We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Camping July 2013”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Stackstead Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ingleton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stackstead Farm
Ashby-de-la-zouch, Leicestershire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Camping July 2013”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

Well tended clean site, very gently sloping pitches, small shower block but perfectly good with decent showers (50p in honesty box) and mostly caravans on the site so only a few tents have to share the toilets. Very good value camping. Site has new indoor pool/gym but we didn't use it this time so can't comment. Close to very pleasant small town of Ingleton with pubs, shops, outdoor swimming pool (very welcome in rare 30-degree heatwave) and famous waterfall walk. Would certainly stay again if coming to this area, makes a good base to visit Wensleydale and Trough of Bowland.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
Helpful?
2 Thank ashbyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    15
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
14
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Had a lovely 3 night stay last week Fri,Sat,Sun. Lovely quite Farm Site ideal for the short hop to the Lakes if needed and a short walk into Igleton Village/water falls. Well kept site for a peaceful stay not rammed with other tourer's etc. Will be back again in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

I have been staying at the stable on and off for several years mainly for weekends. I have just been for 6 nights and had a great time its a great base for walking and cycling.

The stable is fully equiped and the setting is lovely with a great view of ingleborough it is so peaceful.

The addition of the new swimming pool,sauna , gym and jacuzzi really made our stay even better this time we spent nearly every evening in the pool etc really relaxing after a days walking .
Love this place will be back again very soon.

sharon and steve

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank shazzy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

We recently bought a campervan and in order to try it out decided to spend a night at Stackstead Farm as the facilities sounded excellent and the tariffs fair. We arrived a little later than expected but were pleased by the friendly reception we were greeted with when we got there. The first thing we noticed was how peaceful the area was. There are 5 pitches and plenty of space in-between. A well kept lawn area and rolling fields surrounding the site. The toilet block was spacious and clean with excellent facilities (and at 50p for a shower very reasonable!). And whilst we were unable to use it this time due to a lack of appropriate clothing, the leisure centre (£5 per session) looked amazing! After a guided tour by the proprietor I'll definitely be packing my swim shorts next time!

There are a few local pubs, but we walked a little further than the closest (The Masons; which we'll be sure to visit next time) to The Wheatsheaf which is about a 15 minute gentle walk away. The food and service here are excellent and we were even permitted to have our dog with us whilst we dined! (The burgers are highly recommended, fantastic and HUGE!)

Local attractions include the waterfalls trail (a moderately challenging trek which at £5 a head some may find pretty steep in more ways than one) and White Scar Caves which on this occasion we did not visit.

We are very much hoping to return to Stackstead farm before the winter sets in and will certainly back a few times next year when we'll spend more time and hopefully discover more local attractions.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajanyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

Our running club booked the whole barn out (22 beds) for the weekend and it was perfect for what we wanted. If you are after a base to sleep and eat whilst enjoying the excellent peaks in the area, I thoroughly recommend it. As an addition, the local pub (Mason Arms) managed to feed us all on the Friday night for £10 a head (pasta and a pudding) and then delivered us all pizzas the next night after our run, for less than £10 a head. Superb.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martin27466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Just returned from a weekend stay here. We were a party of four families staying in the bunk barn and found the accommodation layout great- a room for each family. The barn was lovely and warm and the beds were very comfy (best I've slept on in a bunkbarn). Plenty of hot water and everything you could need in the kitchen. A short walk took us into Ingleton so we didn't have to use the cars all weekend, which allowed to sample some of the real ales in the pubs. There was space outside the barn for the kids to play so they were happy too.
The owners Wendy and Steve are currently working on a leisure centre, which unfortunately is behind schedule so not open as yet. But we had a peep through the window and it looks like it will be great when it's finished. I'm sure we'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helskii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Stayed in our motorhome at the Caravan Club certificated site next to camping barn (have to be a CC member and only 5 units should be allowed). Lovely site with super open views of countryside, 5 hardstanding pitches all with electric hook up but some are narrow and quite tricky to manoeuvre onto without going onto soft grass verges. Main toilet block was unheated and ice cold(visited in February) showers adequate and cost 50p but not on timer (honesty box) wash up area could be better. Had misfortune to stay during building work for new leisure centre which is due to open soon so noisy building work, mud and workmen around from 0800 till 1700hrs. Not sure if new swimming pool, etc will be a blessing or curse for campsite as will probably be more outsiders using the facilities but should be ideal for families with younger children if it rains. Friendly welcome. Dogs welcome but chickens roaming around. The waterfalls walk from Ingleton is brilliant but complete circuit is four and half miles (or about six and half miles from campsite) of strenuous hiking with LOTS of steps and ups and downs, not suitable for young children although they can easily do shorter sections. There is a charge of £5 per adult but it is worth it and money helps fund the upkeep. Amazingly there were 2 small cafes open along the walk and the staff have to walk 1 mile from the road to the first cafe every morning to open up- that's dedication! Also great walks around Clapham a short drive away and a fantastic cafe in the old reading rooms (dogs allowed into cafe).

Room Tip: 2 pitches overlook fields and are best for larger motorhomes or caravans, choose which way to drive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuftyhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ingleton hotels
0.7 mi away
Marton Arms Hotel
Marton Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ingleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Wheatsheaf Inn
The Wheatsheaf Inn
#11 of 22 in Ingleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thorngarth Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holly Grange Guest House
Holly Grange Guest House
#3 of 22 in Ingleton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seed Hill Guest House
Seed Hill Guest House
#6 of 22 in Ingleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ingleton Hostel
Ingleton Hostel
#4 of 10 in Ingleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stackstead Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stackstead Farm

Property: Stackstead Farm
Address: Stackstead Farm Tatterthorn Lane, Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park LA6 3HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Ingleton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Ingleton
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Stackstead Farm Ingleton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing