We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thorngarth Country Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ingleton Hostel(Ingleton)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hipping Hall(Kirkby Lonsdale)
US$309
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
New Inn Hotel(Clapham)
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Old Brewery Inn(Ingleton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (709)
Filter reviews
709 results
Traveller rating
649
54
4
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
649
54
4
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdave and sallyguest houseyorkshire dalespacked lunchexcellent hostsplaces to visitsecond to noneother guestsnothing is too much troublewarm welcomehome cookingtwo nightsevening mealbusy roada lovely stayenjoyable stayfriendly atmosphere
Filter
Updating list...
265 - 270 of 709 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights over a rather wet weekend in August.
We stayed in the Ingleborough room. It is quite a small room but was perfectly adequate. The double bed is firm and comfortable. Both the room and the en-suite are bright, modern and spotlessly clean. There is a very attractive view of Ingleborough from the window.
The house is located on the main road into Ingleton. It was a pleasant stroll to and from the town for dinner each evening (or a trot when it was pouring). We normally sleep with the window open but we did find the traffic noise a bit intrusive and, after the first night, kept the window closed which eliminated all noise.
Breakfast was very good. Although neither of us had the full English both of the hot choices we had were very well prepared and tasty. Tea / coffee / toast were in plentiful supply with plenty of refills offered. The usual buffet items were also available. There was an exceptionally good selection of fresh fruit offered each morning, slightly different every day. I am not normally tempted by fruit in the morning but it was just too good to resist.
The hosts were excellent. They have the ideal disposition for running this type of establishment. They made us extremely welcome and were genuinely concerned for us to get the best out of our weekend. David even offered to drive us to the next town so that we could walk back over Ingleborough rather than have to do a circular walk or make separate transport arrangements.
I would recommend this to anyone looking to stay in this area.

Room Tip: The website shows photographs of all available rooms and the hosts are quite happy to discuss individual requirements over the phone.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrssandgrounder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a comprehensive review following your stay at Thorngarth House. Your status as a Senior TripAdvisor reviewer is noted and acknowledged. sally and I are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Thorngarth House. Kind Regards Dave & Sally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed at Thorngarth for four nights in August and had a really nice much needed break. Dave and Sally are a really nice couple and wonderful hosts, and nothing was too much trouble for them. We had a very clean and comfortable room, and the breakfast and evening meals were excellent. We would without a doubt stay at Thorngarth again, and would recommend it to anyone who would like to visit this lovely area of Yorkshire.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dennisw159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words. sally and I are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Thorngarth House. Kind Regards Dave & Sally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We had not visited the Dales area before and found Thorngarth Country Guest house a very good base for places we wanted to visit. We enjoyed the very informative talk by a guide on the Settle to Carlisle railway. We also spent a lovely day with friends at Bolton Abbey. Sally and David keep an immaculate guest house with very comfy beds. Breakfast choice was good and the food delicious.
Our bedroom was at the front of the house and we loved watching the inquisitive cows in the field opposite.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front but the triple glazing meant we slept very soundly.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for your very kind comments following your stay at Thorngarth House. Sally and I are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. As with many of our guests you sure had a variety of days out, as is the case in the Yorkshire Dales. So much to see and do - the Settle to Carlisle railway trip is particularly enjoyable. We hope that we see you again sometime in the future. Kind Regards Dave & Sally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This was my second visit here (this time for two nights at the end of July) and once again it was a lovely stay. Set in fantastic countryside, the rooms extremely clean and comfortable and there's a great choice of home cooked food at breakfast. We were up and out too early for breakfast and they were happy to supply a generous packed lunch (and extra water as it was so hot!) instead. Dave and Sally are very friendly, welcoming and happy to help. I would definitely recommend this to anyone visiting this fantastic area, it's a great find and I hope to visit again soon!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelloTheRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for staying at Thorngarth House again. Sally and I are pleased that you again enjoyed your stay……next time the Yorkshire Dales Three Peaks Challenge, or if not one a day!! Kind Regards Dave & Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My fiancé and I stayed for 2 nights over the weekend. Lovely place, clean, comfortable and extremely welcoming. Nothing is too much trouble, you can chose the room you want from their website and is easy to book. Jake emailed the owners beforehand to ask if an ice bucket and glasses could be provided for the room as it was my birthday, it was there ready for us when we checked in.
Breakfast was lovely, you choose from the menu the evening before so that everything is ready for you in the morning.
Dave is a fountain of knowledge on the surrounding areas and can give you great tips for trips out.
Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank HannahCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for your kind comments following your stay at Thorngarth House. Your status as a regular TripAdvisor contributor is noted and acknowledged. Sally and I are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Thorngarth House and hope that we are able to welcome you back sometime in the future for another 'milestone' in your relationship. Kind Regards Dave & Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews