We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not safe elms don't go”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Elms

The Elms
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banwell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Elms
Ranked #3 of 3 Banwell B&B and Inns
northants
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“not safe elms don't go”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

we booked in at the elms after speaking to the friendly landlady we picked are room from the internet so we got the room of are choice after reading reports on trip adviser most seemed ok we wear told it was cash £90 only no cards [notax? ]but went with open mind big mistake ,
when we arrived 4 cars in drive looked busy the place looked run down door bell wires hanging of knocked on door met by owner very pleasant she showed us to the room on opening the door she said sorry about smell but farmyard next door strange all windows full open ,bragged about the size of the bath of course she did it is her bathroom please see all photos wardrobes and draws full of there close draw next to bed full of underwear some a bit risque when we closed windows the smell in the room is terrible had to open windows to let smell out not in
to late to move out there .this place has no fire regulations smoke detectors or up to date electrics wires running up the stairs out of date fire extinguisher if you stay you will never get out the bedroom if there is a fire they want closing down they are nice people but are putting live at risk the breakfast was a fiasco and we were the only couple there when we left 3 of the 4 cars have no tax on them are there cars left to look busy please see pics stayed august 20012

Room Tip: make shore your safe
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank grobinhood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    4
    0
    2
    3
See reviews for
9
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
merseyside
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

We were very warmly welcomed by the owner of this gorgeous, pleasant house, who went out of her way to wait up for our late arrival. When we finally did arrive, (due to traffic), the owner of the house, Dawn, couldn't of been more helpful! She showed us straight to our fantastic already-made room where she went out of her way to compensate for our family. We couldn't have asked for anything else, the room was spotless and had everything we needed, it was more like a 5 star hotel room if not better! We had a good night sleep due to no expense spared for really comfy beds and bed linen. The owner also asked us what time we would like breakfast as time was no issue to her which we found absolutely fantastic due to late arrival and tiredness. The next morning, we were greeted with a friendly smile and a delicious variety of breakfast which suited all of my family. We felt there was no rush to vacate once we had breakfast as the owner was relaxed about time. Being a family with three children wasn't an issue as the owner welcomed the children as well as ourselves and told them to feel free to view and use any of her antiques; piano etc. Overall, this was an outstanding family home that i will be using and have booked again and recommended to friends and family as a must for everyone to share! Once again, fantastic stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickyandlee1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Landlady was very friendly on the second day, but totally unprepared for our stay when we arrived. Rooms not ready when we arrived, and when they were prepared were a major dissapoinment - especially considering the "premium" price for a B & B - many cheaper in the area. There is "Shabby Chic" and there is just plain shabby - this is the latter! No lighting to find yourself up the driveway, and even no outside door light to find a keyhole. The furniture was poor. The four poster bed was rickety, the walldrobe (none in one of the rooms at all), was empty but was a converted half walldrobe and half drawers on which the doors could not be closed. One bedroom door had an internal bolt, the other none at all. Neither had keys! The showerooms we modern but one was unfinished with a large piping hole in the wall, the other with the light pull on the ceiling inside the cubicle, pull cord hanging ouside of the panel. Cracked celing, cracked cup, temporary wallper (kitchen toweling stuck to wall) Televisions did not work in either room.

Only saving grace was a good breakfast supplied by pleasant landlady - this B & B needs to get it's act together as at present it is unlikely to get many returning guests, but has potential. Cannot understand some of the earlier reviews - they almost appear to be for another B & B, certainly not recognised as being representative by us!

Cash Only!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

We were welcomed in to a lovely big period house, complete with four poster beds and antiques everywhere. Dawn made us very comfortable and welcome even though it was a very late spur of the moment booking and we enjoyed a very pleasant night and a leasurely full breakfast in the morning with fresh fruit etc. A perfect place to stay if you want an informal friendly break.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

We were warmly welcomed and made to feel at home from the start. Our host was very sociable and enjoyed conversation with us but not in an intrusive way.The house was atmospheric and enchanting,being filled with some superb antiques. It felt well lived in - not so pristine you dare not move! Our room was very comfortable, clean and particularly spacious.Having a bath installed in the en-suite was a bonus.The location was convenient for our purposes, being quite near to Weston. Overall, our experience was a really good one, the only concern being the rather high tarriff.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

Much more than your average B & B. We had a beautiful airy room with an inspiring view and were very well looked after throughout our stay. Very comfy bed and pillows and breakfast when we wanted, so didn't have to get up too early. A refreshing change from clinical, chain hotels and much more relaxed and peaceful. Only stayed one night - but would happily have stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

We arrived to a very warm welcome and although we arrived rather early were allowed into our room to change for a wedding we were attending locally. The room was spacious and airy furnished with antiques and with a four poster bed. The bed had high quality linen and the bathroom was spacious. everything was very clean. When we asked what time breakfast was served , the answer was, when would you like it served? this was appreciated as you don't want to have to get up early to catch breakfast especially on a Sunday . The breakfast was cooked individually and served on a eclectic mix of vintage china. Very much a loved family home.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bathonions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Elms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elms

Property: The Elms
Address: The Elms Wolvershill Road | Banwell, Banwell BS29 6DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Banwell
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Banwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
The Elms Banwell, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing