We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware this pub should not have a 4/5 rating.”
Review of Marton Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marton Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ingleton
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed at The Marton Arms hotel for the weekend with friends. Firstly on the plus side of things the staff were friendly though lacking in professionalism, the room had clean white sheets and the towels were white and fluffy. However the bathroom smelt and there were cobwebs in several corners. The bar had nice stripped wooden tables but the food was very average..There was a stale smell in the bar and the breakfast room which was untidy. There were tables full of dirty pots and the dirty linen bags were in a corner behind a counter with a dead plant in the window. The most worrying thing was that the chef preparing the food had very grubby whites on and a dirty bandage on his wrist covering a burn. His hands were not clean so that although the breakfast was quite nicely cooked it was very off putting. I would not recommend this hotel and can not understand how it has got a rating of 4. I do not take pleasure in writing a bad review but feel that many people will be disappointed if they read the reviews and go expecting a clean and pleasant country pub. IIt is expensive at £80 a night.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZC12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny H, Manager at Marton Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We always appreciate constructive reviews but I would like to point out a few points. Firstly are we not professional because we didn't behave like robots? We always try to make everyone feel welcome with friendly atmosphere which is why people enjoy coming back to us time and time again. Apologies on the cobwebs in the room we have a new housekeeper now who's standards are very high and that issue has been resolved. None of my staff or other customers have mentioned a stale smell in the bar so I don't believe that to be true. The bags of linen in reception were in fact clean and delivered that day so the fact you have said they were dirty is untrue. I do however apologies about the chef's appearance at breakfast this is quite embarrassing for me to hear and again has been resolved because it is simply unacceptable. Our hotel has a rating of 4 because the other guests who have left reviews have enjoyed the stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
There are newer reviews for Marton Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 293 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

A great thank you to Dan and the team last weekend. 4 blokes and a dog doing the Yorkshire 3 Peaks in a day (seemed like a good idea at the time). 2 nights 2 breakfasts and two evening meals, very difficult to find anything wrong. Clean, quaint, happy pub. We were made to feel very welcome as was everyone in the pub actually. They even got the chef up early to do a full English breakfast so we could hit the hills early. Food excellent both evenings and a terrific selection of well kept real ales as well.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Our party had rooms front and back. Front overlooks a great church with history Sir Aurther Connan D...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonF w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We have seen this pub change hands many times, yet still they cannot get it right. Had lunch over the bank holiday weekend, starter never arrived despite the pub being almost empty. When the food eventually arrived, fish and chips and burger and chips, the fish was tiny and the burger was greasy encased in a limp, unpleasant bun. The chips were horrible.
The location is fantastic. Why can they not get the food to match up.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The marton arms hotel is one of the best bed and breakfast hotels we have stayed in (we stayed for 2 nights bed and breakfast).From the first minute we arrived Dan and his staff made us both feel welcome in this lovely village in the yorkshire dales.The room was clean and tidy with clean towels and a stocked welcome tray and views of the church opposite.We both had a evening meal on the 2 nd night ,i had the steak and ale pie which was the best one ive ever had a must try if you stay , my wife had the gammon which was also cooked to perfection.Breakfast on both mornings was also cooked superb with different options to choose.A big thankyou to the staff at the marton arms and especially Jamie who was the chef (im coming back just for pie) who again made the stay an enjoyable one !

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeffery31255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

A group of 10 of us stayed here whilst completing the Yorkshire 3 peaks challenge last weekend. The staff couldn't have been more friendly or accommodating! The chef cooked us breakfast at 6am on the morning of our walk and they were very relaxed about letting us lie in the morning after to rest our weary legs, which was much appreciated. The rooms were well equipped and comfy and the bar/restaurant cosy and well priced. The cost for bed and breakfast was extremely reasonable for the great service we received. We would certainly stay again if we were to visit the area again. Thank you! :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louisa775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Only stayed for one night, the staff and the locals were helpful and friendly. The food was great, you could tell the chef took pride in his work and not over priced. The room was clean, we had a few issues which were sorted out straight away but for me helped made the stay, never laugh so much. Will be going back

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janl1364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Booked at this last minute as we managed to get the weekend to ourselves! Staff very welcoming and had a lovely meal in the bar, thought the food was reasonably priced and a good selection of hearty home cooked meals. The room itself was perfectly adequate and at £65 + tenner for the dog was a good price also. Slept ok despite some of the other residents being quite noisy and the mattress was on the lumpy side. The bathroom was more of a wet room and after a shower the floor gets soaking wet so wouldn't advise on putting anything on the floor! The breakfast though was the biggest disappointment. We eventually got 1 slice of cold toast each, and then it seemed as if the staff waited for all the guests to turn up before taking orders. No menu to choose from no sauce or sugar on the tables. Both requested full English and is was ok but not great. It seems like this is a place that is in transition and with a few little tweaks I'm sure it'll be great

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingleton
4.6 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
551 reviews
16.3 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
415 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Whoop Hall
The Whoop Hall
#4 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
604 reviews
22.6 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
9.8 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marton Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marton Arms Hotel

Address: Thornton-in-Lonsdale, Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park LA6 3PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Ingleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ingleton
Price Range: £73 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marton Arms Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a traditional Country Inn located 3/4 of a mile from Ingleton and just 6 miles away from Kirkby Lonsdale. We have 10 guest bedrooms, two of which have four poster beds, one twin bedroom and one family bedroom, the rest are double bedrooms. We are ideally located for the those doing the Yorkshire Three Peaks or visiting the White Scar Caves and Ingleton Waterfalls.All of our food is prepared freshly on site to order and we use locally sourced suppliers. For those Ale drinkers we have 8 Cask Ale hand pulls, which during the busy season we try and have all 8 on. During the quieter months this is not always possible. For those winter months we have two roaring log burning stoves in the bar and for the Summer months we have two lovely beer gardens, one out the front of the hotel looking over St Oswalds Church and one out the back looking over open fields. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Marton Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marton Arms Ingleton
Marton Arms Hotel Ingleton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing