We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely friendly restaurant”
Review of Wookey Hole Inn

Wookey Hole Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly restaurant”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Loved this place. Service was very efficient and friendly. Food was a little on the expensive side and there could have been a little more choice. However, there is not much in the area, unless you wish to drive. We enjoyed it very much and thought the crayons in a tub on the table was an excellent idea as adults could enjoy doodling on the paper table cloth whilst waiting between courses.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    75
    26
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wells
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful meal”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

My family and i went to the wookey hole inn to celebrate my mums birthday and what a lovely celebration it was. When we arrived we were pleasantly greeted by the staff who then showed us to our table in which they had decorated it with happy birthday. The food .....WOW we all went for different options and was all equally amazed by the presentation that had gone into it. To start i had tiger prawns (too good to choose anything else) main i had the fillet of beef which was beautiful (i asked for a steak knife and was told i wouldn't need one) she was right !!! Unfortunate i couldn't fit pudding in but will be sure to go back to try one.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Way over priced and very disappointing”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We used to love this place. Has it changed hands? Was it just a bad night with a relief chef and staff?

First the food: I had Chicken Schnitzel. The 'Schnitzel' were massive thick wedges of chicken breast covered in a very greasy breadcrumb. These were stacked next to a large fatty wedge of 'Rosti' dripping with butter. Underneath all of this was a pile of boiled(?) cabbage that reminded me of school dinners. The dish was finished off with a fluorescent orange sauce that tasted very processed. I would not have minded if this was just pub grub at a sensible price but this was £17.95! At that price I felt ripped off.

The service: Ok I guess we were just unlucky but our waitress was grumpy before we even sat down. My wife pointed out that the paper table cloth was soaking wet and the waitress asked her if she had spilt something even though we had only just sat down and had no drinks! She grumpily agreed to replace the table cloth removing the old one and placing a fresh one down on the still wet table!

So sad as this used to be a great place full of vitality and good quality food. It might be a better bet for lunch when I think the prices are much lower but judging by our experience this time there is no way the prices are justified. Wells now has many excellent restaurants serving way better food at the same or lower prices.

Sadly we will not be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

It's been a long time since we visited the WHI and it's not the place itusd to be. Tables were squashed together and the service quite slow. The food was quite mediocre we all had chicken schnitzel vey over priced. Perhaps we should have tried different dishes to have a better sample. However the restaurant was very busy so just not the right place for us

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Give that chef a gold star!”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We recently had a three course Saturday night dinner at the Wookey Hole Inn. Each course was excellent with good quality produce – however the main course, Cod in a mild aromatic curry sauce, was amazing! We both had the same and were very pleased with our choice, the last two from the kitchen as it happened! The quantity was good, especially the size of the pudding! The staff were very friendly and chatty without being intrusive and we went away feeling very happy with the world. Also when the weathers good they have a lovely garden where you can take the dogs – brilliant. Thank you, we would recommend this Inn….. but not too loudly as we want to be able to get in next time!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ClareofBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wookey Hole Inn also viewed

 

Been to Wookey Hole Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing