We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice inn good food and wine”
Review of Wookey Hole Inn

Wookey Hole Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
344 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Nice inn good food and wine”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Loved the restaurant farly expensive but quality of food was very good.Wine well chilled and husband is an Ale drinker found a nice selection of local ones to sample.Cheese board was one of the best with all local cheeses nice crackers and generous portions one board eas fine for 2 people.Cheesecake very rich and much to big the peanut butter flavour was overpowering !!Staff friendly would return to th inn if staying in the area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jerseyjeanette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    81
    27
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Slightly underwhelmed.”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

There only seemed to be the owner taking orders, manning the bar and waiting on the diners so service was predictably slow, this didn't put us off as we were not in a rush. I went to the bar to place our orders to speed things up. We ordered two steaks, one tuna and one beef. After approx 45 mins our food came out and was enjoyable but the beef was proving difficult work to cut as we still had our normal knives on the table, after going to the bar to request a steak knife I was told that they do not provide or even have steak knives as he didn't believe they were necessary. Overall the experience was pleasant but I didn't feel the food warranted the prices charged (almost £20 for the tuna and £25 for the beef) If anything it was the service that really let us down, small details like candles on all table but none lit. The food and presentation was decent but nothing extraordinary.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Quirky garden”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The pub has an interesting, sheltered garden so a very good place to sit in the sun even if it is a breezy day. Also has some pleasant seating areas inside, but be prepared for the strange taste in music or ask to have it toned down.

Good choice of food for lunch with excellent ciabbattas.

Also, it is very handily placed for visiting the Hole, and there are good walks nearby.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Forest
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

We are staying in Wookey hole and went here on our first night. The food was absolutely brilliant. My fillet of beef was tasty and perfectly cooked and of the highest quality. The pan cooked lamb was very tasty as well.
The portion sizes are good as well, you will not leave here hungry!
Loved it here and would visit again.

Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A nice if quirky pub!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed locally at the Wookey Hole Hotel but weren't keen to spend the evening there so ventured down to this pub which is very close by. The beer was very well kept and you're offered the chance to try it before buying! A little expensive but not a point that put us off. We didn't try the food but it looked good and we heard positive comments from other customers. Definitely worth a visit if you're in the area.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wookey Hole Inn also viewed

 

Been to Wookey Hole Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing