We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hosts with the most”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thorngarth Country Guest House
Ranked #2 of 22 Ingleton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Hosts with the most”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed for a weekend break at Thorngarth, Dave & Sally are the most fantastic hosts, exemplary customer service from start to finish. A beautiful house (on a road out of Ingleton, however we did not hear any traffic noise) with super bedrooms. Nothing was too much trouble and they are happy to share their fantastic knowledge of the area. Dave gave us a route for our day trip which was brilliant (thanks Dave!). A great breakfast which you pre order so no hassle on the morning. Dave was telling us about their mid week offers which sound great and include dinner. You must do the waterfall walk when in town. I will be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anniewphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you very much for your comprehensive review following your stay at Thorngarth House. Your status as a Top Contributor for Trip Advisor is noted and acknowledged. sally and I are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Thorngarth House, and as mentioned by you, there is so much to see and do in and around the area. Our three and four nights DB&B are really good value and very popular with all our guests many of them - returning. Hope we are able to welcome you back to Thorngarth House sometime in the future. Kind Regards Dave & Sally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    624
    52
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
74
393
35
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Having stayed at Thorngarth for two days we were blown away by the warm welcome and friendly service. We will be recommending Thorngarth to all our friends and family. We look forward to returning in the future!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Sally and I are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Thorngarth House. Hope we are able to welcome you back sometime in the future. Thanks too for the recommendation. Regards Dave & Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We visited Thorngarth for the third time, as always received a warm welcome. Rooms, food, everything is first-class. Dave and Sally are great hosts. The guest house is in a lovely area, lots of places to visit locally and further afield. Will be returning again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christineakinsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Sally and I are really pleased that you again enjoyed your third stay at Thorngarth House. It is very humbling when guests keep on returning - up to 55% now - and we really appreciate your continued support. Your status as a very regular trip-advisor reviewer doesn't go unnoticed. Thanks once again. Kind Regards Dave & Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We have just enjoyed two fabulous days at Thorngarth Guest House. The rooms are beautiful, everywhere is very comfortable and very clean. Food is wonderful and Sally and Dave are very hospitable. Highly recommend and good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennytom47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments. Your status as a very regular reviewer on Trip-advisor is noted and acknowledged. Sally and I are really pleased that you and your party enjoyed your three night stay at Thorngarth House. Hope we are able to welcome you back yet again to Thorngarth House sometime in the future. Kind Regards Dave & Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Robin and I had a wonderful stay at Thorngarth to celebrate our Birthdays. Sally and Dave were wonderful hosts opening up their gorgeous home and making us feel so welcome. The breakfasts were 5 star and we really appreciated the lift to Clapham to start our days walking up Ingleton. We would highly recommend Thorngarth and Ingleton for a weekend break.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littlerobin29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Congratulations are climbing Ingleborough. One down, two Yorkshire Peaks to go….!!! Sally and I are pleased that you and Robin enjoyed your stay (birthdays) at Thorngarth House. I am particularly pleased that you made mention of the breakfasts, as I do them. Sally gets enough plaudits for her evening meals…well deserved I hasten to add..!!! Hope we are able to welcome you both bak to Thorngarth House sometime in the future. Regards Dave & sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Sally and Dave were superb hosts, ready to help us on suggestions of places of interest to see.The bedroom we had was a nice size and was spotlessly clean as was the whole house. A real pleasure .the meals beautifully cooked and always on time

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for finding the time to share your experience following your stay at Thorngarth House. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Regards Dave & Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honley, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely weekend in Ingleton meeting up with family. Sally and Dave made us very welcome, our room was very comfortable. Thorngarth is a lovely guest house. We did the Waterfalls Trail on Saturday, really enjoyable even though the weather could have been better. The evening was beautiful and sunny, so did a glorious run. Thank you, Dave and Sally, for your hospitality.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jude F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Sally & I are really pleased that you both enjoyed your stay at Thorngarth House, despite the changeable weather we experienced over the weekend. Don't let the weather put you off from your next visit - as long as you have the right clothing. Thanks once again. Regards Dave & Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingleton
4.2 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
534 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
591 reviews
16.3 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Marton Arms Hotel
Marton Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ingleton
285 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seed Hill Guest House
Seed Hill Guest House
#6 of 22 in Ingleton
126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holly Grange Guest House
Holly Grange Guest House
#3 of 22 in Ingleton
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thorngarth Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorngarth Country Guest House

Property: Thorngarth Country Guest House
Address: Thorngarth House New Road, Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park LA6 3HN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Ingleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Ingleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thorngarth Country Guest House is a Four Star - Silver Award Victorian House with stunning views of Ingleborough Peak, Forest of Bowland, River Greta and surrounding farmlands - offering en suite rooms with tea/coffee tray, colour HD televisions, excellent hospitality, home cooked food, large residents lounge and private car parking. FREE WiFi - Summer and Winter Specials - Dinner, Bed and Breakfast Breaks Available. Great base to explore the Yorkshire Dales, The Lake District and surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Thorngarth Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thorngarth Country Guest House Ingleton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing