We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”

The Dales Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ingleton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Dales Guest House
Ranked #21 of 22 Ingleton B&B and Inns
Cheshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed 23 June 2012

I arrived at the Dales Guest House somewhat nervous after reading all the recent reviews. Although not the most wonderful B&B I have ever stayed in, for the £30 I paid, I think it was good value for money. I had a very early breakfast as I was doing the '3 Peaks' and was offered a much nicer breakfast than I had expected including a good assortment of cereals, fresh melon and strawberries, yoghurts and chunky toast.
The bed was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CheshireLovehols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    6
    2
    4
    2
See reviews for
4
7
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

When I arrived I was given a flurry of instructions on how things should be and how certain things should be used. Once this wittering woman had disappeared I was a bit peckish I decided to try a welcome biscuit, only to discover that they had both gone off the week before.

The next day I went down early for breakfast and was greeted by a "dinning room" smaller than a shed. The food however was of an acceptable quality. After I had gone back to my room for a bit more sleep I was woken shortly by one of the owners asking if I wanted anything as they are going out for the day and wouldn't be available. I find this a bit ridiculous as I was paying for a service where they would be available until 9pm.

As I came downstairs to go out for the day I found the keys to all the rooms on a side table in the hallway, I was amazing shocked by this lack of security and promptly hid the keys in the same hallway. The owners never mentioned that the master keys to all the rooms had gone missing and the keys we still in the same place the next morning. I am shocked by the fact that these people let me stay the night in a place that the keys were missing and my belongings, for all they know, could have been stolen at any time.

I left this shabby, unclean and unkept place for good after my second okay breakfast. I do not recommend you stay here as it drastically needs improving.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rokuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ingleton hotels

Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

I'm afraid that this guest house was extremely disappointing - the bed was clean and the sheets were fresh, but the cobweb above the door was black with accumulated dust and the layout of the room was poorly thought out. You couldn't watch TV as the viewing angle was wrong.

Worse though, was the hectoring 'welcome' I received complaining about my arrival time, followed by the list of rules bashed into me (all of which were duplicated by notices around the room). The best was a 'no boots' sign on the footstool in the dining room! When I arrived home, there was a message on my answerphone demanding to know when I was arriving.

I had two nights at this B+B and was really unhappy to find on both days that the breakfast was luke warm, with the baked beans actually cold.... I don't think its too hard to heat baked beans....

Ingleton is a beautiful place and the Dales were stunning, but, when I return, there are sufficient other properties offering B+B in the area to find a different base.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A1_Traveller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2011

I must say, reading the previous review, I had a different experience altogether. As a busy man who works in central London, I was looking for a quiet getaway with my wife and teenage sons. I was not disappointed with my stay, and my two boys had a brilliant time too. The location was great, we did climbing, caving and walks all at a very close distance, the village it self is wonderful and we were greeted with a warm welcome and brilliant quality British breakfast. The hotel provided comfy beds, the rooms were adequate for our needs, and we found everything in the guest house comfortable and relaxing. We found everything to be clean and comfortable and I look forward to coming again next year.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank callumjeffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ingleton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2010

My husband and I had been given a Christmas present - a weekend from 'Freshweekends' by our son. We chose the Dales Guest House as it sounded just what we were looking for. When we arrived we were very disappointed to say the least. The entrance hall was a bit like a junk yard. The owners were getting a cooker delivered at the time and the kitchen door was wide open - never seen such a tip in my life. The bedroom wasn't much better - there were 2 cushions lying on the bed and were covered in stains!! the bed was clean but the sink was so small and close to the bed [not in the bathroom]. There were cobwebs all over the bathroom which consisted of a very poor shower and a toilet with a wobbly seat. We didnt even bother to take clothes out of the case as the wardrobe wasn't bid enought to hold them.The breakfast was fine but we were sat so close to another couple we felt we had to speak to them!! This was booked through Fresh Weekends and cost £89!! The actual cost had we booked direct would have been £56 - a very good profit margin!! We had booked an additional night but needless to say we didnt stay. Would not recommend this to anyone. Very shabby and in need of a good facelift. Wouldn't recommend 'Freshweekends' either. We told them about our problem and they weren't interested.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcoyle_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Dales Guest House, responded to this review, 26 February 2011
This couple were using a vouvher supplied by Fresh Weekends . The face value has nothing to do with us. We only receive our normal rate minus 10%. A full response was made to the voucher supplier together with a copy of our latest Vsiit England assessment, which was three star with three elements at four star.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ingleton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Wheatsheaf Inn
The Wheatsheaf Inn
#10 of 22 in Ingleton
202 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seed Hill Guest House
Seed Hill Guest House
#6 of 22 in Ingleton
126 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ingleton Hostel
Ingleton Hostel
#4 of 10 in Ingleton
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Inglenook Guest House
Inglenook Guest House
#9 of 22 in Ingleton
105 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Craven Heifer Inn
The Craven Heifer Inn
#20 of 22 in Ingleton
52 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thorngarth Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dales Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dales Guest House

Property: The Dales Guest House
Address: Main Street, Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park LA6 3HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Ingleton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Ingleton
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dales Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Dales Guest House Ingleton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing