We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in the Dales”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thorngarth Country Guest House
Ranked #2 of 22 Ingleton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Weekend in the Dales”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

We stayed at Thorngarth during a weekend visit to Ingleton. The accommodation was very comfortable and Dave and Sally were both very friendly, helpful and delightful hosts. Dave even drove us to Ingleborough so we could take a circular route back rather than having to drive ourselves there. They were both very helpful as to what there was to do in and around the region and Ingleton was a great location for accessing most of the trails in the area. A lovely stay and a great weekend.

Room Tip: We stayed in the twin room which came with private shower and toilet but both were in the hallway an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Sally and I are pleased the you enjoyed your stay at Thorngarth House, and enjoyed the walking. Hope we see you again sometime again at Thorngarth House. Regards Dave & Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    625
    52
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
74
394
35
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Me and my friend stayed here for two nights and we thoroughly enjoyed our visit. Our room was impeccably clean and very comfortable. The breakfast was lovely too and we were close to lots of excursions. could definitely recommend this.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xsuga_n_spicex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. Kind Regards Dave & Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Those who love biking, walking, this is the place to stay. Dave and Sally are very welcoming. Rooms and breakfast are first class. The village is charming. The only (small) drawback is that Thorngarth Country Guest House is on New Road, which is quite a busy road. But from my room I couldn't hear the road traffic (on the picture, the road is behind the low stone wall)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank renedef1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. sally and I are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Although Thorngarth House is on the A65, we are set up and off the road, so traffic noise during the day is at a minimum, and at night there is very little traffic as it is. Nevertheless, all our rooms have double glazing and further secondary glazing, so traffic is not heard at all. we also has three speed ceiling fans in each room, in the 'unlikely' event of a Yorkshire Dales 'heatwave'. Kind Regards Dave & Sally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedworth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Words are not enough. Sally and Dave are a wonderful couple who make their bed and breakfast a true home from home. We have been quite a few times now and would never go anywhere else - it is just perfect. Good times good food - everything you need for a great holiday. We will be back soon!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacquie1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
It was a pleasure to welcome you back to Thorngarth House yet again. Around 65% of our guests are returning guests or recommended, and Sally and I are very humbled by your continued support. Hope we see you both again sometime in the New Year. Kindest Regards Dave & Sally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitry-mory
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We felt very cosy in Thorngarth. Good food, good wines and whiskies, good people to talk with and to learn about the place. The location is perfect to walk to the peaks and to visit the lovely towns around.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyril L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Sally and I are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Thorngarth House. Regards Dave & Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights over a rather wet weekend in August.
We stayed in the Ingleborough room. It is quite a small room but was perfectly adequate. The double bed is firm and comfortable. Both the room and the en-suite are bright, modern and spotlessly clean. There is a very attractive view of Ingleborough from the window.
The house is located on the main road into Ingleton. It was a pleasant stroll to and from the town for dinner each evening (or a trot when it was pouring). We normally sleep with the window open but we did find the traffic noise a bit intrusive and, after the first night, kept the window closed which eliminated all noise.
Breakfast was very good. Although neither of us had the full English both of the hot choices we had were very well prepared and tasty. Tea / coffee / toast were in plentiful supply with plenty of refills offered. The usual buffet items were also available. There was an exceptionally good selection of fresh fruit offered each morning, slightly different every day. I am not normally tempted by fruit in the morning but it was just too good to resist.
The hosts were excellent. They have the ideal disposition for running this type of establishment. They made us extremely welcome and were genuinely concerned for us to get the best out of our weekend. David even offered to drive us to the next town so that we could walk back over Ingleborough rather than have to do a circular walk or make separate transport arrangements.
I would recommend this to anyone looking to stay in this area.

Room Tip: The website shows photographs of all available rooms and the hosts are quite happy to discuss indivi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrssandgrounder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a comprehensive review following your stay at Thorngarth House. Your status as a Senior TripAdvisor reviewer is noted and acknowledged. sally and I are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Thorngarth House. Kind Regards Dave & Sally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed at Thorngarth for four nights in August and had a really nice much needed break. Dave and Sally are a really nice couple and wonderful hosts, and nothing was too much trouble for them. We had a very clean and comfortable room, and the breakfast and evening meals were excellent. We would without a doubt stay at Thorngarth again, and would recommend it to anyone who would like to visit this lovely area of Yorkshire.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dennisw159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words. sally and I are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Thorngarth House. Kind Regards Dave & Sally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingleton
4.2 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
536 reviews
16.3 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
405 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marton Arms Hotel
Marton Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ingleton
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Seed Hill Guest House
Seed Hill Guest House
#5 of 22 in Ingleton
126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holly Grange Guest House
Holly Grange Guest House
#3 of 22 in Ingleton
394 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Wheatsheaf Inn
The Wheatsheaf Inn
#10 of 22 in Ingleton
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thorngarth Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorngarth Country Guest House

Property: Thorngarth Country Guest House
Address: Thorngarth House New Road, Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park LA6 3HN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Ingleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Ingleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thorngarth Country Guest House is a Four Star - Silver Award Victorian House with stunning views of Ingleborough Peak, Forest of Bowland, River Greta and surrounding farmlands - offering en suite rooms with tea/coffee tray, colour HD televisions, excellent hospitality, home cooked food, large residents lounge and private car parking. FREE WiFi - Summer and Winter Specials - Dinner, Bed and Breakfast Breaks Available. Great base to explore the Yorkshire Dales, The Lake District and surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Thorngarth Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thorngarth Country Guest House Ingleton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing