biggest showers I have ever used. Hope to find a reason to come back some day, and would recommend to anyone in the area.

James Welbourn

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesWelbourn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingleton
1.3 mi away
Marton Arms Hotel
Marton Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ingleton
275 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Wheatsheaf Inn
The Wheatsheaf Inn
#11 of 22 in Ingleton
198 reviews
1.8 mi away
Thorngarth Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ghyll Beck House B&B
Ghyll Beck House B&B
#1 of 1 in Ireby
32 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holly Grange Guest House
Holly Grange Guest House
#3 of 22 in Ingleton
390 reviews
0.0 mi away
Croft Gate Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gale Green Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gale Green Cottage

Property: Gale Green Cottage
Address: Gale Green Cottage Masongill Crossroads, Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park LA6 3NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Ingleton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Ingleton
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Gale Green Cottage Ingleton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing