We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thursday maybe specials night but we certainly weren't treated very special”
Review of Chillies

Chillies
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Banwell
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
England
Level Contributor
90 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Thursday maybe specials night but we certainly weren't treated very special”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Having eaten here plenty of times before as individuals and with different groups of friends. We were all so disappointed on this visit that none of us will be return again.
Although drinks were served to us on arrival it took over an hour for any food order to be taken. We then ordered poppadoms but our main orders still weren't taken. Only after we had finished the poppadoms were our main orders taken.
One of our drinks which was served in the interim was served with flat coke - this was resolved without fuss.
When the mains arrived one was missing. Then when served it appeared to have the consistency of tomato soup and it was very different to the same dish which had been served already. On questioning this we were given a rude dismissive response by the waiter. At our insistance another was cooked which was like the first.
The bill did not have the deposit we paid in advance of the night removed - fortunately we spotted this. However, there was no apology for the error and had we not noticed we would have paid a third more than we should have.
Lastly, the toilets were dirty and unpleasant to use, due to other restaurant users being unwell in them.
Overall a very poor visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank N1Eng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rxnharding, General Manager at Chillies, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
I apologise once again. As I said to you in our conversation over the phone, I think there was a communication problem between you and the staff which you agreed with. You were asked if you were ready to order and you replied saying you were waiting for another guest to arrive. The waiter was not informed that you already had their order, hense the delay.
The deposit was deducted from your bill and the card receipt was attached which was explained to you.
The toilets are checked on a hourly basis and everything was clean. I myself was working that evening and no complaints were made or brought to my attention. I would of been more than happy to of helped you with any concerns you felt you had. I hope if you visit again you will have a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    33
    10
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buderim, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“THE BEST INDIAN FOOD EVER!!!”
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

We are on holidays from Australia. WeWe have dined in lots of Indian restaurants. I don't know how authentic Indian cuisine is supposed to taste, (because we've only had it in Australia), but in my experience, although I like Indian food, it is always quite heavy and and stodgy (for want of a better description). This food was light and fresh tasting. The egg rice was light and delightful, as was the naan bread. I cannot emphasise how light and fresh it all was. We loved it. The staff were friendly and helpful. We'd had a few drinks and they arranged to have us driven back to or hotel. Great restaurant. Highly recommended.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Charmaine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rxnharding, General Manager at Chillies, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you very much for giving us a positive review. We are very happy that you enjoyed dining with us. We put all our efforts in to give our customers the best experience and love to hear such kind words. I hope if you ever come to the UK again you will visit us. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I have been coming here now for over 5 years and eveytime have been treated to a excellent meal with great service! The staff are really friendly and there is a great atmosphere as well as having a wide variety of different dishes to choose from!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jones23456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheddar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
390 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Best Indian food for some time”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Lots of friends have been here and recommended it so we headed over there.

It was a bit quiet but it was a Wednesday night. The staff are really friendly and make you welcome.

As it was Wedfnesday it was two main courses for the price of one on a large selection of meals, which made it great value. The sauces etc with the poppadioms were really good. Usual style but with a difference.

We had Bhuna Aloo Ghosht, a medium hot chicken dish and Naga lamb, quite hot. Add in a really nice Peshwari naan and a good sized Pilau Rice side dish.

The house wine is pretty average but at £3.95 for a large glass, what do you expect?

At £27 all in it was great value for a great meal with good service.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jrapeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Quality food”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We were staying in Cheddar this weekend and ordered a takeaway from Chillies. The menu offers a great choice of food from the mild to the seriously hot.......If you like the heat then I can recommend the Naga chilli chicken, the menu puts it in the same category as vindaloo - they're not wrong but it is a great tasting dish and they will tone it down to a madras strength on request.
All the dishes we ordered were really good quality and they good size portions.
If you're in the area give it a try - we will be going back........

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scrumpyram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chillies also viewed

Weston-super-Mare, Somerset
 
Weston-super-Mare, Somerset
Weston-super-Mare, Somerset
 

Been to Chillies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing