We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“needs to improve on several fronts”
Review of Marton Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marton Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ingleton
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“needs to improve on several fronts”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Have just spent 3 nights at the Marton Arms and although there were no major problems, there were quite a number of smaller issues as follows:-
1) Arrived mid afternoon but reception was locked up, had to go to the bar to find a member of staff.
2) My room was on the ground floor with a seating area for pub customers directly outside my window but due to the weather it was not used so not a problem at this time, however, there were a couple of ashtrays full of cigarette ends and rain water on the wall which had obviously been there for quite some time.
3) My room had a tubular metal four poster bed with a net curtain at the end which looked cheap & cheerful ~ not ones vision of how a four poster bed should be. The wet room shower which I requested was just about ok but the shower drain plug was covered in mould and needed a thorough clean, which meant that water did not drain away fast enough causing most of the floor to be covered in water when showering. There was also mould on the bottom of the shower curtain. The extractor fan automatically switched on with the light which was fine but carried on for around 10 minutes when switching the light off ~ a bit of a pain if you had to use the bathroom in the middle of the night!!
4) Cleaning of the room was also a little lax as there were areas on the furniture with a coat of dust which remained for the length of our stay. After a couple of days, we left our towels on the floor rather than hanging them up which denotes to the staff that you wanted fresh towels. They were hung on the heated towel rail (which was not switched on) to dry, therefore, were still wet when we returned. We were given fresh towels when pointing this out to reception.
5) Breakfast was a bit hit & miss each morning with problems ranging from cutlery & plates missing, no orange juice replenished, no glasses replenished and slow service due to lack of staff. On one morning, the only waitress stopped serving in order to check out another guest which resulted in the chef/cook serving the breakfast and continually apologising for the delay.
6) Had dinner on the first night which turned out to be quite alright and the food was enjoyable.

My wife & I enjoyed our stay in the area and would certainly return but I don't think it would be to the Marton Arms. There were just too many negative little problems for a 4**** establishment so I shall be looking elsewhere for accommodation when I return to the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slimbo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    91
    30
    23
    18
See reviews for
37
162
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wallsend, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We have visited an awful lot of place within the Yorkshire Dales and this has to be the worst in every aspect! Room 8 should be closed off and refurbished completely. We paid £95 for a purple room that smelled of wet dog, windows covered in mould and an extractor fan that once it was on you couldn't hear yourself speak!
Food wasn't much better, but I was looking forward to the cheese board that was well advertised on a massive board as you walk into the 'dinning room'! Ha, we finished our meal only to be told - 'I'm sorry but there are a few things not available on the dessert menu, no vanilla ice cream, no sticky toffee pudding, ... and no cheese board'! Explain that one as it left only 2 desserts to choose from!
Breakfast was def not a proper Yorkshire breakfast it was more about presentation than quality or even quantity!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shali56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The booking for this stay was made a week in advance of our intended visit to the Ingleton area.
The room was advertised as having a "Four Poster" bed. We arrived early and asked the manager if we could book in early? We were offered this service for a £15 additional fee, thankfully we decided that this was not worth the additional cost for 2 hrs and decided that we would use the time to enjoy the local countryside.
Upon return to the hotel at around 3:30pm we asked for a snack lunch, the chef was staffing the bar and the hotel reception however he was very helpful and made soup and chips for us. He advised us to book a table for dinner that evening and recommended the Rib eye steak! Well that gave us something to look forward to!!

Following our light snack we asked to be shown our room, the chef said that we were booked into room 7, he offered to show us the way. Upon arrival at the room he opened the door with a flourish and then turned on his heels with the defence 'I don't usually deal with the rooms but we are short of staff!"

From there on, the weekend walking in beautiful countryside and relaxing in a rural country hotel became one of survival.

The room was a ground floor room for the disabled. It was damp, musty and the bathroom/wet room was shocking with no natural light, black mould on the wet room floor, walls and shower curtain. There was no sign of the advertised "slippers".
The rest of the room was cramped with the "Four poster bed" taking centre stage, well ok the bed stead was flanked by four metal posts, two thin side rails and at the head and the foot were two pieces of what is best described as net curtain ( no doubt to diffuse the red emergency exit light for the access door which opened out to the smoking area).

A few other things to note about the room:- the extractor fan operates when the light is switched on.... not good if you have to get up in the night to use the bathroom as the fan remains on for approx. 10 mins ( this is also an issue if guests in other rooms also use their bathroom as the whole area shares all sounds including a plumbing system which must come directly from Ingleton water falls!)

Then came the evening meal. We had the steak as recommended at £18 each. Sadly the home cut chips were clearly par boiled and fried to order in some cooking oil, they were presented looking like they had been shown the heat but never reached the point where "frying " actually took place.
The steak was without seasoning and dry and as such the whole dining experience was well below the standard which we believe we had paid for.

On the whole had it not been for the fact that the booking fee would have been charged due to cancelation on the day policy, we would have driven home.

Room Tip: Do not book this hotel or if it is the only option refuse room 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southport
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Booked this last minute for our wedding anniversary as a treat ..... Therefore paid top wack for a room that wasn't really worth the money .... it had a brass (?) four poster but wasn't dressed as a four poster , just had a bit of flimsy material top and bottom . The room door was propped open with a dining chair when we were shown there , possibly to hide the musty smell of the bathroom . This was a disabled bathroom / wet room . The whole room needed an up grade very dark and dingy . We joked that it was home from home for my husband as he works in a nursing home !!! I used the bathroom to find we had no towels at all , there were tea and coffee facilities and one packet of biscuits , we would have liked glasses for water in the night but there were none . Breakfast was a bit hit and miss , the people on the next table sent their coffee back just as mine arrived as it was too weak , low and behold mine was like dish water and had to go back !! My breakfast was nicely cooked and very tasty , but my husbands of smoked Haddock and poached eggs had to go back as the Haddock was raw ...... It was returned with fresh cooked fish and fresh eggs . We did eat in the restaurant and had a very nice steak so would recommend the evening food there ........... The location was very good for a quiet weekend away ....... am unsure if I would return .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank holidaymaker008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager M, Manager at Marton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. I am sorry to hear that you did not like the bedroom that was allocated to you. This bedroom is one of the bedrooms we get a lot of feedback from, some being really positive and others being negative, I can only put this down to personal taste. I am aware that some of the bathrooms / bedrooms do need updated and this is work in progress. I have made a note of your comments about the glass ware in the bathrooms and going forward and there are now glasses in all of the rooms. In regards to your comments regarding the morning coffee, this is something that requires training which I have arranged with our local coffee supplier. It is your valuable feedback that helps us to positively move our business forward. I am pleased that you liked the location and that you enjoyed your evening food. I very much hope that you will return to the hotel in the future. Kind regards
Lesley, Matt and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

We walked to the Marton Arms in mid-winter storm and gales so its warm fire, good selection of ales and large clean room with bountiful hot water and power shower and comfy bed was much appreciated.
It was averagely busy but staff seemed a little runoff their feet - I enjoyed filling the woodburner but a bit annoying our spinach pasta came out with no spinach..
But overall a great place to stay in quiet pretty village just outside Ingleton.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stoxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager M, Manager at Marton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you kindly for your valued comments with regards to your stay at The Marton Arms Hotel.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the future.
Regards
Lesley, Matthew and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

My sister and I stayed here for one night on a short break driving through the magnificent Yorkshire Dales. Since I now live abroad and don't get to England too often, a stay in a country pub was high on my list. I was not disappointed, a great charm about the place, a few Real Ales, lovely views of the church opposite or the lovely green hills, good food (I had the Lamb Shank and my sister had a huge home-made burger) as well as friendly staff all made for a great short break. Thanks to all.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager M, Manager at Marton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you for your kind commets. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Regards
Lesley, Matthew and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We discovered this pub on a break in Ingleton last November, then it was a log fire wintery warm pub and this weekend it was a lovely summertime retreat.

We had a 2 night stay here from Friday 19th July. Checked in at the bar and was taken to the room by the friendly young lady behind the bar. Our room overlooked the garden at the back. The room was large and very clean. We'd prepaid for a voucher at the end of last year on the North Country Inns website, so we spent £100 for 2 nights B&B, very impressed with this as there were no silly t's&c's stopping us use the voucher at bank holidays etc.

Having stayed at another North Country Inns pub, the Brackenrigg Inn a few years earlier and been given a tiny room with a tiny a bed, we did wonder if we would receive similar accommodation as we were on a discounted rate. From having looked at the website, I think there are rooms with four posters and wet rooms, we didn't get one of those but that was no problem as our room was really good.

Breakfast is served in a room across the front courtyard, which was nice as it wasn't in the main pub part of the building. We had full English both mornings and they were served promptly on both mornings and set us up for the day, what more could you ask?

We ate there on the Friday night and I can recommend the fish & chips! Served on paper and a large portion, the burger went down a treat at our table too. I appreciate this is standard pub fayre and there is more to choose from on the menu, but they did these 2 staples very well.

Saturday evening we ate out as they couldn't fit us in for a few hours when we asked at 7pm. That said, as we went to leave and walk into Ingleton another couple had just walked in and were told that they would be able to have food at 7:30?! Not sure if we were being penalised for not having listened to the managers warning that afternoon to book in early. It's a shame as the scallop special starter looked lovely!

All in all it was a very pleasant pub stay, the staff were lovely the whole break and we will definitely stay again.

If you are lucky enough to go when the sun is shining take your swimsuit as the open air pool in Ingleton is a novelty, it was packed when we went but still it was nice to be in the fresh air swimming in the North West!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager M, Manager at Marton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you kindly for your valued comments with regards to your stay at The Marton Arms Hotel.
Our staff constantly strive to maintain and improve standards for our valued customers. Recognition for our efforts in achieving this is as much appreciated as is insight into how we can continue to exceed the standards we set.
On behalf of all the team at the hotel, we thank you for your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Regards Lesley, Matthew and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingleton
4.7 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
534 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Whoop Hall
The Whoop Hall
#4 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
1,119 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
405 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Wheatsheaf Inn
The Wheatsheaf Inn
#10 of 22 in Ingleton
202 reviews
0.7 mi away
Masons Freehouse
Masons Freehouse
#15 of 22 in Ingleton
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marton Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marton Arms Hotel

Property: Marton Arms Hotel
Address: Thornton-in-Lonsdale, Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park LA6 3PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Ingleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ingleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marton Arms Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a traditional Country Inn located 3/4 of a mile from Ingleton and just 6 miles away from Kirkby Lonsdale. We have 10 guest bedrooms, two of which have four poster beds, one twin bedroom and one family bedroom, the rest are double bedrooms. We are ideally located for the those doing the Yorkshire Three Peaks or visiting the White Scar Caves and Ingleton Waterfalls.All of our food is prepared freshly on site to order and we use locally sourced suppliers. For those Ale drinkers we have 8 Cask Ale hand pulls, which during the busy season we try and have all 8 on. During the quieter months this is not always possible. For those winter months we have two roaring log burning stoves in the bar and for the Summer months we have two lovely beer gardens, one out the front of the hotel looking over St Oswalds Church and one out the back looking over open fields. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Marton Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marton Arms Ingleton
Marton Arms Hotel Ingleton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing