We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent dog friendly b&b”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gale Green Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ingleton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gale Green Cottage
Ranked #12 of 22 Ingleton B&B and Inns
braintree
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent dog friendly b&b”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Would highly recommend this b&b. Jill was very welcoming, with a much needed hot drink and cake on our arrival. Our room was large and comfortable. The bathroom was high quality with a very nice shower, much needed after a days walking. The breakfast was very nice with a wide variety of choices and plentiful. We fully intend to visit again. Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJT66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

We booked Gale Green at short notice and are glad that nowhere else we tried first had space. Jill made us and the dog feel very welcome from the minute we arrived til we left (was so good we added on an extra night). Jill was full of information about the area and pointed us in the right direction for walks, sightseeing and restaurants that would be dog friendly too. Nothing was too much trouble even down to filling our flasks with tea for our walks. The breakfast was delicious and made from locally sourced produce. We sat out in the beautiful cottage garden with a glass of wine in the evening and used the lounge when it got cooler. The bedroom and en suite were clean and spacious with no trace of any pets been there before us. We will definitely stay there again in the near future. Many thanks Jill. X

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonibon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in late July 2013 either side of climbing the Yorkshire 3 Peaks. Beautifully clean, wonderfully appointed in a building bursting with character, superbly spacious room with an amazingly comfortable bed, fantastically friendly and supportive hosts in Jill and Glenn - plus the 2 gorgeous dogs. And top breakfasts to boot. Although I live in Bristol, any chance/excuse I get to revisit will be taken as it's ideally located for The Lake District as well as The Dales..or as a stopover en route to Scotland. I picked it completely at random but am so glad I did!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkoPolo59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Gale Green for one night after climbing ingleborough. Jill was welcoming, friendly, helpful and charming. Our room was clean, pretty, with lovely views and the breakfast was excellent. Jill & Glenn are the sort of people you feel you've known for years and we hope to return. *****

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NinjaDetective
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

On booking over the telephone, Jill generated a warm interest in the needs of my wife and me for our stay. After walking through the country-garden entrance to her converted farm house, we were welcomed by her, Jaffa and Bo and offered tea and advice on where to eat in the evening. The room we stayed in was large, with a good sized ensuite, clean and very comfortable. Jill cooks her breakfasts on an Aga and offered fresh fruit salad, home made-bread, fresh eggs from the chickens in the back garden, thickly cut bacon and all the other parts of an English breakfast. After a stay of six nights and many interesting conversations with her, Glenn and other guests we were sad to leave. We will return, however, as there is so much to see and do in the area. Settle and the Three Peaks (Yorkshire), Sebergh and the Howardian Hills (Cumbria) and the Forest of Bowland (Lancashire) all beckon.

Room Tip: I cannot comment on the other rooms as we did not see them but our room faced south and offered a go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Really friendly welcome, we were made a cup of tea as soon as we walked through the door. The owners had two very placid dogs that our 11 month old found very entertaining. The room and en suite were spacious and comfortable, clean and tidy. The garden was lovely, with chickens and ducks wandering around. All in all, a lovely place.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank laura c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

Gale Green Cottage is advertised as 'motorcyclist friendly', it is, but it's also much much more.
Perfectly situated for exploring both the lake District and Yorkshire Dales, the cottage is in a beautiful quiet location yet close to the A65. The welcome from Jill and Glen was warm and clearly genuine, from the moment we arrived we felt like friends rather that paying guests.
Our room was large and comfortable and there is a cosy lounge downstairs for guest use.
Two more things I must mention, the breakfast is fantastic, and the dogs, even if you weren't a dog lover, you couldn't help but make freinds with Bo & Jaffa.
We would recommend Gale Green to anyone, we'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingleton
1.3 mi away
Marton Arms Hotel
Marton Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ingleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
1.8 mi away
Thorngarth Country Guest House
1.9 mi away
Holly Grange Guest House
Holly Grange Guest House
#3 of 22 in Ingleton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Seed Hill Guest House
Seed Hill Guest House
#6 of 22 in Ingleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sun Inn
Sun Inn
#1 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ghyll Beck House B&B
Ghyll Beck House B&B
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gale Green Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gale Green Cottage

Property: Gale Green Cottage
Address: Gale Green Cottage Masongill Crossroads, Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park LA6 3NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Ingleton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Ingleton
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Gale Green Cottage Ingleton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing