We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”
Review of Marton Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marton Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ingleton
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We discovered this pub on a break in Ingleton last November, then it was a log fire wintery warm pub and this weekend it was a lovely summertime retreat.

We had a 2 night stay here from Friday 19th July. Checked in at the bar and was taken to the room by the friendly young lady behind the bar. Our room overlooked the garden at the back. The room was large and very clean. We'd prepaid for a voucher at the end of last year on the North Country Inns website, so we spent £100 for 2 nights B&B, very impressed with this as there were no silly t's&c's stopping us use the voucher at bank holidays etc.

Having stayed at another North Country Inns pub, the Brackenrigg Inn a few years earlier and been given a tiny room with a tiny a bed, we did wonder if we would receive similar accommodation as we were on a discounted rate. From having looked at the website, I think there are rooms with four posters and wet rooms, we didn't get one of those but that was no problem as our room was really good.

Breakfast is served in a room across the front courtyard, which was nice as it wasn't in the main pub part of the building. We had full English both mornings and they were served promptly on both mornings and set us up for the day, what more could you ask?

We ate there on the Friday night and I can recommend the fish & chips! Served on paper and a large portion, the burger went down a treat at our table too. I appreciate this is standard pub fayre and there is more to choose from on the menu, but they did these 2 staples very well.

Saturday evening we ate out as they couldn't fit us in for a few hours when we asked at 7pm. That said, as we went to leave and walk into Ingleton another couple had just walked in and were told that they would be able to have food at 7:30?! Not sure if we were being penalised for not having listened to the managers warning that afternoon to book in early. It's a shame as the scallop special starter looked lovely!

All in all it was a very pleasant pub stay, the staff were lovely the whole break and we will definitely stay again.

If you are lucky enough to go when the sun is shining take your swimsuit as the open air pool in Ingleton is a novelty, it was packed when we went but still it was nice to be in the fresh air swimming in the North West!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager M, Manager at Marton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you kindly for your valued comments with regards to your stay at The Marton Arms Hotel.
Our staff constantly strive to maintain and improve standards for our valued customers. Recognition for our efforts in achieving this is as much appreciated as is insight into how we can continue to exceed the standards we set.
On behalf of all the team at the hotel, we thank you for your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Regards Lesley, Matthew and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    89
    28
    23
    18
See reviews for
34
159
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in May on a deal through North Country Inns. If this establishment is part of a chain, they need to take a serious look at their quality control processes.
For a start, we arrived at 8.0pm after a difficult journey because the main road from Carnforth to Ingleton was closed. We had eaten at lunch time and just wanted a sandwich or some sort of bar meal but that turned out to be too much to ask once the restaurant service had started.
Our room was tired, but comfortable, but it overlooked the garden used as overflow from the bar-restaurant, so noisy until chucking-out time. Breakfast was OK as long as you're not looking for continental, but my wife was a bit surprised to find a cold hollandaise on an order of eggs benedict and the service was the sort you might expect from an amiable but untrained amateur. We booked for dinner in the restaurant on our second night, turned up at the appointed time, stood waiting to be shown to our table and were ignored by bar manager (who had taken our oringinal booking) and the waitress (clearly overworked that night and still cross about it when she was on breakfast duty the next morning) while another couple who arrived a full 5 minutes later were dealt with. The food, when it eventually arrived, again was OK, but not worth its high-end price tag. We weren't tempted to stay for a dessert and we won't be going back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smoggypete_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I used to visit here most weekends back in my Caving days. It's not changed much really, apart from the distinct lack of real ale's. This place used to have at least 8/9 on the go! The room was pleasant and comfortable with nice views over the rear beer garden. The eating aspect was a bit of a mess though! The service was rather poor with not very attentive staff. We were left alone with dirty plates for 45mins. My partner ordered the fish off the specials board. The waitress came back and said it had gone! We tried something else and the same thing again. There excuse was they were changing the menu. In the end we were very limited in choice and ended up with meals that we didn't really fancy. Very average. We tried to order the haddock for breakfast and that wasn't available either. Apparently their fish supplier had let them down. Well it certainly let us down. Come on Marton, you can do better than this

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gaz E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager M, Manager at Marton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your experience at the Marton Arms Hotel. I have now looked into your comments and can confirm that during your visit there was a change over in chefs and therefore where in the middle of a menu change. I understand that from a guest’s point of view that this is not satisfactory. As for the service this is not to our usual standards and I have now taken the time to discuss these issues with the relevant people.

We trust you understand that from time to time things do not go according to plan, as in this instance, and offer our sincere apologies. It is your valuable feedback that helps us to positively move our business forward.

I hope that we have the oppotunity to welcome you back to the Marton Arms in the future.
Kind regards
Lesley, Matt and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Stayed one nigh only, after undertaking the gruelling Yorkshire 3 Peaks.

Only issue is the use of the description en-suite bathroom, no bath only a shower.

Slept like a log, in a decent sized room overlooking the charming local church.

Breakfast was excellent, good choice, freshly cooked to order, and well presented.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveW10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager M, Manager at Marton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Thank you for your review, I am sorry to hear that you were unaware that all of our rooms have showers and not baths, I know that after such a long walk a bath would have been welcomed. Thank you for your lovely comments about the food and we very much hope to see you again in the future.
Kind regards Lesley, Matthew and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Found this on Trip Advisor and have been pleased with choice. Warm old fashion welcome with well stocked bar and good value food with flair. Rooms comfortable, warm if a little dated.
Ample parking and staff friendly and obliging. Nice country pub atmosphere. Perfect location for outdoor activities. Prices very competitive for the rest of the area.

Room Tip: Lovely views over the dales from Room 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager M, Manager at Marton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Thank you for your review, we do welcome it. I am pleased that you were not disappointed with your choice of accommodation and really look forward to welcoming you back to the Dales in the future.
Regards Lesley, Matt and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Just had bank holiday weekend here. The staff can't do enough for you especially the Manageress. I don't know how many hours she works but she always seemed to be around. The bar and serving staff are very young but every one of them was professional and courteous. The food is fabulous and the portions massive. My other half was in heaven. Bit too much for me so had a starter and dessert the second night. Chocolate mousse to die for. Breakfast was very good, cereal, fruit juices, yoghurts, toast, tea and coffee, then a really good choice of hot food ranging from full English to eggs benedict, crumpets with scrambled eggs (which were the best I have ever eaten). Only about a mile from the Ingleton falls walk it is ideally situated. Will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor. It's an old building so with that comes squeaky floorboards but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager M, Manager at Marton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and very much look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Warm Regards Lesley, Matt and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This is a character inn with a good bar and restaurant. The staff are friendly. The rooms are a bit tired and could do with an overhaul. The ensuite has a strong shower. Room was warm, despite it blowing a gale and snowing outside when we visited. Plenty of free parking. Handy location by turning off the A65, but set back in a village and quiet. Stayed in room 1 - bit of disturbance from pub guests who were standing outside smoking quite late. Fantastic breakfast. Great location on the edge of the Dales - perfect for the three peaks or a trip on the Settle-Carlisle railway.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucie02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager M, Manager at Marton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the location to your satisfaction. I understand that some of our bedrooms do need updated and this is work in progress.
Hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Lesley, Matt and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingleton
4.7 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
516 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Whoop Hall
The Whoop Hall
#4 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
1,091 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
575 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Wheatsheaf Inn
The Wheatsheaf Inn
#11 of 22 in Ingleton
198 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seed Hill Guest House
Seed Hill Guest House
#6 of 22 in Ingleton
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marton Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marton Arms Hotel

Property: Marton Arms Hotel
Address: Thornton-in-Lonsdale, Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park LA6 3PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Ingleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ingleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marton Arms Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a traditional Country Inn located 3/4 of a mile from Ingleton and just 6 miles away from Kirkby Lonsdale. We have 10 guest bedrooms, two of which have four poster beds, one twin bedroom and one family bedroom, the rest are double bedrooms. We are ideally located for the those doing the Yorkshire Three Peaks or visiting the White Scar Caves and Ingleton Waterfalls.All of our food is prepared freshly on site to order and we use locally sourced suppliers. For those Ale drinkers we have 8 Cask Ale hand pulls, which during the busy season we try and have all 8 on. During the quieter months this is not always possible. For those winter months we have two roaring log burning stoves in the bar and for the Summer months we have two lovely beer gardens, one out the front of the hotel looking over St Oswalds Church and one out the back looking over open fields. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Marton Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marton Arms Ingleton
Marton Arms Hotel Ingleton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing