We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“at the gate of an amazing national park, very friendly hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thorngarth Country Guest House
Ranked #2 of 22 Ingleton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Those who love biking, walking, this is the place to stay. Dave and Sally are very welcoming. Rooms and breakfast are first class. The village is charming. The only (small) drawback is that Thorngarth Country Guest House is on New Road, which is quite a busy road. But from my room I couldn't hear the road traffic (on the picture, the road is behind the low stone wall)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank renedef1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. sally and I are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Although Thorngarth House is on the A65, we are set up and off the road, so traffic noise during the day is at a minimum, and at night there is very little traffic as it is. Nevertheless, all our rooms have double glazing and further secondary glazing, so traffic is not heard at all. we also has three speed ceiling fans in each room, in the 'unlikely' event of a Yorkshire Dales 'heatwave'. Kind Regards Dave & Sally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (702)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 702 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

Words are not enough. Sally and Dave are a wonderful couple who make their bed and breakfast a true home from home. We have been quite a few times now and would never go anywhere else - it is just perfect. Good times good food - everything you need for a great holiday. We will be back soon!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacquie1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

It was a pleasure to welcome you back to Thorngarth House yet again. Around 65% of our guests are returning guests or recommended, and Sally and I are very humbled by your continued support. Hope we see you both again sometime in the New Year. Kindest Regards Dave & Sally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We felt very cosy in Thorngarth. Good food, good wines and whiskies, good people to talk with and to learn about the place. The location is perfect to walk to the peaks and to visit the lovely towns around.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cyril L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Sally and I are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Thorngarth House. Regards Dave & Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights over a rather wet weekend in August.
We stayed in the Ingleborough room. It is quite a small room but was perfectly adequate. The double bed is firm and comfortable. Both the room and the en-suite are bright, modern and spotlessly clean. There is a very attractive view of Ingleborough from the window.
The house is located on the main road into Ingleton. It was a pleasant stroll to and from the town for dinner each evening (or a trot when it was pouring). We normally sleep with the window open but we did find the traffic noise a bit intrusive and, after the first night, kept the window closed which eliminated all noise.
Breakfast was very good. Although neither of us had the full English both of the hot choices we had were very well prepared and tasty. Tea / coffee / toast were in plentiful supply with plenty of refills offered. The usual buffet items were also available. There was an exceptionally good selection of fresh fruit offered each morning, slightly different every day. I am not normally tempted by fruit in the morning but it was just too good to resist.
The hosts were excellent. They have the ideal disposition for running this type of establishment. They made us extremely welcome and were genuinely concerned for us to get the best out of our weekend. David even offered to drive us to the next town so that we could walk back over Ingleborough rather than have to do a circular walk or make separate transport arrangements.
I would recommend this to anyone looking to stay in this area.

Room Tip: The website shows photographs of all available rooms and the hosts are quite happy to discuss indivi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrssandgrounder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a comprehensive review following your stay at Thorngarth House. Your status as a Senior TripAdvisor reviewer is noted and acknowledged. sally and I are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Thorngarth House. Kind Regards Dave & Sally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed at Thorngarth for four nights in August and had a really nice much needed break. Dave and Sally are a really nice couple and wonderful hosts, and nothing was too much trouble for them. We had a very clean and comfortable room, and the breakfast and evening meals were excellent. We would without a doubt stay at Thorngarth again, and would recommend it to anyone who would like to visit this lovely area of Yorkshire.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dennisw159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words. sally and I are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Thorngarth House. Kind Regards Dave & Sally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We had not visited the Dales area before and found Thorngarth Country Guest house a very good base for places we wanted to visit. We enjoyed the very informative talk by a guide on the Settle to Carlisle railway. We also spent a lovely day with friends at Bolton Abbey. Sally and David keep an immaculate guest house with very comfy beds. Breakfast choice was good and the food delicious.
Our bedroom was at the front of the house and we loved watching the inquisitive cows in the field opposite.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front but the triple glazing meant we slept very soundly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for your very kind comments following your stay at Thorngarth House. Sally and I are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. As with many of our guests you sure had a variety of days out, as is the case in the Yorkshire Dales. So much to see and do - the Settle to Carlisle railway trip is particularly enjoyable. We hope that we see you again sometime in the future. Kind Regards Dave & Sally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This was my second visit here (this time for two nights at the end of July) and once again it was a lovely stay. Set in fantastic countryside, the rooms extremely clean and comfortable and there's a great choice of home cooked food at breakfast. We were up and out too early for breakfast and they were happy to supply a generous packed lunch (and extra water as it was so hot!) instead. Dave and Sally are very friendly, welcoming and happy to help. I would definitely recommend this to anyone visiting this fantastic area, it's a great find and I hope to visit again soon!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelloTheRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for staying at Thorngarth House again. Sally and I are pleased that you again enjoyed your stay……next time the Yorkshire Dales Three Peaks Challenge, or if not one a day!! Kind Regards Dave & Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingleton
0.4 mi away
Marton Arms Hotel
Marton Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ingleton
296 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hipping Hall
Hipping Hall
#1 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
502 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
556 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harling House, Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Seed Hill Guest House
Seed Hill Guest House
#5 of 22 in Ingleton
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thorngarth Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorngarth Country Guest House

Address: Thorngarth House New Road, Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park LA6 3HN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Ingleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Ingleton
Price Range: £74 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thorngarth Country Guest House is a Four Star - Silver Award Victorian House with stunning views of Ingleborough Peak, Forest of Bowland, River Greta and surrounding farmlands - offering en suite rooms with tea/coffee tray, colour HD televisions, excellent hospitality, home cooked food, large residents lounge and private car parking. FREE WiFi - Summer and Winter Specials - Dinner, Bed and Breakfast Breaks Available. Great base to explore the Yorkshire Dales, The Lake District and surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Thorngarth Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thorngarth Country Guest House Ingleton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing